带Die-to-Die PHY IP 的系统级封装的量产测试

使用 Die-to-Die PHY IP 的系统级封装的量产测试

新思科技高级产品营销经理 Manuel Mota

简介

半导体行业面临的一个主要挑战是无法在量产阶段早期发现产品缺陷。将有缺陷的产品投放市场的代价(经济和声誉)将非常地巨大。对于设计面向超大规模数据中心、网络和 AI 应用的高性能计算片上系统 (SoC) 的开发者而言,尤其如此,因为任何产品缺陷都可能对 AI 研发的工作量或数据处理产生灾难性影响。

半导体行业已经开发了一系列测试方法,以提高量产测试的速度和覆盖范围。这些方法已经过标准化,可以在最终产品制造的不同阶段(从晶圆测试到芯片测试再到板级测试)使用通用的测试指标和接口,从而提高效率。

本文介绍了如何使用Die-to-Die PHY IP 对系统级封装 (SiP) 进行高效的量产测试,以确保最终产品没有缺陷,并保持尽可能高的量产良率。本文介绍了Die-to-Die PHY IP 内部测试功能如何扩展所有die 的测试范围。

SiP 测试的挑战

将多个裸die集成到一个封装,再次引起了人们的兴趣。促成这一趋势的因素有两个:一方面设计复杂性日益提高;另一方面 SoC 的尺寸太大,难以实现经济高效的单片集成,也不具备在技术和经济上更有意义的工艺节点下实现不同 SoC 功能的灵活性。

SiP 是在一个封装中集成多个die(或“chiplet”)的芯片。这些既可以是多个相同的chiplet,以提高系统性能;也可以是不同的chiplet,以经济高效的方式为系统带来更多功能。

通常,chiplet由不同的供应商生产之后,集成到同一封装中。如图 1 所示,现代的 2.5D 或 3D 封装技术以复杂的方式集成了多个die,利用(较为简单的)有机基板或(较为复杂的)硅中介层、硅桥和硅过孔 (TSV) 来输送die之间以及到封装外围的信号。

图 1:具有不同绕线功能的不同封装技术 

单个die、封装“结构”(中介层、TSV、bump)和封装组件可能会受到良率的限制。即使每个单独元件的良率都比较高,SiP 的总良率(所有不同元件的累积良率)也可能会非常低,如以下公式所示:

良率 SiP  = 良率 N Die x 良率封装 x 良率组件 

其中,N = 同一封装中集成的die数。

以一个带有 4 个 die 的 SiP 为例,每个die的良率均为 90%,良率为 100% 的封装和集成,其总 SiP 良率仅为 65% 左右。对于高级工艺节点中的大型die,个体良率为 80% 就很不错,但最终的 SiP 良率可能会非常低,约为 41%。基本上,一个die的缺陷会使整个 SiP 失效,即便其余三个die无缺陷。

为了提高良率,企业需要遵循两个原则:

  1. 确定并且仅在封装中集成已知合格die (known good dies, KGD)。这样,上例中的总 SiP 良率等于各个die的良率。
  2. 集成后,验证跨die的功能,以检测集成过程中的缺陷以及其他难以通过测试单个die来识别的缺陷(例如,在单个die测试期间可能无法检测到有缺陷的bump)。

通过在die层面和集成系统层面开展测试并修复功能,避开缺陷或以其他方式克服已发现的缺陷,还可以帮助提高良率。这样的测试和修复功能可以包括冗余或其他方案,并且对于大型的常规结构,例如存储器或跨die的非常宽的总线,特别有用。

鉴于 SiP 测试颇为复杂,并且die来源各不相同,在整个生态系统实现标准化的测试基础架构和方法,对于 SiP 和chiplet生态系统的成功至关重要。IEEE 和其他标准组织正在加紧为 3D 封装die制定新的测试架构标准。

