利用高速接口 IP 避免云数据流量拥堵

涵盖从 XSR 到长距离的所有应用:利用高速接口 IP 避免云数据流量拥堵

新思科技战略营销经理 Scott Durrant

简介

流媒体、监视和监控数据、联网传感器、社交媒体、在线协作、远程学习、增强和虚拟现实、在线游戏……随着无穷无尽的在线应用不断涌现,在线数据量出现激增。预计在未来 10 年中,数据流量的年增长率将超过 400 倍(图 1)。这种数据流量的快速增长,将对数据接口 IP 提出更高要求,需要其在速度和延迟方面,尤其是云基础架构中都有显著改善。本文将解释在数据中心内、数据中心之间、服务器内以及 SoC 内等,加速数据传输和管理的技术发展。

图 1:2030 年之前的总体数据流量预测。来源:《人工智能对于电子和半导体行业的影响》,IBS,2020 年 4 月。

数据中心内部和数据中心之间的长距离数据移动

当今,大多数大型数据中心都使用 100Gbps 以太网基础架构,数据跨越长距离(例如,在机架和数据中心之间)进行传输。长距离传输架构通常需要使用 4 个 25 Gbps 或 28 Gbps NRZ SerDes 连接通道。然而,随着数据量的增长,需要速度更快的基础架构来维持数据传输。使用支持 PAM-4 编码的 56 Gbps 和 112 Gbps SerDes IP,在目前正在部署的超大规模数据中心中,可实现 400Gbps 的以太网连接,并在未来会实现高达 800Gbps 的连接速度(图 2)。 主要的以太网交换机供应商已经在开发基于 112G SerDes IP 的 800Gbps 交换机,计划在未来几年内推出 1.6Tbps 以太网(使用更快的新一代 SerDes),以满足数据量不断增长带来的需求。 

机架内服务器之间的数据通信,由顶层 (ToR) 交换机和网络接口卡 (NIC) 管理。过去几年,云数据中心在该级别最常用的接口速度为 25Gbps。但是,随着基础架构速度提高到 400Gbps,机架内的以太网速度也提高到了 100Gbps。

随着数据速率的提高,接口功耗(通常以“皮焦耳/位”为测量单位)和面积变得越来越重要。物理接口 (PHY) IP 具有明显的优势,可最大限度地减少能耗,同时在所需距离内可靠地提供数据,从而可最大限度地降低基础架构的功耗和散热成本。节省空间的硅 PHY 解决方案可最大限度地降低 SoC 成本,从而为 SoC 供应商提高盈利能力。 

图 2:超大规模数据中心基础架构逐渐转向采用 400+GbE

服务器内部的数据传输

所有数据到达服务器后,就需要利用高速接口,在服务器内部的设备之间高效移动这些数据。例如,当数据以 100Gbps 的速度到达 NIC 时,必须将其快速移动到存储器、系统内存,也可能移动到图形或 AI 加速器,以进行处理。PCI Express (PCIe)、Computer Express Link (CXL) 和类似协议在这一方面具有优势。为了应对流量的快速增长,PCI-SIG 于 2019 年发布了 PCIe 5.0,带宽比上一代产品翻倍,并力争在 2021 年发布 PCIe 6.0,再次使 PCIe 数据速率翻倍,达到 64 GT/s(每个 x16 卡的速率高达 128GB/s)(图 3)。

图 3:PCI Express 每个通道的带宽升级过程。来源:PCWorld

近来,由计算系统生成和处理的数据量(尤其是非结构化数据)持续增长,已促使了新架构的产生,新架构通常采用加速器来加快数据处理。将数据从一个处理器域复制到另一个处理器域是一个资源密集型过程,这会显著增加数据处理的延迟。缓存相干解决方案让处理器和加速器共享内存,而无需将数据从一个内存空间复制到另一个内存空间,从而节省了复制数据所需的内存资源和时间。

CXL 是一种缓存相干协议,利用 PCIe 的数据速率和 PCIe 物理层,使 CPU 和加速器能够访问彼此的内存。在多个设备都需要访问同一个数据集时,集成 CXL 协议可有效减少必须具有非相干协议的数据副本数,从而减少系统内所需的传输次数。减少数据副本数,有助于降低系统中大量已预留的内存和 IO 接口的负载。

