人工智能 SoC 的坚实基础

Synopsys 技术营销经理 Yudhan Rajoo

随着使用机器学习的应用逐渐兴起,现在业内都非常注意修改计算架构,以提高神经网络处理的吞吐量。FinFET 时代的到来促使产品架构师和片上系统 (SoC) 工程师更仔细地研究每个时钟周期中执行的计算的效率。各家企业竞相提供精良的神经网络架构的热度逐渐提升,但在芯片上执行这些复杂功能时,硅片上的温度也随之升高。SoC 设计人员面临的难题是新的计算模块正在吞噬原本已经很低的功耗预算。此外,由于 RTL 代码的性质不断变化,不断发展的架构使得交付进度更为紧张。面临功耗和上市时间的挑战,开发出适合相同芯片面积并在任务模式下按照预期吞吐量水平发挥性能的全芯片布局绝非易事。设计人员需要使用构成计算电路的构建模块,在元件层面解决实现高性能人工智能 (AI) SoC 的功耗、性能和面积 (PPA) 目标的问题。布尔逻辑和存储器存储元件构成的这些元件块被称为基础 IP。

深度学习计算的复杂性

目前最流行的深度学习技术是卷积神经网络 (CNN)。CNN 采用未压缩的数据帧(例如具有高度“h”、宽度“w”和深度“d”的图像),并使用二维滤波器对图像进行卷积,创建一个值矩阵,随后使其通过充分连接的分类网络进行推理。卷积运算本质上是乘积累加 (MAC) 计算,可以用图 1 所示的等式表示。

图 1:CNN 的卷积运算等式和运用

过去,MAC 计算遇到的问题借助早期用于机器学习的传统 DSP 和 GPU 得到部分解决,但业界很快意识到这些架构需要经过专门的改进才能有效地达成性能、功耗和面积之间的微妙平衡。对于 CNN 函数,一些矢量 DSP 可为卷积提高面积效率,但缺乏必要的速度和功耗效率。GPU 的吞吐量效率很高,但是光影芯核数量的增加会消耗大量的芯片面积和功耗。最近出现了一些采用 FPGA 获得成功的案例,但此类应用仅限于芯片面积要求不太严格的数据中心。专用的 CNN 引擎(例如 DesignWare® 嵌入式视觉处理器中的引擎)通过定制逻辑解决了这一困境,该逻辑可在小面积和低功耗预算范围内,每周期执行多达 3520 项 MAC。

CNN 引擎实现面临的挑战

CNN 引擎(神经网络处理器)是一种新型怪兽,只有经受住战斗考验的勇士才能将其降服。在实现这些模块时,如果选了错误的方式,就可能给项目进度带来大麻烦。 因此,利用能够在设计周期内为过程校正提供灵活性的基础 IP 开展设计是成功推出产品的必要之举。

布局迭代

机器学习模块的物理设计实现通常需要布局迭代来确定在给定芯片面积下的最佳布局和逻辑层次。迭代可能需要对芯核面积和宏本身的高宽比加以修改,以便可以将较慢的宏靠近逻辑层次结构放置。为了解决这种迭代运转问题,出于时序和高宽比的权衡考虑,必须在编译器中进行各种比例的存储器分割。反过来,逻辑层次结构的相对位置受绕线路径资源(可用于将这些层次结构组装到给定空间)的影响。虽然顶层设计人员已经为模块定义了顶层绕线的限制条件,但是针对特定逻辑库调节电源接地 (PG) 网格也可以优化芯核密度。缺乏启动 PG 网格设计的方法可能会导致实现工作延迟。

MAC 拥塞

解决了宏模块之后,接下来的挑战就是管理逻辑区域中的布局和布线拥塞问题,同时调整每 MHz 功耗目标的设计。MAC 模块的引脚密度高于常规且网络连接密集,导致绕线资源拥塞,因而“声名狼藉”。表示为原理图时,MAC 模块在数据通过时具有自然的三角形形状,这就是为什么最理想的结果通常都是通过手动放置数据路径元素来实现的。EDA 工具在弥合 MAC 模块的完全自定义布局与算法衍生的单个单元布局之间的差距方面取得了良好进展,这些布局也设定了几何尺寸缩小后的工艺设计规则。但是,某些 EDA 工具需要兼容的标准单元结构才能完成解决方案。无论是手工放置元件块还是依靠工具放置,都需要更大且具有不同电路拓扑和尺寸的多路加法器、多路复用器、压缩器和顺序单元。

