DesignWare ARC EM 处理器系列

为您的嵌入式应用提供无与伦比的性能效率

DesignWare® ARC® EM 嵌入式处理器系列以可扩展的 ARCv2 指令集架构 (ISA) 为基础,并进行了优化以实现更高能源与性能效率(DMIPS/mW 和 DMIPS/mm2)。ARC EM 系列包括 EM4(无缓存)、EM6(指令和数据缓存)处理器内核,适用于功率及面积敏感型嵌入式应用。可提供行业领先的性能效率,高达 1.81 DMIPS/MHz,且占用面积和功率消耗极少。

ARC EM DSP 系列包括 ARC EM5D、EM7D、EM9D 和 EM11D 处理器,专门为超低功耗嵌入式 DSP 应用而设计。EM DSP 处理器以增强型 ARCv2DSP 指令集架构 (ISA) 为基础,该指令集为高面积效率和高代码效率的实时 ARCv2 RISC ISA 增加了超过 100 条优化 DSP 指令。该处理器具有低功耗的统一 32x32 位 MUL/MAC 单元,支持定点 DSP 矢量和单指令多数据 (SIMD) 操作。新的 ISA 包括支持以下类型的 DSP 指令和操作:基本饱和算法、矢量解包、累加器以及丰富的 MAC 操作。

ARC EM Safety Island IP 是双核锁步处理器系列,简化了安全关键型应用程序的开发,并加快车用系统级芯片 (SoCs) 获得 ISO 26262 认证的进程。该系列包括获得 ASIL D Ready 认证的 ARC EM4SI 和 EM5DSI 处理器,集成了自检查安全监视器以及误差矫正码 (ECC) 和可编程监测定时器等硬件安全功能,可帮助检测系统故障和运行时故障。ARC EM Safety Islands 受到综合安全文档的支持,包括促进芯片级和系统级 ISO 26262 ASIL D 合规性的失效模式、影响和诊断分析 (FMEDA) 报告。

所有的 EM 处理器具有高度可配置性和扩展性,使设计人员能够在特定任务或应用中,以最优的性能、代码密度、面积和功率消耗组合实现每一个芯核。除此之外,ARC 处理器扩展套件 (APEX) 技术使设计者可以创建用户定义的指令,允许集成自定义硬件加速器,从而在提高特定应用性能的同时,减少功耗和所需的内存数量。

EM 处理器系列受软件和硬件开发工具所构成的强大生态系统的支持,包括简单易用、经济实惠、用于早期软件开发的  ARC EM 入门套件 、MQX 实时操作系统 (RTOS)、业内领先的供应商通过  ARC Access Program  提供的第三方工具、操作系统和中间件的产品组合以及  embARC Open Software Platform 网站提供的一个综合性的免费开源软件套件。

性能、功耗和面积 (PPA) 效率

ARC 优势:利用最小的面积和功耗达到最高性能

ARC 处理器内核经过优化,可实现嵌入式 SoC 行业最佳的性能/功耗/面积 (PPA) 效率。针对功耗敏感的嵌入式应用程序全新设计,ARC 处理器采用 Harvard 架构,通过同时进行的指令和数据存储器访问实现更高性能,并通过高速标量流水线实现最大功率效率。32 位 RISC 引擎提供 16 位/32 位混合指令集,提高嵌入式系统中的代码密度。

ARC 的高度可配置性和指令集架构 (ISA) 可扩展性使其具备了行业最佳的 PPA 效率。设计师能够添加或去除硬件功能,以便针对目标应用优化内核的 PPA - 杜绝浪费。ARC 用户还能够对内核添加自定义指令和硬件加速器以及紧密连接的存储器和外设,同时在处理器和系统级别上大幅提高性能和功率效率。

完整而可靠的商业和开源工具链专门针对 ARC 处理器进行优化,为 SoC 设计师提供了所需的开发环境,用来高效地开发满足所有 PPA 目标的基于 ARC 的系统。

可配置性

ARC 优势:仅实现您需要的硬件,以便优化 PPA

ARC 处理器具有高度可配置性,使设计师能够仅实现自己需要的硬件,从而优化 SoC 上每个处理器实例的性能、功耗和面积。ARChitect 向导具有内核拖放配置功能,包括以下方面的选项

  • 指令、程序计数器和循环计数器宽度
  • 寄存器文件大小
  • 计时器、重置和中断
  • 字节排序
  • 存储器类型、大小、分区、基地址
  • 电源管理、门控时钟
  • 端口和总线协议
  • 乘法器、除法器和其他硬件功能
  • 可获许可的组件,如存储器保护装置 (MPU)、浮点运元 (FPU) 和实时跟踪 (RTT)
  • 添加/删除指令

可扩展性

ARC 优势:添加用户定义的指令,以便加快代码执行并降低功耗

ARC 处理器扩展套件 (APEX) 技术使 ARC 用户可以轻松地对处理器添加自定义硬件,从而针对目标应用大幅提高性能和/或降低功耗。ARC 处理器支持以下扩展:

  • 用户定义的指令
  • 用户提供的硬件(例如 Verilog RTL)
  • 内核寄存器
  • 辅助寄存器
  • 条件和状态代码
  • 存储器映射块和紧密连接的外设

ARC 处理器扩展套件可使用户大幅改善性能、功耗和面积。例如,用户定义的指令可加快软件执行速度,使同样的代码运行的周期数大大减少(或者能利用同样的能量执行更多操作),这样可降低时钟频率要求,从而减少能耗。这还减小了代码尺寸,降低内存要求,从而节约更多成本和耗能。 

APEX 接口还可以让 ARC 用户将存储器和外设紧密连接到处理器,因此无需额外的总线基础架构。由此所得的"无总线"设计可进一步减少面积和延迟,在降低成本的同时,提高系统级别性能。

文章

DesignWare ARC EM Processor Family

Unrivaled Performance Efficiency for Your Embedded Application

The DesignWare® ARC® EM Family of embedded processors is based on the scalable ARCv2 Instruction Set Architecture (ISA) and is optimized for energy and performance efficiency (DMIPS/mW and DMIPS/mm2). The ARC EM family includes the EM4 (cacheless) and EM6 (instruction and data caches) processor cores, designed for use in power and area-sensitive embedded applications. They offer industry-leading performance efficiency of up to 1.81 DMIPS/MHz, with minimal area and power consumption.

