简介

在这个超级计算时代,数据和带宽的巨大增长推动着整个市场的技术进步,并重塑片上系统 (SoC) 设计,以支持新的计算架构、更快加速能力和更大存储容量。随着包括 DDR、PCIe、CXL、以太网、HDMI 和 DisplayPort 在内的高带宽接口不断普及和升级换代,所涉及的数据和系统的安全性也在不断提高。随着设备和云之间收集和移动的敏感信息和私有信息越来越多,务必要加强保护力度并遵守最新的标准和法规。

无论是保护 HPC、移动、IoT 和汽车 SoC 领域的在途数据还是静态数据,安全实施方法都必须是最佳的,能够保持接口性能,同时减少对延迟和面积的影响。

如今,安全在半导体行业处于重要位置,所有接口以及跨接口移动的数据都需要得到保护。毕竟,SoC 的安全性取决于其最薄弱的入口点。本文介绍了设计人员在当前万物互联时代可用于保护 SoC 的一些关键安全接口。

SoC 有许多需要安全保护的接口

如图 1 所示,SoC 中有许多接口需要安全保护,以防止数据被读取/修改/重新排序/删除、中间人攻击以及恶意人员进行的其他攻击。

图 1:高级 SoC 结构图

对于芯片间连接和设备间连接,PCIe 和 CXL 增加了完整性和数据加密 (IDE) 等安全要求,通过 AES-GCM 加密实现数据机密性、完整性和重放保护。DDR 和 LPDDDR 等内存接口依靠 AES-XTS 加密进行数据加密,以确保机密性。用于有线网络连接的以太网现正普及到汽车行业,这种以太网依靠媒体访问控制安全 (MACsec) 来实现机密性、完整性、来源真实性和重放保护。用于各种显示器的 HDMI、DisplayPort 和 USB Type-C 接口需要最新版本的高带宽数字内容保护 (HDCP v2.3),以便对优质音频/视频内容进行高级别保护;HDCP v2.3 不仅要求强加密,还要求更严格的安全机制,包括硬件信任根、强化的执行环境和运行时完整性检查。eMMC 等片外闪存利用 AES-XTS 实现数据保密。此外,行业正在制定 MIPI 和 UCIe 等协议的新安全标准。

接口安全通常涉及两个主要组件。其中一个组件用于身份验证和密钥管理,适用于控制平面;顾名思义,它负责处理身份验证、密钥创建和分发以及访问控制等功能。这些功能需要在安全的环境中运行。另一个组件负责解决端点之间的批量完整性和数据加密问题。这与数据平面有关,数据平面需要解决方案来支持特定的接口带宽,并要求在延迟、面积和功耗方面达到最佳水平。

以下各部分介绍了一些具有集成安全功能的关键接口。

具有内嵌存储加密 (IME) 功能的安全 DDR 控制器

内存和存储安全旨在保护存储资源和存储在其中的数据,无论是在本地存储还是在外部数据中心和云中存储。随着对更高容量、更快访问和加速处理的需求不断增加,设计人员正在转向高性能、低延迟的内存加密解决方案,以保持性能,同时保护最新一代 DDR、LPDDR、GDDR 和 HBM 内存接口上的数据。

AES-XTS(有时称为 XTS-AES)是用于保护内存数据机密性的加密算法。它是一种基于标准的对称算法,由 NIST SP800-38E 和 IEEE Std 1619-2018 规范定义,其算法属性允许流水线架构从而使性能扩展到 Tbps 带宽。CTS 模式为数据大小无法被底层 AES 密码的 16 字节块整除的数据单元提供支持。

存储接口的最佳安全解决方案是内嵌式的,与相关的 DDR 控制器紧密集成,靠近 PHY 接口,在 DRAM 突发模式下工作。这种解决方案需要有效地处理各种密钥大小的加密和解密,管理密钥,并尽可能与内存控制器重叠执行任务,以进一步降低总体延迟。

新思科技安全 DDR/LPDDR 控制器具有集成 IME 安全功能(图 2),可为读/写通道提供符合标准的独立加密支持,确保数据机密性,实现每个区域加密/解密,且在面积、性能和延迟方面进行了高度优化。新思安全 DDR/LPDDR 控制器的加密/解密延迟开销低至 2 个时钟周期。

通过集成 Synopsys 安全 DDR/LPDDR 控制器,SoC 设计人员可以获得以下优势:

