简介

随着世界逐渐从全球新冠肺炎疫情中复苏,连接性在当今的技术恢复和持续演变中起着至关重要的作用。现场对联网远程设备的需求不断增加,如今,联网远程设备变得必不可少,因为只有这样才能够以可靠高效的方式感知信息、处理信息并传达信息。过去,我们“互联世界”面临的主要挑战,是如何能够在偏远地区提供安全功能并将功耗降至最低。

虽然大型网络和营销公司一直在强调以高速/高吞吐量为卖点的 4G/5G 技术的近期采用情况,但此类技术的实施成本通常非常高昂,而且主要用于能耗高的终端产品,因此在全球范围内,对于具有以下特点的各种应用,部署此类技术是不切实际的:不一定需要上述高吞吐量和高数据速率,但仍需要一定程度的连接性和可靠性,同时还要能够满足低成本、低功耗和低复杂性要求,以便能够大规模部署产品。

为了满足此类应用的需求,并且仍能够受益于传统标准,3GPP 定义了窄带物联网 (NB-IoT) 无线电接口,通过广域蜂窝网络提供 IoT 服务,并发布了一系列版本,强调简单性,以降低成本并解决低功耗实现的需求,最大限度地减少电池消耗,同时仍适用于严苛的无线电环境,特别是在传统蜂窝技术无法轻易覆盖的位置。

此外,鉴于 IoT 市场在联网设备和应用方面的预期增长,业界已经作出了一些努力来满足连接需求。近年来,很多标准和通信协议相继开发出来,用以支持广泛的机器对机器通信(也称为机器类通信 (MTC))应用。这些标准和协议主要用于短距离应用和一些明确规定的用途(即,支持蓝牙或 Wi-Fi 的设备)。但在过去的几年中,窄带 IoT 等长距离连接协议已经开发出来,并被用于长距离应用中的 MTC,使得能够支持广泛的应用和行业。


大规模 IoT 连接 - 数据和趋势

图 1:蜂窝 IoT 连接 - 按细分市场和技术显示(单位:十亿)

根据爱立信移动市场报告,通过 NB-IoT 和 LTE-M 技术连接的 IoT 设备数量预计在不久的将来会超过 2G/3G 连接的 IoT 设备,并在 2027 年超过宽带 IoT,届时,将会有 51% 以上的蜂窝 IoT 连接是采用 NB-IoT 和 LTE-M 技术实现的(图 1)。

由于许多移动网络运营商 (MNO) 对其现有基础架构进行改造以支持新版本的功能,因此将 NB-IoT 协议捆绑到标准移动 3GPP 推广方案中,可以加速采用。此外,新增的一项网络功能通过频谱共享使得 4G/5G 和 NB-IoT 技术可以共存于 FDD 频段中,这大大促进了这些大规模 IoT 通信技术(例如 NB-IoT)的发展。随着这些大规模 IoT 技术在现有蜂窝网络中的应用和实现,预计到 2030 年,全球 NB-IoT 芯片组市场规模将达到 221 亿美元,2021 年到 2030 年期间的复合年增长率预计为 52.1%。

从基础架构的角度来看,如图 2 所示,大规模 IoT 技术(NB-IoT 和 LTE-M)的全球部署主要由美国和欧洲的移动网络运营商领跑。亚洲和东欧主要部署 NB-IoT(Cat-NB1、Cat-NB2)。总的来说,超过 124 个服务提供商在市面上推出了 NB-IoT 网络,有 55 个服务提供商推出了 Cat-M 技术,约有 40 个服务提供商推出了这两种技术。

图 2:大规模 IoT 通信部署

将 IoT 蜂窝应用扩展到新领域

大规模 IoT 通信(尤其是 NB-IoT)获得了移动网络运营商、芯片组制造商和模块制造商的支持,而且能够与 2G、3G、4G 甚至 5G 移动网络共存,使得面向个人和行业的各种应用和服务成为可能。

NB-IoT 系统的固有功能使其非常适合具有以下特点的一类应用:不需要高数据速率,但要求能够在众多行业和应用中部署低功耗、低成本的设备,例如:

  • 消费品
    • 智能家居
    • 智能电器
    • 智能锁
    • 可穿戴设备
  • 智慧城市
    • 智能停车
    • 智能仪表
  • 智能农业
    • 土壤湿度监测
    • 空气质量监测
  • 智能工业
    • 车队和资产管理
    • 智能托盘
    • 监控和资产跟踪
  • 企业
    • 智能访问
    • 废物管理和储存容器
    • 开/关按钮

订阅 新思科技 IP 技术公告

包括深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、即将举行的网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

集成 NB-IoT 子系统解决方案

由于 NB-IoT 是现有 LTE 技术的演变,模块制造商已开始研究基于 LTE 的现有模块,并试图将其应用于 NB-IoT 模块。鉴于 NB-IoT 系统的关键驱动因素,而且在适合部署这些模块的应用中,对低成本设备、低功耗和简单性的需求是主要因素,因此这种方法似乎过犹不及。此外,我们发现,典型应用不需要在用户设备 (UE) 和基带之间进行连续的数据传输。相反,基于 NB-IoT 的用户设备从不同的传感器收集数据、处理数据,并根据特定的事件或定时器传输处理后的结果。

一个小型高效的 CPU/DSP 处理器,再辅以一些有针对性的硬件加速器,以此满足低成本设备(主要取决于硅面积)的其中一个主要要求以及对电池供电系统的低功耗需求,这是灵活的现代化 NB-IoT 调制解调器的理想组合方式。

Synopsys DSP 增强型 ARC® EMxD 处理器非常适合构建 NB-IoT 调制解调器。这款处理器有高效的 3 级流水线,并且在指令集架构 (ISA) 中加入了 DSP 指令,能够执行控制和 DSP 代码,无需使用单独的 RISC 和 DSP 处理器来执行控制应用和 NB-IoT 协议栈。

ARC EM11D 处理器提供了具有高级地址生成单元的 XY 内存,可高效实现 NB-IoT。这种架构提供多达三个可供处理器同时访问的逻辑内存,使许多 NB-IoT 调制解调器功能可以在处理器上高效执行,而无需额外的硬件加速器。

Synopsys ARC EM 处理器还能够使用 ARC 处理器扩展 (APEX) 技术通过自定义指令扩展处理器,从而大幅加快某些功能的执行。Synopsys 提供集成 ARC IoT 通信子系统,该系统利用 ARC EM11D 处理器和 APEX 指令来简化 NB-IoT 调制解调器的开发。这种 APEX 技术可高效实现维特比解码器和三角函数,这两者都是 NB-IoT 协议栈中需要考虑的重要步骤,以便在接收器中执行前向纠错(图 3)。

除了这些功能之外,ARC IoT 通信子系统还提供集成外设(实现广泛的 SoC 连接)、数字前端 (DFE)(实现与标准 NB-IoT 射频收发器的无缝集成)以及高效的电源管理单元(将在下一部分讲述)。

图 3:Synopsys DesignWare IoT 通信 IP 子系统

应对 NB-IoT 系统的低功耗挑战

如前所述,低功耗是 NB-IoT 调制解调器开发工作的关键要求和重大挑战,因为这种调制解调器既需要高效低功耗处理器/DSP,又需要有机制来允许时钟切换以及所有 I/O 功能和处理器本身可以独立关闭。ARC IoT 通信子系统的集成电源管理单元 (PMU) 和时钟控制单元 (CCU) 为设备提供关键支持,使设备达到 3GPP 针对电池寿命提出的严格要求。这些电池供电系统大多用于人机交互和设备访问可能受限的“一次设定永久有效”的应用。3GPP 标准根据通信频率(每 2 小时/每天一次)和数据带宽(50 字节/200 字节)定义了几种用例。对于所有用例组合,使用 5Wh 电池的预期电池寿命均为 10 年。

为了帮助 SoC 设计人员实现这些目标,子系统在 ARC EM11D 处理器内以及 IoT 通信子系统逻辑的其余部分提供了多个可编程电源域。除了数据保持、时钟和电源管理等功能所需的永远在线逻辑 (AON) 之外,可以根据需要控制其余的域,以满足电源需求,这使得 ARC IoT 通信子系统在待机电源域的功耗低于 1uW,从而确保终端设备的电池寿命超过 10 年。图 5 显示了子系统电源域。