The ARC EM DSP family, which includes the ARC EM5D, EM7D, EM9D and EM11D processors, are specifically designed for ultra low-power embedded DSP applications. The EM DSP processors are based on the enhanced ARCv2DSP ISA, which adds over 100 optimized DSP instructions to the area- and code-efficient real-time ARCv2 RISC ISA. The processors feature a power-efficient unified 32x32 MUL/MAC unit, support for fixed point DSP vector and single instruction multiple data (SIMD) operations. The new ISA includes support for the following classes of DSP instructions and operations: basic saturating arithmetic, vector unpacking, accumulators, as well as a broad selection of MAC operations.

ARC EM Safety Island IP is a family of dual-core lockstep processors that simplifies development of safety-critical applications and accelerates ISO 26262 certification of automotive system-on-chips (SoCs). The family includes ASIL D Ready certified ARC EM4SI and EM5DSI processors that integrate a self-checking safety monitor as well as hardware safety features such as error correcting code (ECC) and a programmable watchdog timer to help detect system failures and runtime faults. The ARC EM Safety Islands are supported by comprehensive safety documentation, including failure modes, effects and diagnostic analysis (FMEDA) reports that facilitate chip- and system-level ISO 26262 ASIL D compliance.

All of the EM Processors are highly-configurable and extensible, enabling designers to implement each core with the optimum combination of performance, code density, area and power consumption for the specific task or application. In addition, ARC Processor EXtension (APEX) technology offers designers the ability to create user-defined instructions, enabling the integration of custom hardware accelerators that improve application-specific performance while reducing power consumption and the amount of memory required.

The EM Family is supported by a robust ecosystem of software and hardware development tools, including an easy to use and low-cost ARC EM Starter Kit for early software development, the MQX real-time operating system (RTOS), and a portfolio of third-party tools, operating systems and middleware from leading industry vendors through the ARC Access Program as well as a comprehensive suite of free and open source software available through the embARC Open Software Platform.

PPA Efficiency

The ARC Advantage: Maximum Performance With Minimum Area and Power

ARC processor cores are optimized to deliver the best performance/power/area (PPA) efficiency in the industry for embedded SoCs. Designed from the start for power-sensitive embedded applications, ARC processors implement a Harvard architecture for higher performance through simultaneous instruction and data memory access, and a high-speed scalar pipeline for maximum power efficiency. The 32-bit RISC engine offers a mixed 16-bit/32-bit instruction set for greater code density in embedded systems.

ARC's high degree of configurability and instruction set architecture (ISA) extensibility contribute to its best-in-class PPA efficiency. Designers have the ability to add or omit hardware features to optimize the core's PPA for their target application - no wasted gates. ARC users also have the ability to add their own custom instructions and hardware accelerators to the core, as well as tightly couple memory and peripherals, enabling dramatic improvements in performance and power-efficiency at both the processor and system levels.

Complete and proven commercial and open source tool chains, optimized for ARC processors, give SoC designers the development environment they need to efficiently develop ARC-based systems that meet all of their PPA targets.

Configurability

The ARC Advantage: Implement Only the Hardware You Need to Optimize PPA

ARC processors are highly configurable, allowing designers to optimize the performance, power and area of each processor instance on their SoC by implementing only the hardware needed. The ARChitect wizard enables drag-and-drop configuration of the core, including options for

  • Instruction, program counter and loop counter widths
  • Register file size
  • Timers, reset and interrupts
  • Byte ordering
  • Memory type, size, partitioning, base address
  • Power management, clock gating
  • Ports and bus protocol
  • Multipliers, dividers and other hardware features
  • Licensable components such as a Memory Protection Unit (MPU), Floating Point Unit (FPU) and Real-Time Trace (RTT)
  • Adding/removing instructions

Extensibility

The ARC Advantage: Add User-Defined Instructions to Accelerate Code Execution and Lower Power Consumption

ARC Processor EXtension (APEX) technology enables ARC users to easily add their own custom hardware to the processor, dramatically boosting performance and/or reducing power consumption for their targeted application(s). ARC processors can be extended with:

  • User-defined instructions
  • User-supplied hardware (e.g., Verilog RTL)
  • Core registers
  • Auxiliary registers
  • Condition & status codes
  • Memory mapped blocks and closely coupled peripherals

ARC processor extensions enable users to dramatically improve performance, power and area. User-defined instructions, for example, can accelerate software execution, enabling the same code to run in much fewer cycles which reduces energy consumption by lowering clock frequency requirements (or enables the execution of more operations with the same energy.) Code size is also reduced, lowering memory requirements which leads to additional cost and power savings. 

The APEX interface also enables ARC users to tightly couple memory and peripherals to the processor, eliminating the need for additional bus infrastructure. The resulting "bus-less" design further reduces area and latency, increasing system-level performance while reducing costs.

Article