实现 PPA 的时间差异化

设计期限很长,而流片期限却很短。设计周期的压缩导致没有时间在先进工艺节点逐渐增加设计团队。整合完成了硅设计的成熟 IP,以及从一开始就能开始实施工艺的工具流程,是在竞争激烈的市场中获胜的“必备方案”。随着节点的不断缩小,芯片代工厂用于人工智能 SoC 的选项变得非常有限。更加有限的是代工厂提供的逻辑库和存储器设计套件中的选项。这引出了一个问题:使用代工厂默认设计套件的 PPA 设计如何在市场中脱颖而出? 要想推动 PPA 超越常见的优化策略和基础实现工具包达到的极限,关键在于采用真正独特的 IP 解决方案。

攻克挑战

选对构建模块就成功了一半

在实现 PPA 和人工智能 SoC 上市时间目标的道路上,设计工程师们遇到了重重障碍,必须作出争分夺秒的决策。针对逻辑库和存储器编译器的解决方案可以帮助设计人员着手应对实现 CNN 引擎以及采用 AI 技术的 SoC 带来的挑战。例如,如果采用标准工具算法不足以攻克实现难题,那就务必要具备多个利用 EDA 工具优化功能并提供手动干预灵活性的逻辑单元选项。Synopsys 的基础 IP 产品组合中包括 HPC 设计套件。该套件是逻辑库单元和存储器的集合,已在先进节点上与 EDA 工具共同经过优化,旨在突破任何设计的 PPA 极限,并针对支持 AI 的设计进行了优化。Synopsys 除了供应种类丰富且经过硅验证的产品组合用于实现理想 PPA 目标之外,还支持满足个性化设计需求的定制服务,使其业务比任何其他产品更灵活(图 2)。

图 2:差异化逻辑库 IP 的要求和优点

设计流程快速入门

使用 EDA 供应商提供的基础 IP 解决方案最重要的优势在于互操作性。这意味着设计人员可以使用 IP 附带的脚本在最尖端的工艺节点上进行工作渠道清理流程,并且不会浪费增效时间。设计人员使用 EDA 供应商的基础 IP 时,也可以使用经过严格测试电源地网格布线。电源地网格布线能让设计人员提早开始设计探索、利用标准单元架构中的特殊规定,并利用额外的路由路径资源获取信号,而不会影响设计的电源完整性。完成后,即可全面展开布局布线。

在 DesignWare ARC® EV6x 嵌入式视觉处理器芯核中,经过几次迭代后,利用正确的高宽比可以提供 500MHz 的最佳绕线利用率。对于频率增加到 800MHz 的设计,仅靠增加具有相同高宽比的平面布局不足以实现设计收敛。在这种情况下,不仅需要不同的高宽比用于存储器分割,而且还需要具有更大位数和不同周边设置,且速度更快的存储器架构。Synopsys 的 HPC 设计套件提供各种编译器,可以轻松地将性能从 500MHz 扩展到 800MHz,并为每个性能级别提供优化的布局。 提供种类广泛的基础 IP 供设计人员随手取用,为优化提供了更多空间,减少了布局规划迭代,最终加速了设计收敛。

图 3:具有 CNN 引擎的 DesignWare ARC EV6x 上的布局迭代示例表明,面积非常宝贵时可以实现 500MHz 的灵活性,而在优化了性能的设计中则可达到 800MHz