SiP 测试架构

例如,最近发布的 IEEE 1838 为 SiP 产品定义了标准化的模块化测试访问架构,使系统设计人员和测试工程师能够高效地验证其产品,如图 2 所示。

图 2:IEEE 1838 测试访问架构,用于测试单个die、集成die和封装 SiP 

IEEE 1838 基于针对单片 SoC 的现有测试标准(例如 IEEE 1149.1、IEEE 1500 等),定义了一种测试架构,用于管理单个die和集成die的测试,仅需增加最少的测试电路,即可实现完整的die-to-die功能块的测试覆盖范围。

IEEE 定义了一个用于测试控制和低速测试数据访问的串行端口(基于 IEEE 1149.1),该端口在每个die中实现并且即使在最终集成后仍可访问;同时定义了一个可选的并行测试访问端口,但在集成后可能无法访问。这些端口减少为仅使用一组测试bump进行非集成die测试,或者无缝连接到另一个die中的相应端口,从而扩展了测试基础架构,以涵盖集成后的die内或die间测试。

此外,IEEE 定义了测试的层次结构,将工作划分为 KGD 的die内测试、封装后组件的die间测试,以及封装组件本身的die间测试,如图 2 所示。

在每个die内部,可以定义更多测试层次结构,按照既定方法来测试数字逻辑块、存储器块以及其他具有扫描链和内置自测 (BIST) 结构的模块。die之间的数字连接是基于边界扫描链进行测试的。

高速模拟块测试通常基于功能测试进行,但也可以通过添加与测试基础架构衔接的合适测试包装器,集成到测试管理层次结构中,如图 3 所示。

图 3:Chiplet内部的测试架构层次结构,包括用于在整个测试基础架构中集成高速模拟块测试功能的包装器

为了实现测试自动化并缩短测试时间,高速模拟块(例如高速 PHY IP)必须提供足够的测试覆盖范围。这在考虑高速die-to-die链路时,变得更具挑战性。对于此类情况,需要依靠高速 PHY 内置的测试基础架构,对包括两个die上的 PHY、关联的bump和封装链路在内的完整链路进行测试。

实现die间连接的高速 PHY 必须包括许多测试设计 (DFT) 功能:

  • 用于静态和快速检测数字电路中的故障(固定型、开路、传输/跳变缓慢)的扫描链
  • 内置自检 (BIST) 功能,尽可能地检测特定数字和模拟模块
  • 内部环回测试单个 PHY;这些环回可能很浅(覆盖数字电路),也可能很深(覆盖所有发射和接收信号路径,直至达到bump或尽可能接近bump,而不会避免对任务模式性能的影响)
  • 支持伪随机模式或特定模式的模式生成器和匹配器
  • 能够扫描参照位和相位以生成通过/失败眼图,确定设计裕度
  • 从一个die到下一个die的外部环回,将测试覆盖范围扩展到了bump和die-to-die走线,如图 4 所示。

图 4:实现内部和外部环回的die间 PHY

已知合格die的测试

强制性的初始步骤在 SiP 中进行集成之前执行,先确定有缺陷的芯片,以便仅集成 KGD,从而显著提高整体生产良率。

在封装之前,会对裸片进行 KGD 测试。对于符合 IEEE 1838 标准的die,使用标准的串行和并行测试访问端口,以通过一组精简的测试bump访问die的完整测试基础架构。

模拟块内的测试功能(例如高速 PHY IP)也通过符合 IEEE 1500 标准的包装器与die测试基础架构互连,从而也可以进行 PHY 测试。

根据die的内置测试功能和die中的各个块,可以实现很高的测试覆盖率,以确保正确识别 KGD。然而,即使在最好的测试覆盖场景中,也有一些项目不能在裸片层面上得到充分覆盖。例如,有缺陷的bump或敏感输出驱动器的最后一级,以及低噪声放大器的第一级,都无法获得高速 PHY 的深度环回覆盖。其他示例包括跨越两个die的功能,例如控制回路。

