2022 年 6 月,Frontier 超级计算机登上了全球最快超级计算机系统榜单的榜首,这款超级计算机的峰值性能高达 1.1 ExaFlop,而功耗仅为 21.1 MW,这标志着百亿亿次级计算时代已经到来。最新的 HPC 性能基准测试表明,高性能计算 (HPC) 数据中心的吞吐量在很大程度上取决于网络结构。在 Frontier 集群中,PCIe 4.0 物理层通过 12.8 Tbps 交换机连接了近 900 万个 CPU/GPU 内核,在 145 公里的网络中提供 100GbE 带宽。下一代 HPC 数据中心预计将使用 PCIe 5.0/6.0 以及 56G/112G 以太网 PHY 实现具有互连升级功能的 200G/400G/800G 网络。

本文从距离、架构、功耗和通道类型这几个角度概述了 112G 以太网 PHY 提供的各种实现方案。

互连结构、端口和 SerDes

随着用于百亿亿次级计算的 HPC 数据中心的部署,互连结构、端口和 SerDes IP 如今能够支持更高的速度。图 1 是 HPC 数据中心双机架网络的图示,其中的架顶 (ToR) 交换机通过光链路连接机架。在机架内,计算资源通过 PCIe/CXL 和数据处理单元连接,该单元本质上是具有处理能力的网络接口卡,通过直连铜缆 (DAC) 或有源铜缆 (ACC) 将 ToR 交换机连接到这些内核。

图 1:HPC 作为计算资源网络

表 1 总结了 HPC 数据中心当前和未来的互连实现方案。采用 56G PHY 的四通道 (x4) 或八通道 (x8) 外形尺寸的早期部署带来了 200G/400G 端口。随着 SerDes 从 56G 升级到 112G 以太网 PHY,新的机架单元设计预计将开始保留 x4/x8 端口这种选择 – 使端口带宽翻倍,达到 400G/800G。

 

运行要求

早期部署

主流部署

CPU 加速器结构

PCIe 4.0

PCIe 5.0 /CXL 2.0

PCIe 6.0 /CXL 3.0

系统互连

100GbE,带四通道 25G PHY

  • 200G,带四通道 56G PHY
  • 400G,带八通道 56G PHY
  • 400G,带四通道 112G PHY

 

  • 400G,带四通道 112G PHY
  • 800G,带八通道 112G PHY
  • 800G,带四通道 224G PHY

 

ToR 交换机

12.8T

25.6T

51.2T

 

表 1:HPC 网络组件和互连的比较

重定时器、超短距离 (VSR) PHY 和长距离 (LR) PHY

采用 QSFP-DD 外形尺寸的新型 400G/800G 光模块设计,其目的在于符合 MSA(多源协议)标准所要求的颇具挑战性的 14W 功耗预算。要实现这个目标,需要对光学 DSP SoC 使用经过功耗优化的 VSR 电气接口。112G-VSR 规范定义了适用于芯片到模块接口的 15dB 通道,而 LR PHY 则要求使用具有两个连接器的 28dB 通道。

与 LR 规范相比,VSR 通道的较低通道损耗目标使 SerDes 设计人员能够通过专用架构提供更好的总体功耗效率。

数据路径中的每次额外串行/解串不仅会增加数据传输的功耗,而且还需要额外功耗来进行系统冷却。这迫使系统设计人员通过部署具有 112G VSR/LR PHY 的模块来探索使用和不使用重定时器的实现方案。图 2 显示了一种具有代表性的实现方式,其中通过部署与 VSR 光模块内嵌的重定时器来启用更长的交换机到端口链路。或者,尽管 LR PHY 的功耗高于 VSR PHY,但 112G LR PHY 具有额外的数字信号处理均衡能力,可能无需使用重定时器。

图 2:使用重定时器和 LR/VSR PHY 的实现选择

订阅 新思科技 IP 技术公告

包括深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、即将举行的网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

电光接口的演变

ToR 交换机之间连接始终通过光链路实现,而机架内链路则通过可插拔模块和 DAC、ACC 实现。随着 112G 以太网 PHY 的部署,业界开始探索如何使用多个电气接口,以节省 SerDes、光学引擎和重定时器的总体功耗。表 2 总结了下一代电光链路的新兴实现方案。

表 2:HPC 数据中心中的下一代电光链路

  • 共封装光学器件:得益于硅光子和封装技术的进步,可以使用 25G 和 100G λ 光学晶粒来实现共封装光学器件。串行和并行接口:OIF 的串行 112G-XSR 规范和 UCIe 最新推出的晶粒间互连标准,提供了电气晶粒与光学晶粒之间的高效电气互连方案。
  • 近封装光学器件:由于光学组件的性能在很大程度上取决于工作温度,且一些实施者担心共封装光学器件 (CPO) 的可维护性,因此,实施者开始考虑使用近封装光学器件 (NPO) 的替代实现方法,以缓解集成方面的挑战。
  • 带线性电气接口的可插拔光学器件:对降低总体功耗的追求促使 OIF 起草了适用于 C2M 通道的 112G 线性标准。在这种实现方法中,112G 线性 PHY 中存在的 DSP 会补偿光损伤。