图 4:IoT 通信子系统电源域

在表 1 中可以看到电源管理的用例,表中突出强调了在活跃模式、休眠模式(存储器保持、射频闲置)和待机模式(射频电源关闭,仅 AON 逻辑活跃)下,为了尽量降低功耗,推荐 ARC EM11D 处理器、射频收发器和子系统逻辑所处的状态。

 

表 1:IoT 通信子系统的电源模式和电源域

提供支持软件的集成解决方案

在软件方面,除了软件堆栈的高效实现之外,处理器还需要具有出色的代码密度,以允许小内存并消除对 DRAM 的需求,这将使系统成本进一步降低。ARC IoT 通信子系统通过代码密度高效处理器、基础通信库、经过优化的 NB-IoT 第 1 层软件许可选项,以及针对低内存进行了优化的符合 3GPP 第 14 版的软件堆栈,精确地满足这些要求。

基础通信软件库支持所有基础 NB-IoT 功能,例如内插、FFTS 和调制,还支持 DFE、主机 IF、USIM 和 UART 接口的所有低级驱动程序。另一方面,NB-IoT 第 1 层 (PHY) 许可选项提供了所有原生低级 L1 API,可实现与多个协议栈 (L2/L3) 和多个射频前端 (RFE) 的集成(图 5)。集成指南和应用示例(即 NB-IoT 同步、数据通道处理)作为文档的一部分,以方便用户使用和轻松实现。

图 5:NB-IoT 通信第 1 层软件

总结

满足各种新兴智能应用需求的嵌入式 IoT 设备必须能够支持低成本、低功耗的广域通信。NB-IoT 系统功耗低、简单、成本效益高,适合长距离应用,而且易于使用,向后兼容 2G/3G 并支持 4G/5G,有望成为该领域要实施的关键产品之一。因此,可以合理地预测,该协议以及实施该协议的系统将在计量、工业领域、停车、可穿戴设备、农业设备和工业生产线等不同类型的应用中普遍存在。利用经过预先验证并由关键合作伙伴进行了检验的集成软硬件解决方案,可以降低风险,并使公司可以更轻松地将解决方案实施到自己的 SoC 中。

新思科技的 ARC IoT 通信 IP 子系统提供了完整的 IoT 解决方案,适用于各种应用,可满足严格的设计要求,同时确保易用性并缩短上市时间。

如需了解更多信息,请访问网页:https://www.synopsys.com/dw/ipdir.php?ds=iot-comms-subsystem 


新思科技 IP 技术公告

深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

继续阅读

Narrowband IoT Expansion Address Low-Power Requirements |Synopsys

Introduction

As the world continues to recover from a global pandemic, connectivity plays a crucial role in today’s technological recovery and ongoing evolution. The need for connected remote devices in the field continue to increase and now it’s become an absolute necessity to be able to sense the information, process it and communicate that information in a reliable, and efficient way. In the past, the main challenge for our ‘connected world’ was the ability to operate in remote locations with security capabilities and minimal power consumption. 

While the big networks and marketing firms have been emphasizing recent 4G/5G adoptions where the high speed/high throughput features prevail, those types of technologies are typically costly to implementation and target power-hungry end-products, making it impractical for deployment on a worldwide scale across all types of applications that don’t necessarily require the mentioned high throughputs and data rates but would still require a level of connectivity and reliability while also being able to address low-cost, low-power consumption and low-complexity requirements for products that can be deployed in massive numbers.  

To address those type of applications while still being able to benefit from legacy standards the 3GPP defined the Narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT) radio interface  to provide IoT services though wide-area cellular networks with a set of releases that put emphasis around simplicity in order to reduce costs and address the need of low power implementations to minimize battery consumption while still being adapted to work in difficult radio conditions, especially in locations that can’t easily be covered by conventional cellular technologies. 

In addition, due to the anticipated IoT market growth in terms of connected devices and applications, several efforts have been made to meet the connectivity needs. In recent years, many standards and communication protocols have been developed to support a wide range of applications for machine-to-machine communication, also known as machine-type communication (MTC). These standards and protocols were mostly dedicated to short-range applications and for well-defined usage, i.e. Bluetooth or Wi-Fi enabled devices, but in the last couple of years, long-range connectivity protocols such as Narrowband IoT have been developed and used for MTC in long-range applications, which has enabled the ability to support a broad range of applications and industries.


