用于云计算服务器 SoC 的 IP

云服务器

云数据的增长正在推动位于中心的超大规模数据中心和网络边缘的远程设施的计算密度的增加。计算密度的增加催生了对于更节能 CPU 的需求,以便在满足现有数据中心设施的功耗和散热预算的情况下,提高计算能力。对更节能 CPU 的需求促使新一代服务器 CPU 优化了单位瓦特的性能。

数据量的增加同样也推动了对更快服务器接口的需求,以便在服务器内部和服务器之间移动数据。在服务器内部移动数据可能是一个重大瓶颈,同时也是导致延迟的主要原因。尽可能地减少数据移动,并在需要时为移动数据提供高带宽、低延迟的接口,是提高云和高性能计算应用程序的性能、减少延迟和功耗的关键。为了提高更好的性能,所有内部服务器接口都正在升级:

• DDR5 接口速率正在向 6400 Mbps 靠拢

• PCIe 接口带宽翻倍,从 16GT/s 的 PCIe 4.0 升级到 32GT/s 的 PCIe 5.0

• Compute Express Link (CXL) 可在 PCIe 电气接口上提供缓存一致性接口,并通过允许多个处理器/加速器高效共享数据和内存,来减少系统中所需的数据移动量

• 采用 NRZ 和 PAM4 编码并支持高速率接口协议的全新高速 56Gbps, 112Gbps SerDes,可实现设备(包括裸片、芯片、加速器和背板)之间的更快连接

“Compute Express Link 是实现下一代异构计算架构的关键要素,在这种架构下,CPU 和加速器协同工作,提供先进的解决方案。在 Synopsys 等领先 IP 提供商的支持下,我们正在构建一个强大、创新的CXL生态系统,这将造福整个行业。”

 Debendra Das Sharma 博士 | Intel 研究员兼 I/O 技术与标准主管

用于各种服务器的 DesignWare IP

亮点:

  • 支持系统性能高达 6400 Mbps 的 DDR 内存接口控制器和 PHY,与计算分流引擎以及网络和存储 I/O 资源共享主内存
  • NRZ 和 PAM-4 56G 和 112G 以太网 PHY ,可用于 400G/800G 超大规模数据中心 SoC 和符合 IEEE 标准的可配置控制器
  • USR/XSR IP 解决方案,利用每通道可达 112G 的高速 SerDes 架构PHY和支持每引脚 4Gbps 的宽并行总线架构PHY,实现可靠的裸片到裸片连接
  • 高性能、低延迟 PCI Express 控制器和 PHY,支持高达 32GT/s 数据速率,满足实时数据连接要求
  • CXL IP 构建在经过硅验证的 DesignWare PCI Express 5.0 IP 上,可降低集成风险,并且可以支持持久内存,以类似于 SSD 的容量和成本,提供接近 DRAM 的速度
  • 高度集成、基于标准的安全 IP 解决方案可实现超高效的硅设计和超高级别的安全
  • 低延迟、采用标准和超低泄露库的嵌入式存储器,为 SoC 提供能效和性能效率的基础

Cloud Servers

The growth of cloud data is driving an increase in compute density within both centrally located hyperscale data centers and remote facilities at the network edge. The increase in compute density is leading to demand for more energy-efficient CPUs to enable increased compute capability within the power and thermal budget of existing data center facilities. The demand for more energy-efficient CPUs has led to a new generation of server CPUs optimized for performance/watt.

This same increase in data volume is also driving demand for faster server interfaces to move data within and between servers. Movement of data within the server can be a major bottleneck and source of latency. Minimizing data movement as much as possible and providing high-bandwidth, low-latency interfaces for moving data when required are key to maximizing performance and minimizing both latency and power consumption for cloud and HPC applications. To improve performance, all internal server interfaces are getting upgrades:

• DDR5 interfaces are moving to 6400 Mbps

• Doubling the bandwidth of PCIe interfaces as they move from PCIe 4.0 at 16GT/s to PCIe 5.0 at 32GT/s

• Compute Express Link (CXL) provides a cache coherent interface that runs over the PCIe electrical interface and reduces the amount of data movement required in a system by allowing multiple processors/accelerators to share data and memory efficiently

• New high-speed SerDes technology at 56Gbps and 112Gbps using NRZ and PAM4 encoding and supporting protocols enables faster interfaces between devices including die, chips, accelerators, and backplanes

"Compute Express Link is a key enabler for next-generation heterogeneous computing architectures, where CPUs and accelerators work together to deliver the most advanced solutions. With support from leading IP providers like Synopsys, we're well on the way to a robust, innovative CXL ecosystem that will benefit the whole industry."

Dr. Debendra Das Sharma | Intel Fellow & Director of I/O Technology & Standards, Intel

DesignWare IP for Servers

Highlights:

  • DDR memory interface controllers and PHYs supporting system performance up to 6400 Mbps, share main memory with compute offload engines plus network and storage I/O resources
  • NRZ and PAM-4 56G and 112G Ethernet PHYs for up to 400G/800G hyperscale data center SoCs and configurable controllers compliant with IEEE standards
  • USR/XSR IP solutions for reliable die-to-die connectivity leverage high-speed SerDes PHY technology up to 112G per lane and wide-parallel bus technology enabling 4Gbps per pin
  • High-performance, low-latency PCI Express controllers and PHYs supporting data rates up to 32GT/s to enable real-time data connectivity
  • CXL IP is built on silicon-proven DesignWare PCI Express 5.0 IP for reduced integration risk and supports persistent memory for speed approaching that of DRAM with SSD-like capacity and cost 
  • Highly integrated, standards-based security IP solutions enable the most efficient silicon design and highest levels of security
  • Low latency embedded memories with standard and ultra-low leakage libraries provide a power- and performance-efficient foundation for SoCs