适用于机架内连接的 LR 和 LR Max

CEI-112G-LR-PAM4 规定 112 Gb/s 芯片间 PAM4 电气接口,以使包括两个连接器在内的奈奎斯特频率损耗小于 28 dB。112G LR SerDes 有望与所有这些通道配合使用,并提供 1e-4 的 PHY 级 BER。协议层的前向纠错 (FEC) 有望将 BER 从 1e-4 提高到 1e-12 或 1e-15。

随着系统部署的进步,实施者开始考虑 112G SerDes 的 LR Max 方案,以增加系统设计的裕量。表 3 显示了 LR 通道中每个组件的典型值和最大值。

表 3:112G SerDes LR 和 LR Max 的新兴要求

使用 Megatron 材料、其中两个线卡都有 9 英寸迹线的正交通道可被视为典型的实施方式,然而,迹线长度、封装损耗和 PCB 材料选择会改变通道的损耗、插入损耗偏差 (ILD) 和反射。图 3 显示了各种通道的损耗情况。

图 3:HPC LR 通道的各种损耗情况

虽然目前没有适用于 LR Max 的标准,但值得注意的是,行业对额外裕量的需求引发了对 LR Max SerDes 架构的需求。接收器均衡方面的创新 DSP 技术 — 例如,LR Max 接收器中的 MLSD(如图 4 所示) — 以牺牲边际功率和延迟为代价提供了具有吸引力的实施方案。

图 4:具有 MLSD 的自适应 DSP,用于实现 LR Max 均衡

结语

HPC 数据中心的网络基础架构在不断发展,使得百亿亿次级计算成为现实 — 从 100G 提高到 200G/400G 和 800G。新型电光接口(例如共封装光学器件、近封装光学器件和带线性接口的可插拔光学器件)提供了多种选择来优化功耗、延迟和性能。新思科技提供集成的 112G 以太网 PHY IP,极短距离 (XSR)、XSR+、线性、超短距离 (VSR) 和 UCIe PHY 可以实现电气接口。适用于 LR 和 LR Max 通道的 Synopsys 112G 以太网 PHY 可满足机架内 DAC/ACC 链路的额外余量需求。

新思科技 IP 技术公告

深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

阅读更多

Implementation Options for 112G Ethernet PHY IP| Synopsys

With Frontier supercomputer topping the list of the world's fastest supercomputing systems in June 2022 and offering 1.1 ExaFlop Rmax at 21.1 MW power, exascale computing has entered its era. The latest HPC performance benchmarks have demonstrated that the throughput of HPC datacenters depends heavily on the networking fabric. In the Frontier cluster, close to 9 million CPU/GPU cores are connected by PCIe 4.0 physical layer through a 12.8 Tbps switch providing 100GbE over a 145 KM network.  Next generation HPC data centers are expected to implement 200G/400G/800G networks with interconnect upgrades using PCIe 5.0/6.0 along with 56G/112G Ethernet PHYs.

This article summarizes various implementation options that 112G Ethernet PHY offers with respect to reach, fabric architecture, power, and types of channels.

Interconnect Fabric, Ports and SerDes

With the deployment of HPC data centers for exascale computing, the interconnect fabric, ports and SerDes IP are now shifting to support much higher speeds. Figure 1 shows an iconographic representation of a two-rack network in an HPC datacenter with Top of Rack (ToR) switches connecting racks through an optical link. Within a rack, compute resources are connected through PCIe/CXL and a Data Processing Unit which is essentially a Network Interface Card with processing capabilities connects ToR switch to these cores through a Direct Attach Copper (DAC) or Active Copper Cables (ACC). 

Figure 1: HPC as a network of computing resources

Table 1 summarizes the present and future interconnect implementation options for HPC data centers. The early  deployments with four-lane (x4) or eight-lane (x8) form-factors, with 56G PHY led to 200G/400G ports. With a SerDes upgrade from 56G to 112G Ethernet PHY, the new rack unit design starts are expected to retain the choice of x4/x8 ports – doubling the port bandwidth  to 400G/800G. 