将覆盖范围扩展至此类缺失项以及die间连接,将在集成的 SiP 上于测试策略的后续步骤中执行。

假设两个die均符合 IEEE 1838 标准,则将die的测试基础架构无缝合并到同一个(“第一个”)die的测试端口处评估的单个结构中,并利用辅助测试端口扩展到下一个die。

现在可以启动测试,例如针对数字引脚的边界扫描 EXTEXT 以及针对高速 PHY 的跨die环回测试,将测试覆盖范围扩展到die的外围以及封装本身。

其他良率改善策略

值得注意的是,在某些特殊情况下,上述分层测试方法可能不足以将良率提高到所需水平。

请考虑在两个die之间设置较宽的并行接口:例如,在存储器和数字芯片之间设置高带宽存储器 (HBM),或在两个数字芯片之间设置高带宽互连 (HBI)/高级接口总线 (AIB)。这些接口可能有成千上万个使用微型bump的引脚,并在中介层设置非常密集的走线以连接这些引脚。在这种情况下,基板走线或微型bump的良率可能非常低,导致产生 KGD 损失。对于此类情况,可以采用一种补充的测试和修复策略,依靠每个 PHY 上的冗余引脚以及相应的冗余微型bump和走线,可以在最终产品集成后额外恢复更高的良率。

结语

市场需求不断增长,需要将多个die集成到同一封装中,以用于高性能计算应用和许多其他应用,对die(集成前和集成后)的测试成为实现预期良率的关键所在。基于标准的die测试基础架构,必须将测试覆盖范围扩展至裸片层面和集成 SiP 上。Die-to-Die 接口的功能同时涵盖了组成链路的两个die,因而在测试策略中起着重要作用。die-to-die PHY IP 必须包含一些测试功能,能够简化裸片级和集成后链路本身的测试,同时能够集成在芯片测试基础架构中。

新思科技为 USR/XSR 和 HBI 链路提供了一种 die-to-die PHY IP 产品组合。嵌入式误码率 (BER) 测试仪和无损二维眼图监控功能,为信道性能提供了片上可测性和可见性。新思科技借助先进 FinFET 工艺中的可用 IP 以及易于集成的所有必要分析和报告,为设计人员提供了必要的全面支持,以加速用于超大规模数据中心、网络和 AI 应用的高性能计算 SoC 设计。

Test of System-in-Package with Die-to-Die PHY IP | Synopsys

Production Test of System-in-Package with Die-to-Die PHY IP

Manuel Mota, Sr. Staff Product Marketing Manager, Synopsys

Introduction

A key challenge facing the semiconductor industry is its inability to catch product defects early in the production phase. The cost (economic and reputational) associated with deploying a defective product to market is very significant. This is especially true for high-performance computing system-on-chip (SoC) designers that are targeting hyperscale data center, networking, and AI applications, since any product defect can have catastrophic impact on AI workloads or data processing.

The semiconductor industry has developed an array of test methodologies to improve the speed and coverage of production tests. These methodologies have been standardized to improve efficiency by using common testing metrics and interfaces at different stages of the end-product manufacturing ‒ from wafer testing to chip testing to board-level testing.

This article describes how efficient production test of system-in-packages (SiPs) using die-to-die PHY IP can ensure the end-product is not defective and the production yield is kept as high as possible. The article describes how die-to-die PHY IP internal test features can extend the test coverage across all dies.

SiP Testing Challenges

There is renewed interest in integrating multiple dies into the same package. This trend is driven by two factors: growing complexity and SoCs that are becoming too big in size for cost-effective monolithic integration and flexibility advantages of implementing different SoC functions in the process node that makes more technical and economic sense.

A SiP is a chip that assembles several dies (or “chiplets”) in a single package. These can either be replicas of the same chiplet to enable increased system performance or different chiplets that cost-effectively bring more functionality to the system.