  • 高性能、低延迟的安全内存接口,可高效地支持各种数据流量
  • 读写通道独立保护
  • 基于符合标准的 AES-XTS 加密算法的加密/解密
  • 支持 256 位和 512 位 AES-XTS 密钥大小
  • 超低延迟(低至 2 个周期)
  • 每个区域加密/解密
  • 每个周期一次 tweak 预计算
  • 高效的密钥设置和刷新
  • 密钥读回保护/归零
  • 支持 FIPS 140-3 认证
  • 旁路模式

图 2:Synopsys 安全 DDR5 控制器 (DDRC) 模块图

具有完整性和数据加密 (IDE) 功能的安全 PCIe 和 CXL 控制器

IDE 为事务层数据包 (TLP) 和流量控制单元 (FLIT) 提供机密性、完整性和重放保护,确保线路上的数据不会被观察、篡改、删除、插入和重放。IDE 基于 NIST SP800-30D 标准定义的 AES-GCM 加密算法,具有 256 位密钥和 96 位 MAC 标签。

IDE 参考标准为:

  • PCI-SIG:PCIe 5.0 和 6.0 IDE ECN

PCIe 6.0 IDE 不仅支持更高带宽,还增加了部分标头加密和 FLIT 模式支持等新功能。最近发布的 TEE 设备接口安全协议 (TDISP) ECN 定义了系统中可信 I/O 虚拟化的架构要求,为 PCIe 控制器 + IDE 解决方案带来了额外的要求,包括支持 T 位检查和边带信号处理、每个数据包的额外数据包检查、中断、错误条件等。

  • CXL 2.0 和 3.0:用于 CXL.cache/mem 协议的 IDE。CXL.io 协议参考 PCIe 5.0 和 6.0 IDE ECN。

CXL 3.0 IDE 对 CXL.io 协议使用最新的 PCIe 6.0 IDE 功能,对于 CXL.cache/.mem 协议还能支持更多 FLIT 模式。

与安全内存控制器一样,在寻找具有安全功能的 PCIe 和 CXL 解决方案时,重要的是要考虑优化,这些解决方案能够提供最高性能、最低延迟和最佳面积,并支持适当的用例(根端口/端点/交换机端口、通道数量、数据总线宽度、IDE 流数量、支持的前缀数量等)。

借助与控制器集成的即插即用 Synopsys PCIe 和 CXL IDE 安全模块,设计人员可以获得以下优势:

  • 符合持续更新的最新标准(PCIe 5.0/6.0.1、CXL 2.0/3.0)
  • 接收和发送方向的全双工最大化吞吐量
  • 具有高度的可配置性,可根据特定用例调整解决方案
  • 基于 256 位密钥大小的 AES-GCM 加密算法,为 TLP 和 FLIT 提供高效的加密、解密和身份验证
  • 密码和哈希算法的宽度可配置以满足方案的面积和延迟优化
  • 超低延迟(对于 CXL.cache/mem 协议,低至 0 个周期)
  • 高效的动态密钥刷新,实现系统中密钥的无缝更改
  • 针对无保护流量的低延迟顺序旁路模式

如需详细了解 PCIe 和 CXL 安全组件及解决方案,请阅读《在云计算中保护 PCIe 和 CXL 上的数据》一文。

订阅 新思科技 IP 技术公告

包括深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、即将举行的网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

通过 HDCP 2.3 内容保护保护 HDMI 和显示端口控制器

HDCP 是由英特尔开发的广泛采用的链路安全规范,并由 Digital Content Protection LLC (DCP) 授权,旨在保护在源设备(包括机顶盒或加密卡)与接收设备(例如数字电视)或其他显示设备之间传播的、有数字版权的音频和视频内容。HDMI 和 DisplayPort 接口的最新 HDCP 规范版本是 v2.3。在 2021 年 7 月,DCP LLC 发布了一份勘误表,以更改需要更新的本地检查协议,尤其是对于发送器相关应用。

Synopsys HDCP 2.3 嵌入式安全模块 (ESM) 是一个完整的安全解决方案,为设计人员在 HDMI 2.0/2.1、DisplayPort 1.4/2.0 和 USB Type-C 接口上实现 HDCP 内容保护提供强大、符合标准的技术支持。

HDCP ESM 包括身份验证引擎和内容加密/解密引擎。强大的安全架构为 HDCP ESM 固件、DCP 密钥管理和系统可更新性提供了硬件信任根、安全启动和运行时篡改保护。