和工具一同优化后充裕的单元库

事实证明,库中和 EDA 工具共同经过优化后数量充裕的单元库是实现 PPA 和管理拥塞的关键组件。库与工具共同优化之后,逻辑库架构师就能够深入了解先进综合和绕线算法。这就促使库设计人员决定要纳入哪些单元以及如何布置这些单元。该工具的算法设计人员可以合力在工具中引入功能,确保使用新的逻辑单元类型之后能够获得出色的结果。IP/EDA 供应商的幕后工作减少了 SoC 设计人员所需的工作量,让他们能够集中精力设计实现任务的其他方面。多重图形 FinFET 节点使工具和库的结合效果更加突出。使用较小工艺技术的 SoC 设计人员可以利用库单元的优势。这些库单元的引脚布局(特别是高输入复杂单元的引脚布局)已经过优化,可以利用最新的绕线创新,最终在设计层面实现更快的绕线闭合。

可以根据单元的面积和速度的比率在综合算法中完成决策。这些算法只要在逻辑库中有足够的选项,就可以产生最优的电路拓扑。使用 Synopsys 逻辑库时,即使是大型复杂单元也可以在综合时无缝集成到 EDA 流程中,从而减少了人工干预。将多位与压缩器单元组合在一起的特种宽幅多路复用器有助于缩短设计的总净长度。宽幅多路复用器减少了所需的绕线轨道数量,有助于节省面积和缓解拥塞。压缩器、加法器和多路复用器专用库中的多个电路拓扑可确保综合过程中始终都为各个具有不同乘法器尺寸的架构找到最佳解决方案。低功耗型号的多位触发器和多路复用器确保功耗不会受到影响,而较大的设备尺寸则用于缓解拥塞。使用具有更多位数的 Booth 多路复用器和数据路径算术单元,将多个布尔逻辑组合成一个优化至极的单元,也能让华莱士树状结构从中受益。喜欢在设计中使用手动放置的结构化数据路径,或者偏爱使用脚本来交换单元以进行功率恢复的设计人员可以从 HPC 设计套件库中受益。该库为不同设备尺寸的顺序和组合功能提供了广泛的选项。

结语

Synopsys 的 HPC 设计套件已针对人工智能/机器学习应用进行了改善(图 4)。与通用基础 IP 解决方案相比,新套件可以为 DesignWare 嵌入式视觉处理器节省高达 39% 的功耗。使用 HPC 设计套件进行权衡调整还可以使速度提高 7%,并且 CNN 模块可以节省 28% 的功耗。

图 4:用于人工智能和机器学习应用的增强型 HPC 设计套件

Synopsys DesignWare HPC 设计套件是各个企业的不二选择,它支持客户在高级工艺节点中完成硅晶设计,同时支持提供定制服务,让您的设计变得与众不同。

A Solid Foundation for AI-Powered SoCs

Yudhan Rajoo, Technical Marketing Manager, Synopsys

With the rise of applications using machine learning, great attention is now paid to modifying computing architectures to improve neural network processing throughput. The FinFET era has nudged product architects and system-on-chip (SoC) engineers to take a closer look at the power efficiency of computations that are performed in every clock cycle. As the race to deliver superior neural network architectures heats up, so do the temperatures on silicon while performing these complex functions on a chip. SoC designers are faced with the conundrum of newer computing blocks eating away at their already low power budgets. In addition, evolving architectures make schedules tighter due to the changing nature of RTL code. When faced with power and time-to-market challenges, developing a full chip layout that fits within the same die area and performs at expected throughput levels in mission mode is no small feat. Designers need to tackle the problem of meeting power, performance, and area (PPA) targets of high-performance artificial intelligence (AI) SoCs at an elemental level with the building blocks that make up computation circuits. These elemental blocks of Boolean logic and memory storage elements are called Foundation IP.