与其他外设互连相比,用于高性能计算工作负载的 CXL 可显著降低延迟。由于 cxl.cache 和 cxl.mem 事务的延迟仅为 50-80 纳秒,因而在 PCIe 延迟中,CXL 延迟仅占一小部分。此外,CXL 通过使用资源共享提高性能并降低复杂性,这也降低了总体系统成本。

SoC 内的 USR/XSR 数据移动

许多现代服务器 SoC 利用在单个 package 内放置多个 Die,在符合设计和制造约束的范围内提供所需的性能。因此,需要高速 die-to-die (D2D) 通信以在芯片内的 Die 之间传递大型数据集。超短距离/极短距离 (USR/XSR) SerDes 可实现这一传递,当前设计使用 112Gbps SerDes,并且在未来几年内可能会达到更高的速度。

使用 D2D 接口技术的多芯片模块可处理多种用例。所有 D2D 用例都缩短了开发时间,并降低了开发和制造成本。有些情况使用多个异构 Die(即“小芯片”),它们利用可重复使用的功能组件,每个组件都使用最适合其特定功能的制造技术构建。其他情况通过创建大型高性能 SoC 着重提高灵活性,此类 SoC 使用更小的同质构建模块来提高良率和可扩展性。

图 4:举例展示 Die 间互连用例

总结

云数据的快速增长推动了对于更快、更高效接口的需求,以将云基础架构内的数据从网络和系统向下传输到芯片级数据通信中。新推出和正在开发的接口技术(包括 400Gbps 和更快的以太网、PCIe 6.0 和 CXL 外设互连技术,以及用于 Die 间通信的新型高速 SerDes)可实现必要的基础架构改善,以支持不断提高的云数据需求。

新思科技的 DesignWare® 高速 SerDes 和以太网 IP 支持实现新一代数据中心网络解决方案。DesignWare PCIe IP 是一种稳定成熟的技术,在 90% 的领先的半导体公司得到应用,为实现 DesignWare CXL IP 奠定了基础。DesignWare 112G USR/XSR SerDes IP 为多 Die SoC 提供低成本、节能的 die-to-die 接口。新思科技提供经过硅验证且品类齐全的 DesignWare 接口 IP 产品组合,同时提供开发高速、低功耗、高度可靠的 SoC 所需的设计和验证工具,以支持当今和未来云基础架构不断提高的数据移动需求。

From XSR to Long-Reach: Avoid Cloud Data Traffic Jams with High-Speed Interface IP

Scott Durrant, Strategic Marketing Manager, Synopsys

Introduction

Streaming media, monitoring and surveillance data, connected sensors, social media, online collaboration, remote learning, augmented and virtual reality, online gaming… the never-ending list of online applications has led to an explosion of online data. Annual data traffic is expected to increase by over 400x over the next 10 years (Figure 1). This rapid increase in data traffic will require significant improvements in speed and latency of data interface IP, especially in the cloud infrastructure. This article examines technology developments that will help accelerate and manage data movement within and between data centers, within servers, and within system-on-chip (SoC) packages.

Figure 1: Total Data Traffic Forecast through 2030. Source: "Impact of AI on Electronics and Semiconductor Industries", IBS, April 2020.

Long-reach Data Movement Within and Between Data Centers

Most of today’s large data centers use 100Gbps Ethernet infrastructure to move data over long distances (e.g., between racks and data centers). Long-reach infrastructures typically rely on 4 channels of 25 or 28 Gbps NRZ SerDes electrical connectivity. However, as data volume grows, higher speed infrastructure is needed to sustain data movement. Using 56 and 112 Gbps SerDes IP that supports PAM-4 encoding enables 400Gbps Ethernet connectivity in hyperscale data centers being deployed today, as well as speeds up to 800Gbps in the future (Figure 2).  Leading Ethernet switch vendors are already developing 800Gbps switches based on 112G SerDes IP, with plans to introduce 1.6Tbps Ethernet (using a faster, next-generation SerDes) within the next few years to meet the demands of increasing data volumes. 

Data communication between servers within a rack is managed by the Top-of-Rack (ToR) switch and network interface cards (NICs) within each server. The most common interface speed in cloud data centers at this level has been 25Gbps for the past few years. However, as infrastructure speeds increase to 400Gbps, Ethernet speed within the rack is increasing to 100Gbps.

