用于 5G 模拟前端的超高速数据转换器

Synopsys 产品营销经理 Manuel Mota

第五代蜂窝移动通信 (5G) 已经到来,这势必会带来几乎无限的数据吞吐量,以及具有颠覆性的新应用和用例(图 1)。事实证明,5G 前景将成为半导体行业持续实现技术创新的强大推动力。在通往 5G 全面部署和采用的道路上,已经显露出各种复杂难题的边角。为实现 5G 而必须大力发展的要素不止于模拟前端 (AFE) 和 RF 架构。本文讨论了第 3 代合作伙伴计划 (3GPP) 针对 5G 确定的主要技术要求以及 AFE 应当如何发展才能满足这些要求。

图 1:5G 如何满足各种使用场景的要求

5G 与前几代通信技术的不同之处

5G  与现有蜂窝通信协议存在显著区别。只有更加高效地使用更大量的 RF 频谱,才能实现承诺的每秒几十吉赫兹的吞吐量。

3GPP 采用了几种策略来实现 5G 所需的带宽量:

  • 重新调整 LTE 频段以用于 5G 并在可能时扩展这些频段
  • 在毫米波 (mmWave) 频段中使用先前未被充分利用的频谱
  • 共享使用无许可的频段
  • 载波聚合
  • 空间多样性(多输入多输出 (MIMO))
  • 波束形成和大规模 MIMO
  • 调制因子更高

5G 频谱分配

众所周知,频率越低在空气中受到的衰减就越低,并且穿透障碍物(如墙壁)的能力比较高的频率更强。LTE 频率范围(600 MHz 至 ~6 GHz)仍然是前几代蜂窝协议的良好折衷方案,因为它能够在建筑物内设置具有合理普及率和覆盖面的基站。然而,这个频谱很拥挤而且非常分散:LTE 频段很少包含超过几十兆赫的连续频谱,因此难以腾出 5G 所需的高带宽信道。

3GPP 已经为这些频段(也称为 FR1)定义了 100MHz 的最大信道带宽,并且实现了频段内和频段间载波聚合,以便为指定连接分配更宽的频谱。

此外,协调使用全球可用的相对较宽且无许可的频段(工业、科学和医学,或 ISM 无线电频段),例如已在 LTE 的后续版本中完成标准化的 5 GHz 频段,将会在 5G 中推行。预计还将为 5G 分配额外的 ~6 GHz 频段。

然而,只有利用拥挤程度较轻的毫米波 (mmWave) 频率范围才能实现带宽的增加。在 ~24 GHz 和 100 GHz 之间的频率范围内,有一部分频谱(宽度高达几千兆赫)正被考虑用于 5G(图 2)。

图 2:包含 FR1 和 FR2 频段的 5G 频谱

3GPP 已经为毫米波频段(也称为 FR2)定义了 400MHz 的最大信道带宽,并且实现了载波聚合,以便为指定连接分配后续扩展频谱。

毫米波因其高衰减性且不能跨越墙壁甚至人体等障碍物而难以传播。因此,必需执行网络密集化,部署包含多个小型、微型和超微型蜂窝式基站的 异构 网络基础架构,以弥补室内外较短距离的宏基站的不足。

此外,波束形成(具有大规模 MIMO 架构并且依赖人工智能 (AI) 实现更好的导引)用于将波束能量集中到通向用户的最佳路径上,避开障碍物并增加覆盖范围,同时支持多个用户共享同一频谱。

5G 通过支持 MIMO 天线阵列的空间多样性和提高调制指数(在第 16 版中对于上行链路和下行链路流的指数都高达 256 个正交幅度调制 (QAM)),更加高效地利用了分配的 RF 频谱。

5G 独立组网和非独立组网模式

面对部署 5G 网络的难题,3GPP 定义了非独立组网 (NSA) 操作模式,其中 5G 连接与 LTE 共存并且依靠 LTE 基础架构以控制路径。

在 NSA 模式下,LTE 基础架构为 5G 覆盖不足区域的连接提供了后备数据路径。这就降低了初始部署的风险,并且避免了调试大量新基站站点以实现合理的 5G 覆盖的需要,特别是在毫米波频段。

收发器架构

预计大多数 5G 部署最初会集中在 6 GHz 以下 (FR1) 频段,而在不久之后就会延伸向毫米波 FR2 频段。

大多数 5G FR1 频段都是经过重新调整的 LTE 频段。虽然这些频段相对于 LTE 而言显著增加了带宽,但仍能通过类似的 AFE 特性,利用类似的 RF 调制/解调架构。

