借助 OpenVX 可视化实现视觉应用优化

Synopsys 高级产品营销经理 Allen Watson

Percepio AB 首席执行官 Johan Kraft

如今,功能强大的视觉处理器可以实现出色的性能,但确保您的解决方案能够有效利用硬件,则要另当别论。实现系统运行时行为的可视化,就有助于加快开发、调试和验证速度。Percepio 开发的 Tracealyzer for OpenVX™  让您能够可视化 OpenVX 应用的执行,并确定哪些瓶颈经过优化能够产生显著效果。 Tracealyzer for OpenVX 适用于  Synopsys DesignWare® ARC® EV6x  嵌入式视觉处理器,同时采用了 ARC MetaWare EV 开发工具包中内置的追踪支持功能。

用于嵌入式视觉的 OpenVX

嵌入式视觉应用通常被写作 OpenVX 图形 (graph)。OpenVX 是加速计算机视觉应用的开放标准,拥有许多嵌入式和实时用例。其中包括面部、身体和手势跟踪,智能视频监控,高级驾驶员辅助系统 (ADAS),对象和场景重建,增强现实,目视检查和机器人等应用。

OpenVX 图形 (graph) 由一个或多个内核构成。每个内核执行一项视觉功能,内核可以是标准 OpenVX 内核、自定义提供的内核,也可以是用户定义的内核(图 1)。

图 1:OpenVX 图形 (graph)

例如,如果使用诸如 ARC EV6x 处理器之类的视觉处理器,内核就可以在一个或多个视觉 CPU 或 CNN 引擎上运行(图 2)。处理器基于 OpenVX 的运行时软件能够管理内核的执行并处理存储器的分配和使用。

图 2:EV6x 处理器上基于 OpenVX 的运行时

Tracealyzer for OpenVX

确保尽可能高效地使用处理器硬件可能极具挑战性。例如,OpenVX 图形节点的处理时间可能超过预期,且造成一个芯核过载,而其他芯核在大多数情况下仍处于空闲状态。或者,某种应用可能会耗费大量时间等待 DMA 传输完成。您可能还尝试了通过添加更多计算资源来提高性能,但性能增益却低于预期。为了解决此类问题,Percepio 开发了一款可视化解决方案 - Tracealyzer for OpenVX。

利用该解决方案,您可以确定哪些瓶颈经过优化能够产生显著效果。Tracealyzer for OpenVX 提供了各种图形视图,显示记录行为的各个方面,种类涵盖详细的追踪视图、高级概览和统计视图等多个种类。本文介绍采用 Tracealyzer 工具所呈现的各种视图。

追踪视图

追踪视图显示 OpenVX 图形执行的时间表,以便您详细研究调度、流水线和时序。追踪视图可以通过多种方式进行调整,并支持水平和垂直显示。

例如,我们使用的是 Tracealyzer for OpenVX 提供的演示追踪 (“demo_openvx.xml”)。这是从 OpenVX 演示应用中获得的记录,另外带有追踪视图中的屏幕截图(图 3)。

图 3:OpenVX 演示应用

您会看到运行时软件如何使用两个芯核调度图形 (graph)。芯核 0 读取输入帧并将其提供给 sobel3x3 节点。然后使用 magnitude 和 convert_depth 滤波器在芯核 1 上进一步处理结果。处理是“运行到完成的工作方式”,因此追踪中的每个矩形(片段)都是一个单独的作业,无需抢占运行。滤波器函数的短片段是前置条件检查,长片段则显示实际的滤波器处理内容。

magnitude 节点可能会在 sobel3x3 节点完成之前开始,因为此示例中的 OpenVX 实现将每个帧划分为几块。一旦完成,一个节点就可能输出多个块并逐个写入输出缓冲器中。因此,假设节点在不同的芯核上运行,那么下面的节点(例如 magnitude)不需要等待整帧完成,而是可以在第一块可用时立即开始。这样就能高效利用芯核进行流水线处理。