Often, the chiplets are from different vendors and are assembled together in the same package. As shown in Figure 1, modern 2.5D or 3D packaging technology assembles several dies in a complex way, making use of (simpler) organic substrates or (more complex) silicon interposers, silicon bridges, and through silicon vias (TSVs) to route the signals between the dies and to the package periphery.

Figure 1: Different packaging technologies with distinct routing features 

Individual dies, package “structures” (interposer, TSVs, bumps), and the package assembly can suffer from yield limitations. Even if the yield of each individual element is relatively high, the total SiP yield, which is the cumulative yield of all the different elements, can be prohibitively low, as seen in the following formula:

Yield SiP  = Yield NDie x Yield Package x Yield Assembly 

where N = number of dies assembled in the same package.

As an example, a SiP with 4 dies, each with a yield of 90%, and a package and assembly yield of 100% has a total SiP yield of only ~65%. For large dies in advanced process nodes, an individual yield of 80% may be good, but the resulting SiP yield may be prohibitively low at approximately 41%. Basically, a defect in one die invalidates the complete SiP, including the remaining three non-defective dies.

To improve yield, companies follow two directions:

  1. Identify and assemble only known good dies (KGD) in the package. In this case, the total SiP yield, in the above example, becomes equivalent to the single die yield.
  2. After assembly, validate functionality that spans across dies for detecting defects from the assembly process and other defects that may be too hard to identify by testing single dies (as an example, a defective bump may not be detected during single die testing).

Bypassing or otherwise overcoming identified defects can also help improve yield by implementing test and repair functionality at die level and at assembled system level. Such test and repair functionality can include redundancy or other schemes and is particularly useful for large, regular structures, such as memory or very wide busses across dies.

Given the complexity of SiP testing, with dies coming from different sources, standardizing test infrastructures and methodologies across the ecosystem is critical to the success of the SiP and chiplet ecosystem. The IEEE and other standards organizations are stepping up with new test architecture standards for 3D packaged dies.

SiP Testing Architecture

As an example, the recently published IEEE 1838 defines a standardized modular test access architecture for SiP products that enables system designers and test engineers to efficiently validate their products, as seen in Figure 2.

Figure 2: IEEE 1838 test access architecture for testing individual naked dies, assembled dies, and packaged SiP 

IEEE 1838 builds up on existing test standards for monolithic SoCs, such as IEEE 1149.1, IEEE 1500, and others to define a test architecture that manages isolated dies and assembled dies testing, achieving complete die and die-to-die functional blocks test coverage with only minimal additional test circuitry.

IEEE defines a serial port for test control and low-speed test data access (based in IEEE 1149.1), which is implemented in each die and is accessible even after the final assembly, and an optional parallel test access port that may not be accessible after assembly. These ports only use a reduced set of test bumps for non-assembled die testing or are seamlessly attached to the corresponding port in the other die, extending the test infrastructure to cover intra-die or inter-die testing after assembly.

In addition, IEEE defines a hierarchy of testing, dividing the effort between intra-die testing for KGDs, inter-die testing for post-package assembly, and for package assembly itself, as shown in Figure 2.

Inside each die, additional test hierarchy can be defined, following established methodologies to test digital logic blocks, memory blocks, and others with scan chains and built-in self-test (BIST) structures. Testing the digital connections between dies is based on boundary scan chains.

High-speed analog blocks testing is often based on functional testing, however, they can also integrate in the test management hierarchy by adding suitable test wrappers that interface with the test infrastructure, as shown in Figure 3.

Figure 3: Test architecture hierarchy inside the chiplet, including wrappers for integration of high-speed analog block test features in the overall test infrastructure

To enable test automation and reduce test time, the high-speed analog block, for example a high-speed PHY IP, must provide adequate test coverage. This becomes more challenging when considering high-speed die-to-die links. For these cases, the complete link including the PHYs on both dies, the associated bumps, and the package link, need to be tested, relying on the test infrastructure built into the high-speed PHY.

