什么是 SysMoore? – SysMoore 与 摩尔定律 | 新思科技
目录

定义

SysMoore 这一术语指的是先进的集成电路设计,它是摩尔定律的规模复杂性和超融合集成的系统复杂性的结合体。


什么是摩尔定律?

摩尔定律不是一个法定的规则,甚至不是科学意义上经过验证的理论(如 E = mc2)。它是 Gordon Moore 于 1965 年在 Fairchild Semiconductor 工作时观察到的现象:微芯片(1965 年的名称)上的晶体管数量每年都会增加一倍。

Moore 随后与他人共同创立了 Intel Corporation,同时他观察到的这一现象成为了半导体技术革命的推动力。由于这是基于对真实情况的观察,随着时间的推移,翻倍间隔的时间不断发生演变,最长为两年,然后下降到大约 18 个月。然而,摩尔定律的指数级增长一直在持续,这为半导体行业带来了数十年的重大发展机遇。

鉴于半导体制造的特性,采用先进的工艺实现目前的设计,将会生产出更密集的芯片,从而使成本得以降低。更小的晶体管尺寸带来了更低的功耗和更好的性能。所以,驾驭摩尔定律曲线,可获得明显的商业效益。很多公司都践行了这一定律,并且因此取得了巨大的成功。

Gordon Moore 肖像(1965 年)

摩尔定律在如何变化?

在过去十年左右的时间里,半导体工艺技术变得极为复杂。如今,晶体管发展成有违直觉的三维结构器件。极小功能尺寸的先进工艺技术,需要多重曝光工艺(多重图形工艺)才能在硅晶片上准确再现这些功能。这大大增加了设计过程的复杂性。

所有这些复杂性从根本上“减缓”了摩尔定律的发展速度。虽然迁移到新工艺节点仍不失为一种选择,但这种方式的操作极为复杂、成本极为高昂,从而导致迁移速度变缓。此外,现如今的每个新工艺节点,在密度、性能和功耗降低方面,均未表现出显著改善。半导体工艺技术的演进逐渐接近摩尔极限,而这正在减缓摩尔定律的指数级效益。

为何超融合设计需要“全有”原则

阅读博客


接下来会发生什么?

半导体和电子设计自动化 (EDA) 行业充满创新和创造力。推动持续创新和发展所需的指数级技术曲线不可能停止,也不会停止。

在摩尔定律放缓的新环境下,此行业正在以其他方式进行创新。比如在架构方面进行创新(如采用并行算法和新计算方法),这些通常由人工智能 (AI) 技术予以辅助。

在硬件层面也发生了一些重大变化。大型单芯片设计方法开始被多片硅取代,每片硅都有特定的用途,并使用非常密集的新集成技术集成在一个封装中。

这种集成技术称为 2.5D 或 3D 设计。它为构建复杂片上系统 (SoC) 设计的新方法奠定了基础。与在大型单片芯片中包含系统不同,现在采用一系列小型芯片(包括小芯片和密集的内存堆栈)包含系统,而且所有这些器件都集成在一个复杂的封装中,从而形成系统级封装 (SiP) 设计。


SysMoore 简介

多年来,得益于著名的摩尔定律得出的趋势,规模复杂性推动了半导体行业的技术发展呈指数级增长。当单个芯片的规模化能力开始放缓时,该行业找到了其他创新方法来维持这种指数级增长。这些新方法探究了整个系统的要求,其目的是要在系统层面实现整合。

这种全新的设计趋势受系统复杂性的驱动,旨在通过其他方式维持技术发展的指数级增长。从某些方面来讲,这种新设计方法被称为“超摩尔”。这一词语主要指 2.5D 和 3D 集成技术。

然而,新设计方法所要实现的整个格局更为宏大,同时也提供了可为行业带来更深远影响的诸多机遇。在 2021 年全球新思科技用户大会 (SNUG World) 上,新思科技董事长兼联席首席执行官 Aart de Geus 发表了主题演讲。在他的演讲中,据 Aart de Geus 先生的观察发现,摩尔定律正在逐步融入由系统复杂性产生的全新创新。他创造了 SysMoore 一词,简洁地描述了这种全新的设计模式。

下面大概介绍一下这些趋势和出现的这一新词。在可预见的未来,SysMoore 时代将推动半导体创新。但各种亟待解决的设计挑战也必定会随之而来。

SysMoore 与摩尔定律趋势 | 新思科技

新思科技对 SysMoore 时代的响应

SysMoore 时代会对设计有着极大的需求。在一个复杂的封装中融合多种技术,需要对整个系统进行整体分析。在 SysMoore 时代,以往用于独立分析系统每个部分的方法,将不再奏效。而是需要超融合设计流程,这一流程集成了优化的技术,可对整个系统进行统一分析。

新思科技会提供更多的集成产品,以应对 SysMoore 时代超融合设计所带来的挑战。包括:

继续阅读

解决方案
电子设计自动化解决方案

先进硅芯片可为我们每天依赖的非凡软件提供强力支持。

博客
EDA 工具和 IP 如何协助达成汽车功能安全合规性
文章
尽管芯片短缺,芯片创新却如火如荼
博客
2021 年芯片设计关键功耗预测
相关术语
什么是电子设计自动化?