图 4:追踪视图

图 4 中的追踪视图由标记为“CPU 0”和“CPU 1”的字段组成。每种字段会显示不同类型的信息。OpenVX 节点在“调度”字段中显示,要么是每个 CPU 芯核占一个字段(左侧示例),要么就是所有节点都在一个字段中(右侧示例)。

CPU 负载图

如需概括了解 OpenVX 应用如何利用 CPU 芯核,请查看 CPU 负载图,该图在垂直模式下显示两次(每个芯核一次)并带有视图(图 5)。CPU 负载图可供您查看 CPU 芯核的总负载,以及负载随时间变化的方式和每个节点导致的负载有多少。

CPU 负载图也可用作概览,方便您从中发现异常。例如,“sobel3x3”节点中的两个峰值(以红色显示)利用率约为 80-90%。您可以通过双击 CPU 负载图,在追踪视图中显示相应的部分,用来查看导致这些峰值的原因。

图 5:CPU 负载图

Tracealyzer 中的所有视图都以类似的方式相互连接,从而便于从高级概览向下提取到详细追踪。彩色标记更容易识别 OpenVX 图形 (graph) 节点。在所有 Tracealyzer 视图中使用统一的颜色编码。也可以打开 CPU 负载图的多个实例,或查看整合在单个 CPU 负载图中的所有芯核。请注意,在这一模式下,CPU 负载逐渐累积,因此两个芯核的负载规模可高达 200%。

CPU 负载图通过将显示的时间窗口划分为多个固定大小的时间区间(默认为 50)执行工作,然后计算每个时间区间内每个节点使用的处理时间量。结果显示为堆叠直方图,其中 Y 轴显示每个时间区间内的相对利用率。由于 CPU 负载的概念始终是相对于某个时间窗口(与您使用的工具无关),因此放大或者缩小参考时间窗口可能会改变 CPU 负载图的量级。放大很多时,大多数时间区间就只包含一个节点,因此图形就会和追踪视图相似。

Actor 实例图

在图 6 中,我们添加了两个 Actor 实例图的实例,其中 Y 轴显示了图形节点的执行时间。这样您就能看到哪里的节点执行时间超过正常水平,并检查追踪视图以了解详情。请注意,“Actor”是 Tracealyzer 术语,表示“执行环境”,对应 OpenVX 中的节点。

图 6:Actor 实例图

除了执行时间之外,Actor 实例图还可以显示各种时序属性,包括分段和周期性。您可以更改“执行时间”下拉菜单中显示的属性。

Actor 统计报告

“Actor 统计报告”提供了追踪的统计摘要,包括针对时序属性(如执行时间)观察到的最高、最低和平均值。这份报告中的所有极端值都是链接形式,单击这些值即可查找追踪视图中的相应位置(图 7)。

图 7:Actor 统计报告

使用“Actor 统计报告”,您可以找到极值并查看系统中当时发生的情况。虽然报告没有记录所有细节,但您仍然可以调查导致这些值的原因,从而获得有价值的线索。例如,借助 Actor 实例图,您可以在追踪中找到其他执行时间较长的类似情况,并查看这些情况之间的关联性。也许执行时间较长只是出现在特定情况下,例如,在其他 CPU 芯核上的密集活动导致总线饱和。

请注意,您可以将统计信息报告导出并保存为格式化的 HTML 文件(如上所述)或标签文本文件(图 8)。标签文本文件方便将数据轻松导入到其他工具中,可通过选中“Actor 统计报告”对话框中的“数据导出”选项来完成。这使您可以对替代设计进行测量,并系统地比较最终的性能指标。例如,统计报告显示 IDLE0 占用 40.7% 的时间,表示芯核 0 的负载占用了 59.7%,而 IDLE1 仅占用 17% 的时间,表示芯核 1的负载占用了 83%。