Complexity of Deep Learning Computation

The most popular deep learning technique today is convolutional neural networks (CNN). CNNs take in uncompressed frames of data such as an image of height ‘h,’ width ‘w,’ and depth ‘d,’ and convolve the image with a filter to two dimensions, creating a matrix of values that are then passed through fully connected classification nets for inference. The convolution operation is essentially a multiply-accumulate (MAC) computation that can be represented with the equation shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Equation and use of convolution operations for CNNs

MAC computations have, in the past, been partially addressed through use of conventional DSPs and GPUs that were used in earlier days for machine learning, but the industry soon realized that dedicated improvements are needed in these architectures to efficiently address the delicate balance between performance, power, and area. For CNN functions, some vector DSPs are area efficient for convolutions but lack the necessary speed and power efficiency. GPUs are efficient in throughput but consume large amounts of die area and power as the number of shader cores increase. FPGAs have recently seen some success in adoption but is limited to data center applications that have less stringent area requirements. Dedicated CNN engines such as those in DesignWare® Embedded Vision Processors resolve this quandary through customized logic that can perform up to 3520 MACs per cycle within small area and low power budgets.

CNN Engine Implementation Challenges

CNN engines (neural network processors) are a new beast only a battle tested champion can slay. While implementing these blocks, going down the wrong path could be catastrophic to project schedule.  Therefore, designing with foundation IP blocks that offer flexibility for course correction during the design cycle is necessary for a successful product rollout.

Floorplan Iterations

Physical design implementation of machine learning blocks usually needs floorplan iterations to determine the best placement of macros and logical hierarchies within the given die area. The iterations may need modifications to the aspect ratio of both the core area and the macros themselves so that slower macros can be placed near logical hierarchies. A wide variety of memory cuts from compilers that trade-off timing and aspect ratios is required to deal with this iterative churn. The relative placement of logic hierarchies, in turn, is affected by the routing track resources available to fit those hierarchies in a given space. While the top routing layer restrictions are already defined for a block by the top-level designer, adjusting the power ground (PG) grid to the specific logic library can optimize core density. Lack of a recipe to start PG grid design can cause implementation delays.

Congestion in MACs

With the macros fixed, the challenge then becomes to manage placement and routing congestion in the logic area while tuning the design for power-per-MHz targets. MAC blocks are notorious for routing congestion caused by higher-than-normal pin density and high net connectivity. When represented as schematics, MAC blocks have a naturally triangular shape as data passes through them, which is why optimal results are often achieved by hand-placing the datapath elements. EDA tools have made good progress to bridge the gap between a full custom layout of the MAC block and an algorithmically derived placement of individual cells that also takes care of process design rules with shrinking geometries. However, some EDA tools require compatible standard cell structures to complete the solution. Whether hand-placing the elemental blocks or relying on the tool to do so, the need for larger multi-input elemental adders, multiplexers, compressors, and sequential cells in different circuit topologies and sizes is evident.

Achieving Differentiated PPA in Time

Design timelines are long, and tapeout schedules are short. The squeeze in design cycles means there is no time to ramp up a design team on advanced process nodes. Integrating validated IP that has seen silicon success, along with a tool recipe that can start the implementation process on day one, is a “must have” to win in competitive markets. With ever-shrinking nodes, there is limited choice on foundries to use for an AI-powered SoC. Even more limited is the choice in the logic library and memory design kits provided by the foundry. This begs the question: How will the PPA of a design using a foundry default design kit differentiate itself in the market? A truly unique IP solution is crucial to pushing the PPA envelope beyond what is achieved by commonly known optimization tactics and a basic toolkit for implementation.

Addressing the Challenges

Choice of the Building Blocks is Half the Battle

On the road to meeting PPA and time-to-market goals for an AI-powered SoC, design engineers hit several roadblocks that mandate making time-sensitive decisions. A targeted solution of logic libraries and memory compilers can help designers start to address the challenges of implementing CNN engines and hence AI-powered SoCs. For example, having multiple options of logic cells that leverage EDA tool optimization capabilities and provide flexibility of manual intervention when standard tool algorithms are not enough, is essential to overcoming implementation challenges. Synopsys’ Foundation IP portfolio includes an HPC Design Kit which is a collection of logic library cells and memories that have been co-optimized with EDA tools on advanced nodes to push the PPA envelope of any design, and has been optimized for AI-enabled designs. In addition to a rich silicon- validated portfolio that achieves superior PPA, Synopsys’ support for customizations to meet individual design needs makes the offering more flexible than any other (Figure 2).