 

Operational

Early Deployment

Mainstream Deployment

CPU-Accelerator Fabric

PCIe 4.0

PCIe 5.0 /CXL 2.0

PCIe 6.0 /CXL 3.0

System Interconnect

100GbE with Four lane 25G PHY

  • 200G with four-lane 56G PHY
  • 400G with eight-lane 56G PHY
  • 400G with four-lane 112G PHY

 

  • 400G with four-lane 112G PHY
  • 800G with eight-lane 112G PHY
  • 800G with four-lane 224G PHY

 

ToR Switch

12.8T

25.6T

51.2 T

 

Table 1: Comparison of HPC Network Components and Interconnects

Retimer, Very Short Reach (VSR), and Long Reach (LR) PHYs

New 400G/800G optical module designs using the QSFP-DD form factor are targeting a challenging 14W power budget from the MSA ( multi-source agreement) standard. This creates the need for a power-optimized VSR-based electrical interface for optical DSP SoCs.  The 112G-VSR specification defines a 15dB channel for chip-to-module interface, whereas LR PHY is specifies a 28dB channel with two connectors. 

Compared to an LR specification, the lower channel loss target for VSR channels allows SerDes designers to offer better overall power efficiency with a dedicated architecture. 

Every additional Serilization /Deserialization in the data path not only adds power for data transmission but also requires additional power for system cooling. This forces system designers to explore implementational options with and without retimers by deploying modules with 112G VSR/LR PHYs. Figure 2 illustrates a representational implementation where longer switch-to-port links are enabled by deploying a retimer in-line with the VSR optical module. Alternatively, although an LR PHY consumes more power than a VSR PHY, additional Digital Signal Processing equalization in 112G LR PHY can potentially avoid the requirement for a retimer. 

Figure 2: Implementation choices with retimer and LR/VSR PHYs

Subscribe to the Synopsys IP Technical Bulletin

Includes in-depth technical articles, white papers, videos, upcoming webinars, product announcements and more.

Evolution of Electro-Optical Interface

Inter-ToR switch connectivity is invariably implemented through optical links whereas intra-rack links are implemented with pluggable modules and DAC, ACC. With 112G Ethernet PHY deployments, the industry is exploring multiple electrical interfaces to save overall SerDes + optical engine + retimer power. Table 2 summarizes emerging implementation options of next-generation electro-optical link. 

Table 2: Next generation electro optical links in HPC data centers

  • Co-Packaged Optics: Improvements in silicon photonics and packaging technology have made implementation of co-packaged optics viable with 25G and 100G lambda optical dies. Serial and parallel interfaces: 112G-XSR specification from OIF for Serial and the latest die-to-die standard from UCIe offer efficient electrical interconnect options between electrical and optical dies. 
  • Near Packaged Optics: As the performance of optical components significantly depends on the operating temperature and some implementers are concerned about serviceability with CPO, implementers are considering an alternative implementation approach with NPO to ease integration challenges.
  • Pluggable optics with linear electrical interface: The quest for saving overall power has guided OIF to draft a 112G-Linear standard for C2M channels. In this implementation, DSP present in 112G-Linear PHY compensates for optical impairments.

LR and LR Max for Within Rack Connectivity

CEI-112G-LR-PAM4 specifies a 112 Gb/s chip-to-chip PAM4 electrical interface for less than 28 dB loss at the Nyquist frequency, including two connectors. A 112G LR SerDes is expected to work with all these channels and provide the PHY level BER of 1e-4. The forward error correction (FEC) at the protocol layer is expected to improve the BER from 1e-4 to 1e-12 or 1e-15. 

As system deployments progress, implementers are considering LR Max option of 112G SerDes so that they have more margins in their system designs. Table 3 shows the typical and max values of each component in a LR channel.

Table 3: Emerging requirements of 112G SerDes LR and LR Max

An orthogonal channel with 9” trace of both line card with Megatron material may be considered a typical implementation, however, the trace length, package loss and PCB material choice, changes loss, Insertion Loss Deviation  (ILD ), and reflections of the channel. Figure 3 shows the loss profiles for various channels.

Figure 3: Varied loss profile of HPC LR channels

While there is currently no standard for LR Max, it is important to note that the industry’s need for additional margins is creating the need for an LR Max SerDes architecture. Innovative DSP techniques in receiver equalization such as MLSD (shown in figure 4) in the LR Max receiver provide attractive implementation options at the expense of marginal power and latency.

Figure 4: Adaptive DSP with MLSD for LR Max equalization

Conclusion

The networking infrastructure in HPC data centers is evolving to allow exascale computing, going from 100G to 200G/400 and 800G. New electro -optical interfaces such as co-packaged optics, near packaged optics and pluggable optics with linear interface provides multitude options to optimize power, latency and performance. Synopsys provides integrated 112G Ethernet PHY IP for extra short reach (XSR) and XSR+, Linear, very short reach (VSR), and UCIe PHY to implement the electrical interfaces. Synopsys 112G Ethernet PHY for LR and LR Max channels addresses the need for additional margin in intra rack DAC/ACC links.

Continue Reading