超高速(以每秒千兆采样率 (GSPS) 运行)模数转换器 (ADC) 和具有高分辨率和低功耗的数模转换器 (DAC) 现在可以用于 SoC 集成。这些数据转换器支持毫米波频段中可用的信道带宽,并为 RF 架构的普及打开了大门,从而有望通过缩小输送到天线的数字/模拟信号落差,以降低 RF 电路的复杂性。

RF 调制/解调架构

传统的 RF 调制/解调架构基于两个概念:外差(或 IF)转换和零中频(或直接)转换。这些概念通过增加 RF 电路的复杂性来降低对 ADC 和 DAC 速度的要求。两种概念都依靠滤波相对较窄的频段,并将选定频段降低至适合低速数据转换器处理的频率。

外差/IF 转换架构

在外差(或 IF)转换架构中,相关频段用大幅带通滤波器分隔,然后再混合到合适的低频,以供 ADC [1] 采样。最终的复合或真实的向下转换和抽取则可在数字域中执行(图 3)。

谨慎执行频率映射可确保频段内不存在非线性和混合伪像,并在 射频收发机的不同模块有效滤除伪像。遗憾的是,由于滤波器需求众多,从复杂性和功率的角度来看,这种概念对于大多数应用而言都较为昂贵。 

[1] 为简单起见,所有示例均指接收/向下转换路径。但是发送/向上转换路径依靠的也是类似概念,只不过采用的是与之对称的方向而已。

图 3:外差(或 IF)转换架构框图

零中频/直接转换架构

另一种零中频(或直接)转换架构具有高效率和可靠性,因而在针对 LTE、WiFi 等的大多数现代无线通信系统中使用。在这种情况下,将适当滤波的相关频段向下正交混合到 DC 中。使用两个匹配的 ADC 将复杂的 IQ 信号转换为数字域(图 4)。这种架构放宽了 ADC 输入端的低通滤波器特性要求,但可能存在的镜像载波抑制可能会带来一些麻烦。这是由于 IQ 路径不平衡和本地振荡器 (LO) 频率注入以及带内杂散的存在引起的。

图 4:零中频(直接)转换架构框图

直接 RF 采样架构

数据转换器技术的最新发展为直接 RF 采样架构铺平了道路,该架构可以直接由 ADC 处理大范围 RF 频谱以进入数字域。(图 5)。这种架构可避免发生任何混频,因此消除了大多数频率映射问题。此类架构需要采用超高速宽带 ADC,由于信道选择是在数字域上执行的,并且在模拟域中实现增益的能力有限,所以会给系统增加 ADC 噪声,从而导致性能要求更加严格。

直接 RF 采样架构简化了 RF 电路并将大部分数据处理移至数字域,为通道选择过程提供了灵活性,并通过支持软件定义无线电 (SDR) 类型的实现保证其顺应未来趋势。

集成的低功耗数据转换器技术的进步使得直接 RF 采样架构非常适合在宏基站和用户设备上执行节省功耗和成本的 5G 实现。

图 5:直接 RF 采样架构框图

为什么必须配备 GSPS 数据转换器?

为 5G 通信采用超高速数据转换器的主要驱动因素是需要支持高达 100 MHz 甚至 400 MHz 的 RF 信道带宽。此外,如果能同时处理多个信道或跨越几百兆赫或千兆赫的完整 5G 频段,以减少 TX/RX 链的数量,并且可以在数字域中实现信道选择和载波聚合,就再好不过了。

数据转换器采样率

采样理论要求整个相关频段都要包含在相同的奈奎斯特区域内,该区域为避免产生混叠效应,只会占采样频率的一半。实际上,必须考虑合理的抗混叠滤波实现的裕量,所以可用频带还需减少一些(减少到奈奎斯特区域的 75% 到 80% 通常是可接受的)。

因此,理想的数据转换器采样速率是 1 到 3 GSPS 的量级。无论采用何种 RF 调制/解调架构,这一较高的采样率均可提高频率映射优化的灵活性并简化抗混叠滤波器的结构。

数据转换器性能

在 5G 应用的背景下,数据转换器的性能要求取决于所选 RF 调制/解调架构以及所实现信号的 QAM 调制深度和峰均功率比 (PAPR)。

外差和零中频架构假定信道选择是通过放大器和精确的带通或低通滤波器组成的信号链,在射频和模拟基带域中进行的。

这个信号链具备放宽数据转换器要求的优势:

  • 可以通过滤波器强力衰减带外阻塞,减少所需的回退,从而避免饱和。因此,可以将信号放大到更高的电平,不再浪费 ADC 动态范围。
  • 可通过模拟处理信号链中的增益,将 ADC 对系统噪声系数 (NF) 的贡献量(称为其输入)降至最低。

结果 ADC 对链条整体性能的相关影响应该很小。相反,在期望同等系统性能的条件下,ADC 性能可能不那么激进。

另一方面,直接 RF 采样架构对 ADC 性能的要求更高。这些架构删除了模拟域中的信道选择滤波(仍然实现了更简单的频带选择和抗混叠滤波)。结果,RF 频谱的较大部分出现在 ADC 的输入端,因此需要更高的回退以避免频谱中多余部分的大信号电平造成饱和。若要将 ADC 对 NF 链条的贡献保持在合理的水平,就必须将前端宽带低噪声放大器 (LNA) 保持高增益。

考虑到我们讨论的所有权衡,即使对于最高 QAM256 信号调制级别,12 位分辨率转换器也适用于上述任何架构。

5G AFE 要求

鉴于需要支持的天线和频段的数量,以及实现足够覆盖所需的大量设备,5G 收发器必须充分利用集成来降低功耗和成本。

集成的 5G AFE 支持多个发送和接收路径,甚至能够支持全部 MIMO 配置。在混合数字波束形成装置中支持 8x8 MIMO 的典型实现配置包含 8 个发送 DAC 和 8 个接收 ADC。此外,5G AFE 可能需要额外的 ADC 用于观察信道。图 6 显示了 AFE 实现示例。

图 6:示例:实现 4 个 TX 和 RX 路径和观察信道的 5G 模拟前端 

鉴于 AFE 处理的信号具有非常宽的带宽,因此必须将从封装到 ADC 和 DAC 的信号的整个模拟路径全都集成到 AFE 设计中。必须特别注意尽量减少封装、IO PAD 和 ESD 保护级别的寄生效应,以限制对 AFE 性能水平的影响。经过精心设计的 AFE IP 将完整的模拟信号路径和 ESD 保护装置集成到 IO PAD,并依靠正确端接来消除可能危害收发器操作的复杂信号反射。

为保证可测试性,AFE 应包含对内部块(包括模拟环回模式)的扩展控制和可见性访问,以促进实现批量测试的自动化。

总结

Synopsys 的数据转换器产品组合提供一体化 AFE 解决方案,包括:

  • 具有 12 位分辨率和高达 3 GSPS(IQ 模式)或 6 GSPS(交织模式)采样率的高性能 ADC
  • 具有 12 位分辨率和高达 4 GSPS 采样率的高性能 DAC,可实现不归零 (NRZ) 和混合工作模式,可在第二奈奎斯特频段上高效合成信号
  • 低抖动亚皮秒采样时钟 PLL

高性能 ADC

Synopsys 的 ADC 是一种低功耗交织式逐次逼近寄存器 (SAR) 架构,集成了自己的相关产品(无需外部元件)和自有高带宽高阻抗输入缓冲器、终端电阻,以及实现倒装芯片封装所需的 ESD 保护结构和 IO 凸点。

ADC 完全包含并实现了自有校准电路,可校准由于交织引起的频谱伪像。这种先进的校准算法不会对正在处理的信号的频率内容施加任何限制。

ADC 采用不同数量的交织通道进行部署,可在需要较低最大采样率的应用中实现最佳区域利用率。

高性能 DAC

Synopsys DAC 是一种电流导引架构,采用经过校准的 NMOS 电流源矩阵,支持 NRZ 和混合操作模式,从而在第一和第二奈奎斯特频段提供信号合成。它集成了自有校准电路和可选的电阻负载,以简化外部电路并减少 BOM。Synopsys DAC 包含用于实现倒装芯片的 ESD 保护结构和 IO 凸封装点。

封装和 PCB 设计

鉴于 AFE 驱动信号的宽带特性,必须注意确保通过封装或 PCB 的耦合不会降低信号质量,以免影响系统性能。封装基板和 PCB 设计应通过仿真验证。为此,Synopsys 在设计阶段为信号和电源完整性验证提供了特定的视图和模型,以确保整个系统的设计正确并具备预期的性能。