With data rates increases, interface power (typically measured in picoJoules/bit) and area become increasingly important. Physical interface (PHY) IP that minimizes energy use while delivering data reliably across required distances has distinct advantages for minimizing the cost of infrastructure power and cooling capacity. Silicon area-efficient PHY solutions minimize SoC cost, which improves profitability for the SoC vendor. 

Figure 2: Hyperscale data center infrastructures are transitioning to 400+GbE

Data Movement Within Servers

Once all this data reaches the server, high-speed interfaces are needed to move it efficiently from device to device within the server. For example, as data arrives at the NIC at 100Gbps, it must quickly be moved to storage, system memory, or perhaps to a graphic or AI accelerator for processing. This is the realm of PCI Express (PCIe), Compute Express Link (CXL), and similar protocols. To handle the rapid increase of traffic, the PCI-SIG released PCIe 5.0 in 2019, doubling the bandwidth compared to the prior generation, and is targeting a 2021 release of PCIe 6.0, which will again double the PCIe data rate to 64 GT/s (up to 128GB/s for a x16 card) (Figure 3).

Figure 3: PCI Express bandwidth evolution, per lane. Source: PCWorld

Recent and continuing growth in the volume of data, especially unstructured data, generated and processed by compute systems has given rise to new architectures, often employing accelerators to facilitate data processing. Copying data from one processor domain to another is a resource-intensive process that can add significant latency to data processing. Cache coherent solutions allow processors and accelerators to share memory without the need to copy data from one memory space to the other, saving both memory resources and the time that would otherwise be required for the data to copy.

CXL is a cache-coherent protocol that leverages the data rate and physical layer of PCIe to enable CPUs and accelerators to access each other’s memory. Integrating the CXL protocol effectively reduces the number of data copies that must occur with non-coherent protocols when multiple devices need to access a single data set, thereby reducing the number transfers required within a system. Reducing the number of data copies helps to reduce load on the already heavily subscribed memory and IO interfaces in the system.

Targeted at high performance computational workloads, CXL significantly reduces latency compared to other peripheral interconnects. With latency of just 50-80ns for cxl.cache and cxl.mem transactions, CXL latency is only a fraction of PCIe latency. Furthermore, CXL improves performance and reduces complexity through the use of resource sharing, which can also lower overall system cost.

USR/XSR Data Movement Within SoCs

Many modern server SoCs utilize multiple die within a single package to deliver needed performance under design and manufacturing constraints. As a result, high-speed die-to-die (D2D) communication is needed to pass large data sets between die within a chip. Ultra Short Reach/Extra Short Reach (USR/XSR) SerDes make this possible, with current designs using 112Gbps SerDes and higher speeds likely to come within the next couple of years.

Multi-chip modules using D2D interface technology address multiple use cases. All D2D use cases reduce development time and development and manufacturing costs. Some use multiple heterogenous die, or “chiplets,” that take advantage of reusable functional components that are each built using a manufacturing technology optimal for their specific functionality. Other use cases focus on flexibility by creating a large, high-performance SoC that uses smaller homogenous building blocks for improved yield and scalability.

Figure 4: Example use cases for die-to-die interconnects

Summary

The rapid growth of cloud data is driving demand for faster and more efficient interfaces to move data within the cloud infrastructure from the network and system down to chip-level data communications. New and developing interface technologies, including 400Gbps and faster Ethernet, PCIe 6.0 and CXL peripheral interconnect technologies, and new high-speed SerDes for die-to-die communications enable the infrastructure enhancements required to support evolving cloud data needs.

DesignWare® High-Speed SerDes and Ethernet IP by Synopsys enable next generation data center networking solutions. DesignWare PCIe IP is used by 90% of leading semiconductor companies and is a stable and proven foundation for DesignWare CXL IP. DesignWare 112G USR/XSR SerDes IP provides a low-cost, energy efficient die-to-die interface for multi-die SoCs. Synopsys provides a complete portfolio of silicon-proven DesignWare interface IP and the design and validation tools necessary to develop high speed, low power, highly reliable SoCs that support the evolving data movement needs of today’s and tomorrow’s cloud infrastructure.