HDCP ESM 支持高清和超高清等高分辨率内容流的加密和解密,适用于众多用例。产品系列包括单端口、双端口和四端口解决方案。每个端口类型均可单独配置为接收器 (Rx)、发送器 (Tx)、DisplayPort 1.4 或 2.0 单/多流 (SST/MST)、HDMI 2.0 或 2.1。多端口 ESM 还支持中继器用例。例如,2 端口 ESM 可配置为支持 1 对 1 中继器、DisplayPort 输入至 DisplayPort 输出、HDMI 输入至 HDMI 输出,或组合 HDMI 输入至 DisplayPort 输出、DisplayPort 输入至 HDMI 输出。

图 3:Synopsys HDCP 2.3 嵌入式安全模块与控制器集成

当针对多端口用例进行配置时,HDCP ESM 包括单个身份验证引擎,该引擎为内容加密/解密引擎中的多个端口提供服务,以实现最佳面积。每个内容端口单独实例化加密内核,以支持 HDMI 2.0、HDMI 2.1、DisplayPort 1.4 和 DisplayPort 2.0 接口的最大传输速率。

结语

超级计算时代正在经历重大变化,带来了需要持续技术进步的新应用和功能。敏感数据呈指数级增长,而且法律、法规和不断发展的标准要求对敏感数据的传输提供高级别保护,因此,安全问题成为了头等大事。

高带宽安全接口在 HPC、数据中心、汽车、IoT 和移动等市场日益普及。接口速度一代高于一代,加快了数据移动。安全解决方案需要高度优化,以支持相关接口的性能,并且需要尽可能降低对延迟、面积和功耗的影响。

新思科技为最广泛使用的协议提供符合标准的完整安全接口解决方案,这些协议包括 DDR/LPDDRPCIeCXLHDMIDisplayPortUSB Type-C以太网。这些解决方案可满足最具挑战性的需求,使设计人员能够快速在其 SoC 中实现所需的安全功能,降低风险并缩短上市时间。此外,Synopsys 还是 UCIe 和 MIPI 等标准组织的活跃成员,帮助开发在我们的控制器中进行集成所需的安全标准。

除了安全接口解决方案外,Synopsys 高度可配置的安全 IP 产品组合还包括具有信任根的硬件安全模块、加密内核真随机数生成器安全协议加速器,这些产品都可集成到 SoC 中。这些集成解决方案实现了许多安全标准的核心内容,支持机密性、数据完整性、用户/系统身份验证、不可否认性以及授权。Synopsys 的安全 IP 解决方案有助于防止连接的设备遭受各种威胁,例如盗窃、篡改、旁路通道攻击、恶意软件和数据泄露等。

新思科技 IP 技术公告

深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

继续阅读

Secure Interfaces with Low Latency Encryption | Synopsys

Introduction

The tremendous data and bandwidth growth in the era of supercomputing is driving technological advances across markets and is reshaping system-on-chip (SoC) designs supporting new compute architectures, more acceleration, and more storage. As high bandwidth interfaces including DDR, PCIe, CXL, Ethernet, HDMI and DisplayPort are proliferating and evolving from one generation to another, so does the security of the data and the systems involved. With more sensitive and private information collected and moved between devices and the cloud, it is critical to ensure a strong level of protection and alignment with the latest standards and regulations.

Whether protecting data-in-transit or data-at-rest in HPC, mobile, IoT and automotive SoCs, the security implementations need to be optimal, preserving the performance of the interfaces, while reducing the impact on latency and area.

Security is now taking center stage in the semiconductor industry, and all interfaces and data that move across them need to be secured. After all, an SoC is only as secure as its weakest entry point. This article describes some of the key secure interfaces that designers can leverage to protect SoCs in today’s connected world.

SoCs Have Many Interfaces That Require Security

As seen in Figure1, there are many interfaces in an SoC requiring security to protect against reading/modification/reordering/deleting of data, man-in-the-middle and other attacks conducted via malicious actors.

Figure 1: High Level SoC Diagram

For chip-to-chip and device-to-device connectivity, PCIe and CXL have added security such as Integrity and Data Encryption (IDE) which enables data confidentiality, integrity, and replay protection with AES-GCM cryptography. Memory interfaces such as DDR, and LPDDDR, rely on AES-XTS cryptography for data encryption to ensure confidentiality. Ethernet for wired network connectivity which is now expanding to cars relies on Media Access Control Security (MACsec) for confidentiality, integrity, origin authentication, and replay protection. HDMI, DisplayPort and USB Type-C interfaces used for various displays require the latest version of the High-Bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP v2.3) for high level protection of premium audio/video content which in addition to strong cryptography, also requires more stringent security mechanisms including hardware root of trust, hardened execution environment, and runtime integrity checking. Off-chip flash storage like eMMC is leveraging AES-XTS for data confidentiality. In addition, there are new security standards for protocols such as MIPI and UCIe that the industry is defining. 