The high-speed PHY for die-to-die connectivity must include a number of design-for-test (DFT) functionality:

  • Scan chains for static and at-speed detection of faults (stuck at, opens, slow path/transition) in digital circuitry
  • Built-in self-test (BIST) functionality, when possible, for specific digital and analog blocks
  • Internal loopbacks to test the individual PHY; These loopbacks can be shallow (covering the digital circuitry) or deep (covering all of the transmit and receive signal path up to bump or as close to the bump as possible without avoiding mission mode performance impacts)
  • Pattern generators and matcher supporting pseudo-random patterns or specific patterns
  • Ability to scan reference and phase to generate pass/fail eye diagrams to determine design margins
  • External loopbacks from one die to the next extending test coverage to the bumps and the die-to-die trace, as shown in Figure 4.

Figure 4: Die-to-die PHY implementing internal and external loopbacks

Known Good Die Testing

A mandatory initial step is to identify defective dies before assembly in the SiP, so only KGDs are assembled, significantly improving the overall production yield.

KGD testing is performed on the naked die, prior to packaging. For an IEEE 1838 compliant die, a standard serial and parallel test access ports are used for access to the complete test infrastructure of the die via a reduced set of test bumps.

The test features within the analog blocks such as the high-speed PHY IP are also interconnected with the die test infrastructure by an IEEE 1500 compliant wrapper to also allow PHY testing.

Depending on the die’s built-in test capabilities and the individual blocks in the die, the test coverage can be very high, ensuring a KGD is correctly identified. However, even in the best test coverage scenarios, there are items that cannot be adequately covered at the naked die level. For example, faulty bumps or the last stages of sensitive output drivers and first stages of low-noise amplifiers that could not be included in the high-speed PHY’s deep loopback are not covered. Other examples include functions that straddle the two dies such as a control loop.

Extending coverage to such missing items, as well as to the inter-die connections is executed in the test strategy next steps that are performed on the assembled SiP.

Assuming both dies are IEEE 1838 compliant, the dies' test infrastructure is seamlessly merged into a single structure assessed at the test ports in a single (the “first”) die and extended to the next die via secondary test ports.

It is now possible to launch tests, such as boundary scan EXTEXT for digital pins and across die loopback tests for high-speed PHYs, extending the test coverage to the periphery of the dies and on the package itself.

Additional Yield Improvement Strategies

It is relevant to note, in some special cases, the hierarchical test methodology described above may not be enough to improve yield to the required levels.

Consider a wide parallel interface between two dies: for example, high-bandwidth memory (HBM) between memory and digital chip or high-bandwidth interconnect (HBI) / advanced interface bus (AIB) between two digital chips. These interfaces may have thousands of pins using micro-bumps and very dense traces on an interposer to connect between them. In this case, the substrate traces or micro-bumps yields may be low enough, resulting in the loss of KGDs. For these cases, a complementary test & repair strategy, relying on redundant pins on each PHY and the corresponding redundant micro-bumps and traces, enables additional yield recovery after final product assembly.

Conclusion

As market demand grows for integration of multiple dies into the same package targeting high-performance computing applications and many others, the testing of the dies (pre- and post-assembly) has become critical to achieving the required yield. A standard-based on-die test infrastructure must enable extended test coverage at the naked die level and assembled SiP. Die-to-die interfaces play an important role in the test strategy as their function straddles both dies that make up the link. The die-to-die PHY IP must include test functionality that simplifies its test at the naked die level and the link itself after assembly, while integrated in the chip test infrastructure.

Synopsys provides a portfolio of die-to-die PHY IP for USR/XSR and HBI links. The embedded bit error rate (BER) tester and non-destructive 2D eye monitor capability provides on-chip testability and visibility into channel performance. With available IP in advanced FinFET processes, along with all the necessary analysis and reports for easy integration, Synopsys gives designers the comprehensive support they need to accelerate high-performance computing SoC designs for hyperscale data center, networking, and AI applications.