图 8:标签文本文件格式的 Actor 统计报告

用户活动

Tracealyzer 可让您添加自己的用户活动,即从应用代码记录的自定义活动。用户事件可让您直观查看应用中的任何内容,例如诊断消息、变量值和状态。

图 9 显示的示例中,用户活动已记录在两个用户活动通道上,“MyVariable”显示整数变量的值,“MyState”显示状态名称。Tracealyzer 可以通过多种方式显示这样的用户活动。例如,作为追踪视图 (1) 中的活动标签和作为活动日志 (2) 中的条目显示。利用用户活动信号图 (3),能够绘制用户活动提供的数字数据。

此外,如果系统中有重要的状态变量,则可以在 Tracealyzer 中将该状态更改记录为用户活动并定义状态机,以查看追踪视图时间表 (4) 中的这些状态。还能以状态机图 (5) 的形式查看状态变化摘要。您甚至可以定义“自定义区间”,来了解每个状态花费的时间,或任何两项活动之间的时间统计信息。

图 9:用户活动

DesignWare EV6x 嵌入式视觉处理器和开发工具

上述示例用例基于 OpenVX 应用,该应用是利用 Synopsys DesignWare ARC MetaWare EV 开发工具包针对 ARC EV6x 处理器而开发。

EV6x 嵌入式视觉处理器集成了一个、两个或四个高性能视觉 CPU,每个 CPU 由一个 32 位标量芯核和一个 512 位矢量 DSP 组成。它们可以包含优化的卷积神经网络 (CNN) 引擎,用于快速准确的物体检测、分类和场景分割。这类处理器完全可编程和可配置,融合了软件解决方案的灵活性和专用硬件的高性能和低功耗等特点。

ARC MetaWare EV 开发工具包提供了一整套工具、运行时软件和库,可通过 EV6x 处理器系列开发嵌入式视觉应用和机器学习应用。该工具包含有 MetaWare 编译器和调试器、ARC nSIM 指令集仿真器 (ISS)、EV 运行时和库、CNN 软件开发套件 (CNN SDK) 和 EV Virtualizer 开发套件 (EV VDK)。

必须快速调试、验证和优化软件,才能高效地开发先进的嵌入式视觉和 AI 应用。Percepio 的 Tracealyzer for OpenVX 可视化工具使设计人员能够使用 Synopsys 的 ARC EV6x 处理器 观察其软件的运行时行为并优化其应用,从而实现最高性能,同时加快 ADAS 和无人驾驶汽车等实时视觉应用的开发周期。

 

 

观看视频 ,深入了解 Percepio 开发的 Tracealyzer for OpenVX。

深入了解 Percepio Tracealyzer

Visualizing OpenVX to Optimize Vision Applications

Allen Watson, Sr. Product Marketing Manager, Synopsys

Johan Kraft, CEO, Percepio AB

Today’s powerful vision processors allow for excellent performance, but making sure your solution makes efficient use of the hardware is another matter. The ability to visualize the runtime behavior of your system can help accelerate development, debugging, and validation. Percepio Tracealyzer for OpenVX™ allows you to visualize the execution of OpenVX applications and identify bottlenecks where optimization can make a big difference. Tracealyzer for OpenVX is available for Synopsys’ DesignWare® ARC® EV6x embedded vision processors, and leverages the built-in trace support in the ARC MetaWare EV Development Toolkit.

OpenVX for Embedded Vision

Embedded vision applications are typically written as OpenVX graphs. OpenVX is an open standard for the acceleration of computer vision applications and has many embedded and real-time use cases. This includes applications such as face, body, and gesture tracking, smart video surveillance, advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS), object and scene reconstruction, augmented reality, visual inspection, and robotics.

An OpenVX graph is constructed from one or more kernels. Each kernel performs a vision function and may be one of the standard OpenVX kernels, a custom supplied kernel, or a user-defined kernel (Figure 1).

Figure 1: An OpenVX Graph

For example, with a vision processor like the ARC EV6x processor, a kernel may run on one or more of the vision CPUs or on the CNN Engine (Figure 2). The processor’s OpenVX-based runtime software manages the execution of the kernels and handles memory allocation and use.