Massive IoT Connections by Numbers and Trends

Figure 1: Cellular IoT Connections by Segment and Technology (Billion)

According to Ericsson’s Mobility Report, the number of IoT devices connected by NB-IoT and LTE-M technologies is expected to overtake 2G/3G connected IoT devices in the near future and overtake broadband IoT in 2027 with more than 51% of all cellular IoT connections by that time (Figure 1). 

Bundling the NB-IoT protocol as part of the standard mobile 3GPP rollouts has served to accelerate adoption as many mobile network operators (MNOs) make modifications to their existing infrastructure to support features of the new releases. Furthermore, the growth of these massive IoT communications technologies, such as NB-IoT, has been recently enhanced by an added network capability that has enabled a co-existence between 4G/5G along with NB-IoT technologies in FDD bands via spectrum sharing. With these rollouts and enablement of massive IoT technologies into the existing cellular networks, the expectation for the global NB-IoT chipset market is expected to reach a $22.10 billion by 2030 with a CAGR estimate of 52.1% from the years 2021 to 2030.

From the infrastructure perspective, as shown in Figure 2, the global deployment of massive IoT technologies (both NB-IoT and LTE-M) has been primarily led by MNOs in the US and Europe. Asia and Eastern Europe are largely deploying NB-IoT alone (Cat-NB1, Cat-NB2). Overall, more than 124 service provides have commercially launched NB-IoT networks while 55 have launched Cat-M technologies, and around 40 services providers have launched both technologies.

Figure 2: Massive IoT Communications Deployment

Extending IoT Cellular Applications into New Territories

Having the support of MNOs, chipset and module manufacturers, and with the ability to co-exist with 2G, 3G, 4G and even 5G mobile networks, massive IoT communications (specifically the NB-IoT) enable a broad range of applications and services proposed to individuals and industries.  

The inherent capabilities of the NB-IoT systems allow them to be a great fit for the type of applications that do not require high data rates, but instead demand low-power consumption, low-cost devices that can be deployed in massive numbers in a range of sectors and applications, such as:

  • Consumer
    • Smart home
    • Smart appliances
    • Smart padlocks
    • Wearables
  • Smart Cities
    • Smart parking
    • Smart meters
  • Smart Agriculture
    • Soil moisture monitor
    • Air quality monitor
  • Smart Industry 
    • Fleet and asset management
    • Smart pallets
    • Monitoring and asset tracking
  • Enterprise
    • Smart access
    • Waste management and storage containers
    • On/Off buttons

Subscribe to the Synopsys IP Technical Bulletin

Includes in-depth technical articles, white papers, videos, upcoming webinars, product announcements and more.

An Integrated NB-IoT Subsystem Solution

Since NB-IoT is the evolution of an already existing LTE technology, module manufacturers have looked at existing LTE-based modules and are trying to apply them to NB-IoT modules. This approach seems to be overkill due to the key drivers seen in the NB-IoT systems as well as the type of applications in which these modules would be deployed where the needs for low-cost devices, low-power consumption and simplicity are predominant factors. In addition, we see that typical applications do not need continuous data transfer between the user equipment (UE) and a baseband. Instead, the NB-IoT-based UE collects data from different sensors, processes it and transmits the processed results based on a specific event or timer. 

A single small and efficient CPU/DSP processor, complemented with a few well-targeted hardware accelerators addressing one of the main requirements for low-cost devices (mainly determined by the silicon area) as well as the need for low-power consumption for battery-operated systems is the ideal basis for a flexible and modern NB-IoT modem 

The Synopsys DSP-enhanced ARC® EMxD processors are extremely well-suited for building NB-IoT modems. Their highly efficient 3-stage pipeline, combined with DSP instructions added into the instruction set architecture (ISA), allows the to execute both control and DSP codes, eliminating the needs for separate RISC and DSP processors for executing the control application and the NB-IoT protocol stack. 

The ARC EM11D processor provides XY memory with an advanced address generation unit for the efficient implementation of NB-IoT. This architecture provides up to three logical memories that the processor can access concurrently, allowing many NB-IoT modem functions to execute efficiently on the processor without additional hardware accelerators.  

The Synopsys ARC EM processors also provide the ability to extend the processor with custom instructions, using ARC Processor EXtension (APEX) technology, that can significantly accelerate the execution of certain functions.  Synopsys offers the integrated ARC IoT Communications Subsystem, which leverages the ARC EM11D processor and APEX instructions to ease development of an NB-IoT modem. This APEX technology enables the efficient implementation of a Viterbi decoder and trigonometric functions, which are prominent steps to be considered in the NB-IoT protocol stack for performing forward error correction in the receiver (Figure 3). 