 

网站页面:数据转换器 IP 解决方案

Very High-Speed Data Converters for 5G Analog Front-End

Manuel Mota, Product Marketing Manager, Synopsys

The fifth generation of cellular mobile communications – 5G – has arrived, and promises virtually unlimited data throughput, game changing new applications and use cases (Figure 1). The 5G vision is proving to be a potent driver for continued technological innovations in the semiconductor industry. The different pieces of the complex puzzle leading to full deployment and adoption of 5G are starting to fall into place. The Analog Front-End (AFE) and the RF architectures are just some of the pieces that must significantly evolve to enable 5G. This article discusses the main technical requirements determined by the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) for 5G and how the AFE has evolved to meet such requirements.

Figure 1: How 5G meets the requirements of a wide range of use scenarios

How 5G Differs from Previous Generations

5G represents a significant departure from existing cellular communication protocols. The promised tens of gigabits per second throughput can only be achieved by making use of larger quantities of RF spectrum in a more efficient way.

3GPP has adopted several strategies to enable the amount of bandwidth necessary for 5G:

  • Repurpose LTE bands for 5G and expand these bands, when possible
  • The use of previously sub-utilized spectrum in the millimeter wave (mmWave) bands
  • Shared use of un-licensed bands
  • Carrier aggregation
  • Spatial diversity (multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO))
  • Beam forming and massive MIMO
  • Higher modulation factors

5G Spectrum Allocation

It is known that lower frequencies suffer lower attenuation over the air and have better ability to penetrate obstacles, like walls, than higher frequencies. The LTE frequency range (600 MHz up to ~6 GHz) continues to be a good compromise for previous generations of cellular protocols as it enables cells with reasonable reach and coverage inside buildings. However, this spectrum is crowded and very fragmented: LTE bands seldom contain contiguous spectrum in excess of few tens of MHz, making it challenging to free high-bandwidth channels required for 5G.

For these bands (otherwise known as FR1), 3GPP has defined a maximum channel bandwidth of 100 MHz and implements intra- and inter-band carrier aggregation to allocate broader spectrum to a given connection.

Additionally, the coordinated use of relatively wide and unlicensed bands (the industrial, scientific and medical, or ISM radio bands) available worldwide like the 5 GHz band, standardized in later releases of LTE, is carried out to 5G. It is also expected that additional bands at ~6 GHz will be allocated to 5G.

However, increases in bandwidth will only be achieved by taking advantage of the less crowded mmWave frequency range. At frequencies between ~24 GHz and 100 GHz, there are portions of spectrum, up to several GHz wide, that are being considered for 5G use (Figure 2).

Figure 2: The 5G spectrum, which includes FR1 and FR2 bands

For the mmWave bands (also called FR2), 3GPP has defined a maximum channel bandwidth of 400 MHz and implements carrier aggregation to further expand spectrum allocated to a given connection.

mmWave propagation is challenging due to the high attenuation and impossibility to cross obstacles such as walls or even people. This leads to the need to densify the network, with the deployment of a heterogeneous network infrastructure that includes a multitude of small, pico, and fento cells to supplement the shorter range macro cells both outdoors and indoors.

In addition, beam-forming (with massive MIMO architectures and relying on artificial intelligence (AI) for better steering) is used to focus beam energy on the best path to the user, avoiding obstacles, and increasing reach all while supporting multiple users sharing the same spectrum.

5G achieves a more efficient use of the allocated RF spectrum by supporting spatial diversity with MIMO antenna arrays and higher modulation indexes (up to 256 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) both for uplink and downlink streams in release 16).

5G Standalone and Non-Standalone Modes

Due to the challenges of deploying 5G networks, 3GPP has defined a non-standalone (NSA) mode of operation where the 5G connectivity coexists with LTE and relies on the LTE infrastructure for the control path.

In NSA mode, the LTE infrastructure provides a fall back data path for connectivity in areas where 5G coverage is insufficient. This reduces the risks of the initial deployment and avoids the need to commission a large number of new cell sites required to achieve reasonable 5G coverage, especially in the mmWave bands.

Transceiver Architecture

It is expected that most initial 5G deployments will focus on the sub-6 GHz (FR1) bands, with mmWave FR2 bands expected soon after.