Figure 2: Requirements and benefits of a differentiated logic library IP

Design Flow Quick Start

The foremost advantage of using a foundation IP solution that comes from an EDA vendor is interoperability. This means that the designer can use the scripts provided with the IP to have a working pipe cleaning flow on the most cutting-edge process nodes and time is not wasted in ramping up. A rigorously tested PG grid is also available when designers use foundation IP from EDA vendors. The PG grid enables designers to start design exploration earlier, leverage the special provisions in standard cell architecture, and take advantage of the additional routing track resources for signals without compromising the power integrity of the design. When complete, floorplan trials can begin in full swing.

In a DesignWare ARC® EV6x Embedded Vision Processor core, after a few iterations, the right aspect ratio can provide optimal routing track utilization for 500MHz. For a successive design when frequency is increased to 800MHz, growing the floorplan with same aspect ratio is not sufficient for design closure. In such a scenario, not only does one need a different aspect ratio for memory cuts but also a faster memory architecture with a larger bit size and different periphery setting. Synopsys’ HPC Design Kit provides the variety of compilers needed to easily scale the performance from 500MHz to 800MHz with an optimized floorplan for each performance level.  A broad offering of foundation IP at designers’ fingertips provides more room for optimization, reduces floorplan iterations, and ultimately accelerates design closure.

Figure 3: Floorplan iteration examples on the DesignWare ARC EV6x with CNN Engine show the flexibility to achieve either 500MHz when area is at a premium, or 800MHz for performance-optimized designs

Rich Cell Set Co-Optimized with Tools

The richness of the cell set in a library co-optimized with EDA tools proves to be a crucial component to achieving PPA and managing congestion. When a library is co-optimized with tools, logic library architects have the capability to look under the hood of advanced synthesis and routing algorithms. This drives the library designer’s decision on which cells to include and how to lay out these cells. Working together, the algorithm owner of the tool can introduce features in the tools that ensure superior results when new logic cell types are utilized. The IP/EDA vendor’s behind-the-scenes work reduces the effort required of the SoC designer, who can now focus on other aspects of implementation. A tool-library handshake has gained more prominence with multi-patterning FinFET nodes. SoC designers using smaller process technologies benefit from having library cells whose pin layouts (especially those of high input complex cells) have been optimized to take advantage of latest router innovations that eventually lead to faster route closure at the design level.

The ratio of area to speed for cells drives the decision making within synthesis algorithms. These algorithms can derive optimal circuit topology, as long as they have enough options within a logic library. When using Synopsys logic libraries, even large, complex cells are seamlessly integrated into EDA flows at synthesis, reducing manual intervention. Special wide multiplexers combining several bits together with compressor cells can contribute to lowering overall net length of the design. Wide multiplexers reduce the amount of routing track needed and in turn help with area and congestion. Multiple circuit topologies in the library for compressors, adders, and multiplexers ensure that synthesis always finds an optimal solution for every architecture with varying multiplier sizes. Low-power versions of multibit flops and multiplexers ensure that power is not compromised while larger device sizes are used for congestion mitigation. Wallace trees can also benefit with the use of Booth multiplexers with a higher number of bits and datapath arithmetic cells that combine multiple Boolean logics into one supremely optimized cell. Designers that like to use hand-placed structured datapaths in their design or prefer to use scripts for swapping cells for power recovery, can benefit from the HPC Design Kit’s library that provides a wide range of options for both sequential and combinational functions in varying device sizes.

Conclusion

Synopsys’ HPC Design Kit has been enhanced for artificial intelligence/machine learning applications (Figure 4). The new kit has been found to save up to 39% power on DesignWare Embedded Vision Processors over generic foundation IP solutions. Tradeoff tuning with the HPC Design Kit can also enable 7% higher speeds with 28% power savings on CNN blocks.

Figure 4: Enhanced HPC Design Kit for artificial intelligence and machine learning applications

A proven track record of enabling customers’ silicon success in advanced process nodes along with support for customization services that create differentiation for your design makes the Synopsys DesignWare HPC Design Kit a compelling choice.