Typically interface security involves two main components. One component for authentication and key management applies to the control plane and as the name implies it handles functions like authentication, creating and distributing keys, and access control. These functions need to run in a secure environment. The other component addresses the bulk integrity and data encryption between the endpoints. This is related to the data plane, where the solutions are required to support the specific interface bandwidths, but with optimal latency, area, and power.

The sections below describe some of the key interfaces with integrated security features.  

Secure DDR Controllers with Inline Memory Encryption (IME)

Memory and storage security protects storage resources and the data stored on them, both on-premises and in external data centers and the cloud. As the need for higher capacity, faster access, and accelerated processing is increasing, designers are turning to high-performance, low-latency memory encryption solutions to preserve performance while protecting data over the latest generations of DDR, LPDDR, GDDR, and HBM memory interfaces. 

AES-XTS, or sometimes referred to as XTS-AES, is the de-facto cryptographic algorithm for protecting the confidentiality of memory data. It is a standards-based symmetric algorithm defined by NIST SP800-38E and IEEE Std 1619-2018 specifications, that by its nature allows for pipelined architectures that can scale in performance to Terabits per second (Tbps) bandwidth. The Ciphertext stealing (CTS) mode provides support for data units with size that is not divisible by the 16-byte block size of the underlying AES cipher.

The most optimal security solution for memory interfaces is inline and tightly integrated with the associated DDR controller, sitting close to the PHY interface and operating on DRAM bursts. The solution needs to efficiently handle encryption and decryption for all key sizes, manage tweaks and keys, and overlap tasks with the memory controller as much as possible to further reduce the overall latency. 

Synopsys’ Secure DDR/LPDDR Controllers with integrated IME Security (Figure 2) provide data confidentiality with standards-compliant independent cryptographic support for read/write channels, per region encryption/decryption and are highly optimized for area, performance, and latency. The encryption/decryption latency overhead for the Synopsys Secure DDR/LPDDR Controllers is as low as 2 clock cycles.

By integrating Synopsys’ Secure DDR/LPDDR Controllers, SoC designers take advantage of:

  • High performance, low latency secure memory interfaces with efficient support for varied data traffic
  • Independent protection for read and write channels
  • Encryption/decryption based on standards compliant AES-XTS cryptographic algorithm
  • Support for 256-bit and 512-bit AES-XTS key sizes
  • Ultra-low latency (as low as 2 cycles)
  • Per region encryption/decryption
  • One tweak per cycle precomputation
  • Efficient key setup and refresh
  • Key readback protection/zeroization 
  • FIPS 140-3 certification ready
  • Bypass mode

Figure 2: Synopsys Secure DDR5 Controller (DDRC) Block Diagram

Secure PCIe and CXL Controllers with Integrity and Data Encryption (IDE)

IDE provides confidentiality, integrity, and replay protection for Transaction Layer Packets (TLPs) and Flow Control UnITs (FLITs), ensuring that data on the wire is secure from observation, tampering, deletion, insertion, and replay of packets. IDE is based on the AES-GCM cryptographic algorithm as defined by the NIST SP800-30D standard, with 256-bit keys and 96-bit MAC tags.

 The IDE reference standards are:

  • PCI-SIG: PCIe 5.0 & 6.0 IDE ECNs

PCIe 6.0 IDE in addition to higher bandwidth, adds new capabilities such as partial header encryption and FLIT mode support. The recently released TEE Device Interface Security Protocol (TDISP) ECN that defines the architecture requirements for trusted I/O virtualization in a system brings additional requirements for the PCIe controller + IDE solutions, including support for T-bit checks and sideband signal handling, additional packet per packet checks, interrupts, error conditions and others.

  • CXL 2.0 & 3.0: IDE for CXL.cache/mem protocols. CXL.io protocol refers to PCIe 5.0 & 6.0 IDE ECNs.

CXL 3.0 IDE leverages the latest PCIe 6.0 IDE capabilities for the CXL.io protocol and it adds support for more FLIT modes for CXL.cache/.mem protocols among others.

As in the case of secure memory controllers, when looking for PCIe and CXL solutions with security, it is important to consider optimized solutions that offer the highest performance, lowest latency and optimal area, and support the appropriate use cases (root port/end point/switch port, number of lanes, data bus widths, number of IDE streams, number of supported prefixes, etc.). 