5G FR1 frequency bands are mostly repurposed LTE bands. They can leverage similar RF modulation / demodulation architectures, relying on similar AFE characteristics, even if the channel bandwidth has significantly increased with respect to LTE.

Very high-speed (operating at multi-giga-samples per second (GSPS)) analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) and digital-to-analog converters (DACs) with high-resolution and low-power are now becoming available for SoC integration. Such data converters support the channel bandwidth available in mmWave bands and open the doors for the generalization of RF architectures that potentially reduce the complexity of the RF circuitry by moving the digital/analog divide closer to the antenna.

RF Modulation/Demodulation Architectures

Traditional RF modulation/demodulation architectures are based on two concepts: Heterodyne (or IF) conversion and Zero-IF (or direct) conversion. These concepts alleviate the requirements on the ADC and DAC speed by adding complexity to the RF circuitry. Both rely on filtering and bringing down the selected relatively narrow bands to a frequency suitable to be processed by a low-speed data converter.

Heterodyne / IF Conversion Architectures

In heterodyne (or IF) conversion architectures, the band of interest is isolated with steep band-pass filters and then mixed down to a suitable low frequency, where it can be sampled by an ADC[1]. Final complex, or real, down-conversion and decimation can be carried out in the digital domain (Figure 3).

Careful frequency mapping ensures that non-linear and mixing artifacts are out of band and effectively filtered out at different stages of the RF architecture. Unfortunately, due to the many filter requirements, this is costly from a complexity and power point of view, for most applications. 

[1] For simplicity, all the examples shown refer to the Receive / down convert path. However, the Transmit / up convert path relies on similar concepts, although in symmetrical direction.

Figure 3: Heterodyne (or IF) conversion architecture block diagram

Zero-IF / Direct Conversion Architectures

The alternative, Zero-IF (or direct) conversion architectures have been used in most modern wireless communication systems for LTE, WiFi, etc., due to their efficiency and reliability. In this case, the suitably filtered band of interest is mixed down to DC in quadrature. Two matching ADCs are used to convert complex IQ signals to the digital domain (Figure 4). Such architecture relaxes the low-pass filter characteristics at input of ADC, but some complications arise from potential limitations to image rejection due to IQ path imbalances and Local Oscillator (LO) frequency injection as well as the presence of in-band spurious.

Figure 4: Zero-IF (or direct) conversion architecture block diagram

Direct RF Sampling Architectures

Recent developments in the data converter technology are paving the way for direct RF sampling architectures that can process large swaths of RF spectrum directly by the ADC into the digital domain. (Figure 5). Such architectures avoid any mixing and therefore remove most of the frequency mapping issues. The architectures require very high-speed and broadband ADCs, and since channel selection is performed on the digital domain and the ability to implement gain in the analog domain is limited, they expose the ADC noise contribution to the system, leading to more stringent performance requirements.

By simplifying the RF circuitry and moving most of the data processing to the digital domain, direct RF sampling architectures gives flexibility to the channel selection process and future proof the system by supporting Software-Defined Radio (SDR) type of implementations.

Advances in integrated low-power data converter technology make the direct RF sampling architectures very promising for power- and cost-efficient 5G implementations, both at the macro cell and user device.

Figure 5: Direct RF sampling architecture block diagram

Why are GSPS Data Converters Required?

The main driver for the adoption of very high-speed data converters for 5G communications is the need to support RF channel bandwidth of up to 100 MHz or even 400 MHz. In addition, it is desirable to simultaneously process multiple channels or the complete 5G band, that spans up to several hundred MHz or GHz, to reduce the number of TX/RX chains and allow channel selection and carrier aggregation to be implemented in the digital domain.

Data Converters Sampling Rate

The sampling theory mandates that the complete frequency band of interest is contained in the same Nyquist region that spans half of the sampling frequency to avoid aliasing effects. Realistically, a margin for a reasonable anti-alias filtering implementation must be factored in, further reducing the usable band (75% to 80% of Nyquist region is usually acceptable).

Therefore, data converter sampling rates in the order of 1 to 3 GSPS are desired. The high maximum sampling rate enables higher flexibility for frequency mapping optimization and simpler anti-alias filters, regardless of the applied RF modulation/demodulation architecture.

Data Converters Performance

Data Converter performance requirements, in the context of 5G applications, is a function of the selected RF modulation/demodulation architecture and the depth of the QAM modulation and peak-to-average power ratio (PAPR) of the implemented signal.