In addition to these features, the ARC IoT Communications Subsystem also offers integrated peripherals to provide a wide range of SoC connectivity, a Digital Front End (DFE) for seamless integration to standard NB-IoT RF transceivers and an efficient power management unit, which will be explored in the next section. 

Figure 3: Synopsys DesignWare IoT Communications IP Subsystem

Addressing the Low-Power Challenges of NB-IoT Systems

As stated earlier, low-power consumption is a key requirement and challenge in the development of an NB-IoT modem that needs a combination of an efficient low-power processor/DSP and a mechanism that allows for clock switching and all I/O functions and the processor itself to be switched off independently. The ARC IoT Communication Subsystem’s integrated power management unit (PMU) and clock control unit (CCU) provide critical support for devices to meet stringent battery lifetime requirements set forth by the 3GPP. Many of these battery-operated systems are intended for “set-and-forget” applications where human interaction and the access to the device itself can be limited. The 3GPP standard defines several use cases based on frequency of communication (every 2 hours / once daily) and data bandwidth (50 bytes / 200 bytes). The expectation with a 5Wh battery is 10 years of battery lifetime for all use case combinations. 

To help SoC designers meet these goals, the subsystem provides several programmable power domains within the ARC EM11D processor as well as within the rest of the IoT Communications Subsystem logic. Aside from the always-on logic (AON), which is needed for data retention, clocking, power management, etc., the remaining domains can be controlled as needed to meet power requirements, which allows the ARC IoT Communications Subsystem to consume less than 1uW in standby power domains, ensuring more than 10 years of battery life in the end device. The subsystem power domains are shown in Figure 5. 

Figure 4: IoT Communications Subsystem Power Domains

Use cases for power management can be seen in Table 1 highlighting recommend states for the ARC EM11D processor, RF transceiver, and subsystem logic to minimize power consumption in active, sleep (memory retention, RF idle), and standby modes (RF powered OFF, only AON logic active).

 

Table 1: IoT Communications Subsystem Power Modes & Power Domains

Providing an Integrated Solution with Software Enablement

On the software front, in addition to an efficient implementation of the software stack, the processor needs to have excellent code density to allow for small memories and to avoid the need for DRAM, which will bring the systems costs down even further. The ARC IoT Communications Subsystem provides precisely that with a combination of a code density efficient processor, a base communications library and an optimized NB-IoT Layer 1 software licensable option with 3GPP Release 14 compliant software stack optimized for low memory.

The base communication software library supports all the base NB-IoT functions such as interpolation, FFTS, and modulation as well as all the low-level drivers for the DFE, host IF, USIM and UART interfaces. On the other hand, the NB-IoT Layer 1 (PHY) licensable option provides all the native low-level L1 API enabling integration with multiple protocol stacks (L2/L3) and multiple Radio Front Ends (RFEs) (Figure 5). As part of the documentation, an integration guide as well as application examples (i.e. NB-IoT synchronization, data channel handling) are provided to facilitate ease of use and allow an easy implementation.   

Figure 5: NB-IoT Communications Layer 1 Software

Summary

Support for low-cost, low-power wide-area communications is increasingly important for embedded IoT devices addressing a broad range of emerging smart applications. NB-IoT systems trending to become one of the key products to be implemented in the field, leveraging their low-power consumption capabilities, simplicity, cost-efficiency as well as the long-range, combined with ease of use, 2G/3G rollover and 4G/5G support. Because of this it is fair to predict that this protocol and the systems implementing it will become pervasive in different kinds of applications such as metering, industrial field, parking, wearables, agriculture devices and industrial production lines. Leveraging a pre-verified, integrated hardware and software solution that has been tested with key partners reduces risk and makes the job easier for the companies that implement it into their own SoCs. 

Synopsys’ ARC IoT Communications IP Subsystem provides a complete IoT solution to address a wide range of applications and meet stringent design requirements while enabling ease of use and faster time to market. 

For more information, visit the web page at: https://www.synopsys.com/dw/ipdir.php?ds=iot-comms-subsystem 


Continue Reading