Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Optical Design Competition

Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Optical Design Competition

Announcing our 2023 Winners

Congratulations to:

Yi Zeng, California Institute of Technology 

Douglas Liu, California Polytechnic State University 

Danny Maas, California Polytechnic State University 

Brandon Okazaki, California Polytechnic State University 

Alfred Moore, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology 

Carolyn Hokin, Shriniketh Sreevatsan, Adam Wan, Yiran Xie, Mina Yoo, University of Arizona 

Andrew Klein, University of Central Florida 

Anteneh Tsegaye, University of North Carolina at Charlotte 

Ankur Desai, University of Rochester 

Yi-Ting (Sherry) Feng, University of Rochester 

Joanna Rosenbluth, University of Rochester 

Matthew Scibilia, University of Rochester 

Xinyan Wang, University of Rochester 

About the Competition

The Synopsys Optical Solutions Group invites you to participate in its Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Optical Design Competition, which recognizes excellence in optical design projects completed by students.

The competition honors the memory of Bob Hilbert (1941-2008), former President and Chief Executive Officer of ORA. Bob was a dynamic and respected leader who was actively involved in all aspects of ORA business, from shaping important CODE V and LightTools software features to supporting key optical design and engineering initiatives. Bob had served ORA since 1975, and was deeply committed throughout his career to fostering technical innovation in optics, enabling customer success, mentoring staff, and supporting optics education. He received B.S. and M.S. Degrees in Optics from the University of Rochester, was an SPIE Fellow, and held seven U.S. Patents in the field of optics.

To participate, students can enter an optical design class assignment or thesis work completed during the 2023-2024 academic year using any of our software tools: CODE V, LightTools, LucidShape, RSoft Photonic Device Tools, or Photonic Solutions. Awards totaling $20,000 will be granted. The entry deadline is June 14, 2024. Winners will be announced in August.

View the competition rules or frequently asked questions (FAQs).


To be eligible, you must:

  1. Be currently enrolled in a post-secondary degree program in North America, working toward a bachelor's, master's, or Ph.D.
  2. Your work must have been completed using CODE V, LightTools, LucidShape, RSoft Photonic Device Tools, or Photonic Solutions software, and demonstrate knowledge of optics, optical engineering, and optical design software.
  3. Have not won this competition in prior years.


All entries completed and turned in to your professor during the current school year are eligible.

Download the Entry Form

You can download a PDF version of our entry form that can be viewed, filled in, and printed using Acrobat Reader. If you don't have a copy of Acrobat Reader, go to the Adobe Web site, where you can download it for free.

For More Details

  • E-mail us at
  • Or contact your campus representative
  • Call us at 626-795-9101, Monday through Friday, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. PST

Present and Past Winners

Also for Students