Heterodyne and zero-IF architectures assume channel selection is carried out in the RF and analog baseband domains by a chain of amplifiers and accurate band-pass or low-pass filters.

This chain has the benefit of simplifying the requirements of the data converter:

  • The out of band blocker can be strongly attenuated by filtering, leading to a reduction of the required back off to avoid saturation. Therefore, it is possible to amplify the signal to a higher level so that the ADC dynamic range is not wasted.
  • The ADC’s contribution to the systems’ noise factor (NF), as referred to its input, is minimized by the gain in the analog processing chain.

The results relative impact of the ADC to the overall performance of the chain should be small. Conversely, for the same expected system performance, the ADC performance may be less aggressive.

On the other hand, direct-RF sampling architectures can be more demanding for the ADC performance. These architectures remove channel selection filtering from the analog domain (simpler band selection and anti-alias filtering are still implemented). As a result, larger sections of the RF spectrum are present at the input of ADC, ensuing the need for a higher back-off to avoid saturation coming from the higher signal levels in unwanted portions of the spectrum. To keep the ADC contribution to the NF of the chain at acceptable levels, the front-end broadband Low Noise Amplifier (LNA) gain must be kept high.

Given all the tradeoffs discussed, 12-bit resolution converters are adequate for any of these architectures, even for the highest QAM256 signal modulation level.

5G AFE Integration Requirements

Given the number of antennas and bands that need to be supported, as well as the huge number of devices needed to achieve adequate coverage, 5G transceivers must take full advantage of integration to reduce power dissipation and costs.

Integrated 5G AFEs support multiple transmit and receive path, up to the total MIMO configuration. A typical implementation that supports an 8x8 MIMO in a mixed digital beam forming arrangement includes 8 transmit DACs and 8 receive ADCs. In addition, 5G AFEs may require additional ADCs for the observation channel. Figure 6 shows an AFE implementation example.

Figure 6: Example of a 5G Analog front-end implementing 4 TX and RX paths and observation channel 

Given that the AFE processes signals that have very wide bands, the complete analog path of the signals from package to the ADC and DAC must be integrated into the AFE design. Special care must take place to minimize parasitics at package, IO pad, and ESD protection levels to limit the impacts on the AFE performance level. A well designed AFE IP integrates the complete analog signal path and ESD protections up to the IO pads and is properly terminated to eliminate difficult signal reflections that can jeopardize the operation of the transceiver.

For testability purposes the AFE should include extended control and visibility access to internal blocks, including analog loopback modes to facilitate automation of the production test.

Summary

Synopsys’ data converter portfolio offers an integrated AFE solution and includes:

  • High-performance ADCs with 12-bit resolution and sampling rate of up to 3 GSPS (IQ mode) or 6 GSPS (interleaving mode)
  • High-performance DACs with 12-bit resolution and sampling rate of up 4 GSPS implementing a non-return to zero (NRZ) and a mix operating mode for efficient synthesis of signals on the 2nd Nyquist band
  • Low jitter sub-picosecond sampling clock PLL

High-performance ADCs

Synopsys’ ADC is a low-power interleaved successive-approximation-register (SAR)-based architecture that integrates its own reference generation (no external components required) and its own high bandwidth, high impedance input buffer, termination resistors, ESD protection structures, and IO bumps for flip chip package implementations.

The ADC is fully contained and implements its own calibration circuitry to calibrate the spectral artifacts due to interleaving. This advanced calibration algorithm does not impose any limitation on the frequency content of the signals being processed.

The ADC is deployed with different number of interleaved lanes for optimal area usage in applications that require lower maximum sampling rate.

High-performance DACs

The Synopsys DAC is a current steering architecture implementing a calibrated NMOS current source matrix supporting NRZ and mix operating modes to deliver signal synthesis in the 1st and 2nd Nyquist bands. It integrates its own calibration circuitry and optional resistive loads to simplify the external circuitry and reduce BOM. The Synopsys DAC includes ESD protection structures and IO bumps for flip chip implementations.

Package and PCB Design

Given the very broadband nature of the signals being driven to and from the AFE, a lot of attention must be paid to ensure couplings through package or PCB do not degrade the signal, impacting system performance. Package substrate and PCB design should be validated through simulations. For this purpose, Synopsys delivers specific views and models for signal and power integrity validation during the design phase to ensure that the complete system is correctly designed and delivers the expected performance.

 

Web page: Data Converter IP Solutions