Figure 2: OpenVX-based runtime on EV6x processor

Tracealyzer for OpenVX

It can be a challenge to make sure the processor hardware is being used as efficiently as possible. For example, an OpenVX graph node may require more processing time than expected and overload one core, while the other cores remain mostly idle. Or, perhaps the application is spending a lot of time waiting for DMA transfers to complete. You may also have tried to improve performance by adding more compute resources, but the performance gain is less than expected. To address these types of issues, Percepio developed a version of their visualization solution, Tracealyzer, for OpenVX.

With this solution, you can identify bottlenecks where optimization can make a big difference. Tracealyzer for OpenVX provides a variety of graphical views showing different perspectives of the recorded behavior, ranging from a detailed trace view to high-level overviews and statistics. This article describes the different views available when using the Tracealyzer tool.

Trace View

The trace view displays a timeline of the OpenVX graph execution so that you can study the scheduling, pipelining, and timing in detail. The trace view can be adapted in many ways and supports both horizontal and vertical display.

As an example, we are using the demo trace provided with Tracealyzer for OpenVX (“demo_openvx.xml”). This has been recorded from an OpenVX demo application together with a screenshot from the trace view (Figure 3).

Figure 3: OpenVX Demo Application

You can see how the runtime software schedules the graph using two cores. Core 0 reads the input frames and feeds it to the sobel3x3 node. The result is then processed further on Core 1, using the magnitude and convert_depth filters. The processing is run-to-completion, so each rectangle (fragment) in the trace is a separate job that runs without preemptions. The short fragments of the filter functions are precondition checks, while the long fragments show the actual filter processing.

The magnitude node starts before the sobel3x3 node is completed, which is possible because the OpenVX implementation in this example divides each frame into tiles. One node may output multiple tiles that are written to the output buffer one by one, as soon as completed. Thus, the following node (e.g., magnitude) does not need to wait for a full frame, but can start as soon as the first tile is available, assuming the nodes run on different cores. This allows for a pipelined processing that utilizes the cores efficiently.

Figure 4: Trace View

The trace view is composed of fields, labeled “CPU 0” and “CPU 1” in Figure 4. Each type of fields displays different types of information. OpenVX nodes are shown in a “scheduling” field, either one field per CPU core (left example) or a single field for all nodes (right example).

CPU Load Graph

To get an overview of how your OpenVX application utilizes your CPU cores, look at the CPU load graph, shown twice (one for each core) together with the trace view in vertical mode (Figure 5). The CPU load graph allows you to see the overall load on your CPU cores, as well as how the load varies over time and the contribution of each node.

The CPU load graph also works as an overview where you can spot anomalies, for instance, the two spikes in the “sobel3x3” node (shown in red) where the utilization is around 80-90%. You can see what causes these spikes by double-clicking in the CPU load graph to show the corresponding section in the trace view.

Figure 5: CPU Load Graph

All views in Tracealyzer are interconnected in similar ways, which makes it easy to drill down from high-level overviews into the detailed trace. The colors make it easier to identify the OpenVX graph nodes. The same color coding is used across all Tracealyzer views. It is also possible to open multiple instances of the CPU load graph or view all cores combined in a single CPU load graph. Note that the CPU loads are accumulated in this mode, so with two cores the scale goes up to 200%.

The CPU load graph works by dividing the displayed time window into a number of fixed size time intervals, by default 50, and then calculates the amount of processing time used by each node within each time interval. The result is displayed as a stacked histogram, where the Y-axis shows the relative utilization within each time interval. Since the concept of CPU load is always relative to a certain time window (independent of what tool you use), zooming in or out may change the levels of the CPU load graph as the reference time window is changed. When zoomed in a lot, most time intervals will only contain a single node so the graph will be similar to the trace view.

