什么是ASIL?ASIL D 又是什么?

定义 ASIL

ASIL 表示汽车安全性等级。这是 ISO 26262 标准针对道路车辆的功能安全性定义的风险分类系统。

该标准将功能安全定义为“不存在由电气电子系统故障行为相关的危害引起的不合理风险”。ASIL 根据对汽车部件的危害概率和承受度,确立符合 ISO 26262 标准的安全要求。

ISO 26262 确定了四种 ASIL — A、B、C 和 D。ASIL A 代表最低程度的汽车危害,ASIL D 则代表最高程度的汽车危险。

安全气囊、防抱死制动系统和动力转向系统必须达到 ASIL D 级,这是应用于安全保障的最严苛等级,因为其失效带来的风险最高。而安全等级范围的最低等级,如后灯等部件,仅需达到 ASIL A 级即可。大灯和刹车灯通常是 ASIL B 级,而巡航控制通常是 ASIL C 级。

ASIL 汽车安全性等级 以及ASIL D

ASIL 如何划分?

通过执行危害分析和风险评估确立 ASIL 等级。对于车辆中的每个电子部件,工程师测量三个特定变量:

  • 严重程度(对驾驶员和乘客造成的伤害类型)
  • 接触概率(车辆是否经常接触危害)
  • 可控性(驾驶员能够阻止伤害的程度)

每个变量都可以细分为几个子类。严重程度有四个等级,从“无伤害”(S0) 到“危及生命/致命伤”(S3)。接触概率有五个等级,涵盖“非常不可能”(E0) 到“极有可能”(E4)。可控性有四个等级,从“一般可控”(C0) 到“不可控”(C3)。

需分析并组合所有变量和子分类才能确定所需的 ASIL。例如,最高危害 (S3 + E4 + C3) 的组合将导致达到 ASIL D 等级。 

了解 ASIL B 和 ASIL D 就绪的DesignWare IP 如何加速汽车 SoC 的功能安全评估

下载手册

ASIL 面临哪些挑战?

确定 ASIL 等级需涉及许多变量,并要求工程师做出假设。例如,即使一个部件被假设为“不可控”(C3),并且在发生故障时也可能导致“危及生命/致命伤害”(S3),仍然可以被划分为 ASIL A 级(低风险),这只是因为其危害接触概率较低 (E1)。

ASIL 定义旨在提供信息而不是作出规定,因而留出了解释空间。留有巨大的空间。ASIL 词汇依赖副词界定(经常、很可能、可能、不太可能)。“经常”能够避免伤害是指 60% 还是 90% 的接触概率? 在大溪地接触黑冰的概率和在加拿大一样吗? 那么不同车流量如何影响呢? 在高峰时段的洛杉矶和上午在澳大利亚内陆的一段空旷道路上,情况会一样吗?

简而言之,ASIL 的等级划分取决于环境和具体解释。 

ASIL 如何发展而来?

鉴于确定 ASILS 涉及的不确定性, 美国汽车工程师学会 (SAE) 于 2015 年起草了 J2980,“ISO 26262 ASIL 危害分类的考虑因素”。这些指南为评估特定危害的接触概率、严重程度和可控性提供了更明确的指导。J2980 不断发展 - SAE 于 2018 年发布了修订版。

随着自动驾驶汽车的发展,ISO 26262 将需要重新审视目前属于人类驾驶员的“可控性”的定义。正如当前标准中的表述,没有人类驾驶员意味着可控性始终是 C3,这是“不可控”的极限。描述严重程度(伤害)和接触概率(概率)的其他变量,无疑也需要重新检查。

ASIL 的优点是什么?

ISO 26262 是一个面向目标的标准,完全关注“防止伤害”。尽管 ASIL 分类面临质疑的挑战,却旨在“防止损害”,并帮助我们在冗长且经常脱节的供应链中,让无数汽车零部件达到最高安全等级。

主要优势包括:

  • 制定安全要求以将风险降低到可接受的水平
  • 管理并跟踪安全要求
  • 确保最终产品遵循标准化安全程序 

新思科技怎样帮助您达到 ASIL 要求?

新思科技 DesignWare IP 产品组合采用安全套装,符合 ASIL B 和 ASIL D 就绪 ISO 26262 认证,专为安全攸关的应用而设计。我们经过 ASIL 认证的 IP 还可加速高级驾驶员辅助系统芯片 (ADAS芯片) 等应用的开发。

我们的安全套装包括故障模式影响和诊断分析 (FMEDA) 报告、安全手册和认证报告,用于加速安全评估并能帮您实现目标 ASIL。使用 DesignWare IP 还有助于降低供应链风险,并加速实现ADAS芯片级功能安全的整个进程(从需求规格界定到设计、实现、集成、验证、确认和配置)。

What is ASIL?