With plug-and-play Synopsys PCIe & CXL IDE Security Modules integrated with controllers, designers can take advantage of:

  • Compliance with the latest standards (PCIe 5.0/6.0.1, CXL 2.0/3.0) that continue to go through updates
  • Maximum throughput full-duplex for receiver and transmitter directions
  • High configurability to tune solutions for specific use cases
  • Efficient encryption, decryption, and authentication for TLPs and FLITs, based on the AES-GCM cryptographic algorithm with 256-bit key size
  • Configurable widths for cipher and hash algorithms for area and latency optimized solutions
  • Ultra-low latency (as low as 0 cycles for CXL.cache/mem protocols)
  • Efficient inflight key refresh for seamless changes of keys in the system
  • Low latency in-order bypass mode for non-protected traffic

For more information about PCIe & CXL security components and solutions refer to the Protecting Data over PCIe & CXL in Cloud Computing article.

Subscribe to the Synopsys IP Technical Bulletin

Includes in-depth technical articles, white papers, videos, upcoming webinars, product announcements and more.

Secure HDMI and Display Port Controllers with HDCP 2.3 Content Protection

HDCP is a widely adopted link security specification developed by Intel and licensed by Digital Content Protection LLC (DCP) that is intended to protect digitally copyrighted audio and video content as it travels across connections between source devices including set-top-boxes, or dongles, to sync devices, such as DTVs, or other display devices. The latest HDCP specification revision for HDMI and DisplayPort interfaces is v2.3. In July 2021, an errata was released to change the locality check protocol that requires updates in particular for transmitter-related applications. 

The Synopsys HDCP 2.3 Embedded Security Modules (ESMs) are complete security solutions that provide designers with a robust, standards-compliant implementation of the HDCP content-protection technology on HDMI 2.0/2.1, DisplayPort 1.4/2.0  and USB Type-C interfaces. 

The HDCP ESMs include an authentication engine and a content encryption/decryption engine. The robust security architecture provides hardware Root-of-Trust, secure boot, and runtime tamper protection for the HDCP ESM firmware, DCP key management, and system renewability. 

The HDCP ESMs support encryption and decryption of high-resolution content streams, such as HD and Ultra HD for a broad range of use cases. The product family includes single, 2-port, and 4-port solutions. Each port type can be configured individually, as Receiver (Rx), Transmitter (Tx), DisplayPort 1.4 or 2.0 single/multi-stream (SST/MST), HDMI 2.0 or 2.1. The multi-port ESMs also support repeater use cases. For example, a 2-port ESM can be configured to support 1-to-1 repeater, DisplayPort in to DisplayPort out, HDMI in to HDMI out, or combinations HDMI in to DisplayPort out, DisplayPort in to HDMI out. 

Figure 3: Synopsys HDCP 2.3 Embedded Security Modules Integrated with Controllers

When configured for multi-port use cases, the HDCP ESMs include a single Authentication Engine which services multiple ports in the Content Encryption / Decryption Engine for the most optimal area. The crypto cores are independently instantiated per content port to support the maximum transmission rates of HDMI 2.0, HDMI 2.1, DisplayPort 1.4 and DisplayPort 2.0 interfaces.

Conclusion

The era of supercomputing is undergoing significant changes bringing new applications and capabilities that require continuing technological advances. Security is at the forefront as the exponential growth and communication of sensitive data require high-grade protection mandated by laws, regulations, and evolving standards. 

High bandwidth secure interfaces are proliferating across markets including HPC, data centers, automotive, IoT, and mobile. The interfaces speeds continue to increase for faster data movement from generation to generation. Security solutions need to be highly optimal, supporting the performance of the associated interfaces, but with lowest impact on latency, area, and power. 

Synopsys offers complete standards-compliant Secure Interface Solutions for the most widely used protocols, including DDR/LPDDR, PCIe, CXL, HDMI, DisplayPort, USB Type-C, Ethernet. The solutions address the most challenging demands and enable designers to quickly implement the required security in their SoCs with low risk and fast time to market. In addition, Synopsys is an active member of standards-organizations such as UCIe and MIPI, helping to develop the required security standards to integrate in our controllers. 

In addition to the secure interfaces solutions, Synopsys’ highly configurable security IP portfolio includes hardware secure modules with Root of Trust, Cryptographic Cores, True Random Number Generators and Security Protocol Accelerators for integration into SoCs. Such integrated solutions enable the heart of many security standards, supporting confidentiality, data integrity, user/system authentication, non-repudiation, and positive authorization. Synopsys’ Security IP solutions help prevent a wide range of evolving threats in connected devices such as theft, tampering, side channels attacks, malware, and data breaches.

Continue Reading