Actor Instance Graph

In Figure 6, we added two instances of the Actor Instance Graph, where the Y-axis shows the execution times of the graph nodes. This way, you can see where nodes execute longer than normal and inspect the trace view to see the details. Note that “Actor” is a Tracealyzer term meaning “execution context”, corresponding to nodes in OpenVX.

Figure 6: Actor Instance Graph

In addition to execution time, the Actor Instance Graph can show various timing properties, including separation and periodicity. You can change the property that is displayed in the “Execution Time” dropdown menu.

Actor Statistics Report

The Actor Statistics Report gives a statistical summary of the trace, including the highest, lowest, and average values observed for timing properties such as execution time. All extreme values in this report are links and can be clicked on to find the corresponding location in the trace view (Figure 7).

Figure 7: Actor Statistics Report

With the Actor Statistics Report, you can find the extreme values and see what was going on in the system at that time. Although all details are not recorded you can still get valuable clues about what caused these values. For instance, using the Actor Instance Graph you can find other cases with similarly high execution time and check for correlations in the trace. Perhaps the high execution time only occurs under particular circumstances, e.g., due to intense activity on other CPU cores saturating the bus.

Note that you can export and save the statistics reports, either as formatted HTML files (like above) or as tabbed text files (Figure 8). The latter allows for easy data import into other tools and is done by checking the option “Data Export” in the Actor Statistics Report dialog. This allows you to run measurements on alternative designs and compare the resulting performance metrics systematically. For instance, the statistics report shows that IDLE0 is running 40.7% of the time, meaning that Core 0 is only 59.7% loaded, while IDLE1 only runs for 17% of the time, meaning that Core 1 is 83% loaded.

Figure 8: Actor Statistic report in tabbed text file format

User Events

Tracealyzer allows you to add your own user events, i.e., custom events logged from the application code. User events allows you to visualize just about anything in your application, like diagnostic messages, variable values, and states.

Figure 9 shows an example where user events have been logged on two user event channels, “MyVariable” showing values of an integer variable and “MyState” showing state names. Tracealyzer can display such user events in several ways, e.g., as event labels in the trace view (1) and as entries in the Event Log (2). The User Event Signal Plot (3) allows for plotting numerical data from user events.

Moreover, if you have important state variables in your system, you can log the state changes as user events and define a State Machine in Tracealyzer to see the states in the trace view timeline (4). You can also see a summary of the state changes as a state machine graph (5). You can even get statistics on the time spent in each state, or the time between any two events by defining a “custom interval”.

Figure 9: User Events

DesignWare EV6x Embedded Vision Processors and Development Tools

The example use case described is based on an OpenVX application developed using Synopsys’ DesignWare ARC MetaWare EV Development Toolkit for ARC EV6x processors.

The EV6x Embedded Vision Processors integrate one, two or four high-performance vision CPUs, each consisting of a 32-bit scalar core with a 512-bit vector DSP. They can include an optimized convolution neural network (CNN) engine for fast and accurate object detection, classification, and scene segmentation (Figure 10).  The processors are fully programmable and configurable and combine the flexibility of software solutions with the high performance and low power consumption of dedicated hardware.

The ARC MetaWare EV Development Toolkit provides a complete set of tools, runtime software and libraries that enable the development of embedded vision applications and machine learning applications with the EV6x Processor family. The toolkit consists of the MetaWare Compiler and Debugger, ARC nSIM Instruction Set Simulator (ISS), EV Runtime and libraries, CNN Software Development Kit (CNN SDK), and the EV Virtualizer Development Kit (EV VDK).

Efficient development of advanced embedded vision and AI applications requires the ability to rapidly debug, validate, and optimize software. Percepio’s Tracealyzer for OpenVX visualization tool enables designers using Synopsys’ ARC EV6x processors to observe the runtime behavior of their software and optimize their applications for maximum performance while accelerating development cycles for real-time vision applications such as ADAS and self-driving vehicles.

 

 

Watch the video to learn more about Percepio Tracealyzer for OpenVX.

Learn more about Percepio Tracealyzer.