Definition

ASIL refers to Automotive Safety Integrity Level. It is a risk classification system defined by the ISO 26262 standard for the functional safety of road vehicles.

The standard defines functional safety as “the absence of unreasonable risk due to hazards caused by malfunctioning behavior of electrical or electronic systems.” ASILs establish safety requirements―based on the probability and acceptability of harm―for automotive components to be compliant with ISO 26262.

There are four ASILs identified by ISO 26262―A, B, C, and D. ASIL A represents the lowest degree and ASIL D represents the highest degree of automotive hazard.

Systems like airbags, anti-lock brakes, and power steering require an ASIL-D grade―the highest rigor applied to safety assurance―because the risks associated with their failure are the highest. On the other end of the safety spectrum, components like rear lights require only an ASIL-A grade. Head lights and brake lights generally would be ASIL-B while cruise control would generally be ASIL-C.

ASIL Classifications

How do ASILs work?

ASILs are established by performing hazard analysis and risk assessment. For each electronic component in a vehicle, engineers measure three specific variables:

  • Severity (the type of injuries to the driver and passengers)
  • Exposure (how often the vehicle is exposed to the hazard)
  • Controllability (how much the driver can do to prevent the injury)

Each of these variables is broken down into sub-classes. Severity has four classes ranging from “no injuries” (S0) to “life-threatening/fatal injuries” (S3). Exposure has five classes covering the “incredibly unlikely” (E0) to the “highly probable” (E4). Controllability has four classes ranging from “controllable in general” (C0) to “uncontrollable” (C3).

All variables and sub-classifications are analyzed and combined to determine the required ASIL. For example, a combination of the highest hazards (S3 + E4 + C3) would result in an ASIL D classification. 

Discover How ASIL B and D Ready DesignWare IP Accelerates Functional Safety Assessments for Automotive SoCs

Download the Brochure

What are the challenges of ASILs?

Determining an ASIL involves many variables and requires engineers to make assumptions. For example, even if a component is hypothetically “uncontrollable” (C3) and likely to cause “life-threatening/fatal injuries” (S3) if it malfunctions, it could still be classified as ASIL A (low risk) simply because there’s a low probability of exposure (E1) to the hazard.

ASIL definitions are informative rather than prescriptive, so they leave room for interpretation. A lot of room. ASIL vocabulary relies on adverbs (usually, likely, probably, unlikely). Does “usually” avoiding injury mean 60% of the time or 90% of the time? Is the probability of exposure to black ice the same in Tahiti as it is in Canada? And what about traffic density? Rush hour in Los Angeles vs. late morning on an empty stretch of road in the Australian Outback?

Simply put, ASIL classification depends on context and interpretation. 

How are ASILs evolving?

Given the guesswork involved in determining ASILS, the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) drafted J2980, “Considerations for ISO 26262 ASIL Hazard Classification” in 2015. These guidelines provide more explicit guidance for assessing Exposure, Severity, and Controllability for a given hazard. J2980 continues to evolve―the SAE published a revision in 2018.

With the evolution of the self-driving car, ISO 26262 will need to revisit the definition of “Controllability,” which currently pertains to the human driver. As the standard reads now, the absence of a human driver means that Controllability will always be C3, the extreme of “uncontrollable.” The other variables of Severity (injury) and Exposure (probability) will no doubt require re-examination as well.

What are the benefits of ASILs?

ISO 26262 is a goal-based standard that’s all about “preventing harm.” Despite their challenges, ASIL classifications are intended to “prevent harm” and help us achieve the highest safety rating possible for myriad automotive components across a long and often disjointed supply chain.

Key benefits include:

  • Establishing safety requirements to mitigate risks to acceptable levels
  • Managing and tracking safety requirements
  • Ensuring that standardized safety procedures have been followed in the final product 

How does Synopsys help you meet ASIL requirements?

The Synopsys DesignWare IP portfolio with safety packages is ASIL B and D ready, ISO 26262 certified, and designed for use in safety-critical applications. Our ASIL-certified IP also accelerates SoC development for applications like advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS).

Our safety packages consist of failure modes effects and diagnostics analysis (FMEDA) reports, safety manuals, and certification reports to accelerate safety assessments and help you reach your target ASILs. Using DesignWare IP also reduces supply chain risk and accelerates the entire process of achieving SoC-level functional safety (from requirements specification to design, implementation, integration, verification, validation, and configuration).