了解更多关于 EDA 的信息,包括其工作原理及其益处。

博客
为什么超融合芯片设计需要采用新方法进行电路仿真

SysMoore - 常见问题 (FAQ) | 新思科技

Table of Contents

Definition

SysMoore is a descriptive term for state-of-the-art integrated circuit design, which combines the scale complexity of Moore’s law with the systemic complexity of hyper-convergent integration.


What is Moore’s Law?

Moore’s law isn’t really a law in the legal sense or even a proven theory in the scientific sense (such as E=MC2). Rather, it was an observation by Gordon Moore in 1965 while he was working at Fairchild Semiconductor: the number of transistors on a microchip (as they were called in 1965) doubled about every year.

Moore went on to co-found Intel Corporation and his observation became the driving force behind the semiconductor technology revolution. Over time, since this was based on observations of real events, the doubling interval evolved, up to two years and then down to about 18 months. However, the exponential nature of Moore’s law continued, creating decades of significant opportunity for the semiconductor industry.

Due to the nature of semiconductor manufacturing, moving an existing design to the newest process would yield a denser chip, which reduced cost. It also delivered lower power consumption and higher performance thanks to the smaller transistors. So, riding the Moore’s law curve had significant commercial benefits. Many companies did that and became very successful.

Gordon Moore Headshot (1965)

How is Moore’s Law Changing?

Over the past decade or so, semiconductor process technology has become very complex. Transistors are now three-dimensional devices that exhibit counter-intuitive behaviors. The extremely small feature size of advanced process technologies has required multiple exposures (multi-patterning) to accurately reproduce these features on a silicon wafer. This has added substantial complexity to the design process.

All this complexity has essentially “slowed down” Moore’s law. Moving to a new process node is still an option, but the extreme complexity and cost of doing so has slowed the pace of migration. Furthermore, each new process node is now delivering less dramatic results in terms of density, performance, and power reduction.  The evolution of semiconductor process technology is reaching molecular limits, and this is slowing the exponential benefits of Moore’s law.

Why Hyper-Convergent Designs Demand an All or Nothing Approach

Read the Blog


What Happens Next?

The semiconductor and electronic design automation (EDA) industries are full of innovation and creativity. The exponential technology curve needed to fuel continued innovation and growth cannot and will not be stopped.

In this new setting of a slowing Moore’s law, the industry is now innovating in other ways. Examples include new architectures such as parallel algorithms and new approaches to computation, often assisted by artificial intelligence (AI) techniques.

At the hardware level, something fundamental is happening as well. The huge, single-chip approach to design is starting to be replaced with multiple pieces of silicon, each with a specific purpose and all integrated in one package using new and very dense integration techniques.

This integration technique is referred to as 2.5D or 3D design. It forms the basis for a new way to build complex system-on-chip, or SoC, designs. Rather than one large, monolithic chip containing the system, a collection of smaller chips, including chiplets and dense memory stacks, now contain the system and all of these devices are integrated into one sophisticated package, giving rise to system-in-package, or SiP, design.


Introducing SysMoore

For many years, scale complexity drove the semiconductor industry’s exponential technology growth, thanks to trends made famous by Moore’s law.  When the ability to scale a single chip began to slow, the industry found other methods of innovation to maintain this exponential growth. These new methods examined the requirements of the complete system with the goal of integration at this level.

This new design trend is driven by systemic complexity and it aims to maintain exponential technology growth through other means. Some aspects of this new approach to design have been dubbed “more than Moore.” This term refers primarily to 2.5D and 3D integration techniques.

The complete landscape is far bigger and presents the opportunity for higher impact, however. At the 2021 worldwide Synopsys Users Group, called SNUG World, the chairman and co-CEO of Synopsys, Aart de Geus, presented a keynote address. In his presentation, Mr. de Geus observed that Moore’s law is now blending with new innovations that leverage systemic complexity. He coined the term SysMoore as a shorthand way to describe this new design paradigm.

These trends and resultant terminology are summarized below. The SysMoore era will fuel semiconductor innovation for the foreseeable future. With it comes a wide range of design challenges that must be addressed.

SysMoore vs. Moore's Law Trend | Synopsys

The Synopsys Response to the SysMoore Era

The demands of design in the SysMoore era are substantial. The convergence of multiple technologies in one sophisticated package requires a holistic analysis of the entire system. Previous methods that analyze each part of the system independently simply will not work in the SysMoore era. What is required is a hyper-convergent design flow that integrates best-in-class technology to deliver a unified analysis of the entire system.

Synopsys offers a growing set of integrated products that address the challenges of hyper-convergent design in the SysMoore era. Examples include:

Continue Reading

Solutions
Electronic Design Automation Solutions

Advanced silicon chips power the amazing software we rely on every day.

Blog
How EDA Tools and IP Support Automotive Functional Safety Compliance
Article
Despite Chip Shortage, Chip Innovation Is Booming
Blog
Key Power Predictions for Chip Design in 2021
Related Term
What is Electronic Design Automation?

Learn more about EDA, including how it works and its benefits.

Blog
Why Hyper-Convergent Chip Designs Call for a New Approach to Circuit Simulation

SysMoore - Frequently Asked Questions(FAQ) | Synopsys