多年来,内存和存储有着明显区别。内存是其临近的 CPU 或加速器处理数据时临时保存该数据的地方。把内存摆放在需要数据的元件附近,可以提供极低延迟的快速访问从而实现高效地工作。典型例子包括各种形式的 SRAM/DRAM,例如 DDR、LPDDR 和最近出现的 HBM。这些内存设备可以提供低延迟的快速数据访问,作为易失性设备,需要保持通电才能保留数据。

换个角度,存储是非易失性的长期内存,即使在设备断电时仍可保留,但访问时间和延迟远大于传统内存设备。典型例子包括硬盘 (HDD) 和固态硬盘 (SSD)。表 1 比较了内存和存储的一些特性。

 

内存

存储

例子

DDR、LPDDR、HBM

SSD、HDD

靠近 CPU

接近或嵌入

较远

访问时间

快速,低延迟

较慢,较高延迟

持久性

易失,需要电源

持久,无需电源

容量

受制于物理约束

本质上无限制

数据访问大小

字节

块:页面或扇区(以 KB 为单位)

与 CPU 的接口

各种 JEDEC DDR 标准

带 NVMe 的 PCIe、其他(SATA、SAS)

 

表 1:内存相对于存储的特性

 

多年前,在 SSD 出现之前,内存和存储之间的区别简单明了。内存是指随机存取存储器 (RAM),存储是指磁性介质(磁盘驱动器或磁带)。由于两者之间的物理差异,内存和存储还有其他区别没有在表 1 中显示。内存可以一次读取或写入一个字节,而存储的最小存储单元是扇区(对于 HDD,通常为 512 字节),这主要是因为存储具有旋转磁盘结构。取代了 HDD 的 SSD 尽管不是旋转磁性介质,但由于其设计本质,SSD 仍然无法像 RAM 一样一次读取或写入一个字节。

SSD 将数据存储在电气单元矩阵中,这些电气单元被组织成称为页的行,数据就存储在这些页中。页面组合在一起成为块。SSD 只能写入块中的空页。导致的结果是,SSD 一次读取一个页的数据,并且只有在整页为空的情况下才能写入页面,否则必须擦除整个块才能写入页。读取或写入页可以转换为 16kB 的数据,因此这些设备不善于解决必须经常访问少量数据的缓存式应用问题。

随着英特尔 Optane 技术等新型持久性内存的出现,这些新型内存具有非易失性,并将访问时间缩短至可媲美 DRAM,使得内存和存储之间的界限开始变得模糊,带来了一些有趣的可能。


PCIe 和 CXL 在内存/存储应用方面的比较

PCI Express (PCIe) 是可扩展且有层次的,带有嵌入式交换机或交换机芯片,支持一个根端口与多个终端连接,例如多个存储设备(以及以太网卡和显示驱动程序等其他终端)。然而,这种实现方式在一种带有孤立内存池的大型系统中存在局限,这种系统中的处理器和加速器在同一个 64 位地址空间内共享相同的数据和内存空间进行异构计算。与使用 CXL 的替代实现方案相比,缺乏缓存一致性机制会导致这些应用的内存性能低下,延迟不可接受。

PCIe 通常使用 load-store 语义(load = 读取,store = 写入)通过直接内存访问 (DMA) 机制传输大量数据,而 CXL 使用专用 CXL.mem 协议实现短数据交换和极低延迟。

虽然 64GT/s 的 PCIe 6.0.1 的引入有助于增加存储应用程序的可用带宽,而延迟增加很少或没有增加,但一致性的缺乏仍然限制了 PCIe 应用程序,如传统的 SSD 这种块存储设备。对于这些存储应用,使用 PCIe 作为传输接口的 NVMe 已经占据了 SSD 技术的主导地位。正在开发中的下一代 SSD,它们将使用 CXL 接口替代 PCIe。

表 2 总结了 PCIe 和 CXL 关于存储应用的一些重要特性。本文重点介绍了 CXL 适用于高性能计算存储应用的主要特点。

 

特性

PCI Express

CXL

最大带宽

PCIe 5.0 为 32GT/s x16

PCIe 6.0 为 64GT/s x16

CXL 2.0 为 32GT/s x16

CXL 3.0 为 64GT/s x16

一致性

支持;主机管理

延迟

100 ns

10 ns

可缓存性

PCIe 地址空间通常
不可缓存

CXL 地址空间可按定义缓存

切换

芯片和嵌入式

CXL 2.0 和 3.0 支持
未来芯片有望

拓扑

主机到设备,交换式

主机到设备,交换式,结构

内存访问

通常是 DMA

专用 CXL.mem

传输大小

PCIe 针对更大的数据有效载荷进行了优化;传统块存储(512B、1KB、2KB、4KB);开销较低,适用于处理非缓存数据

CXL 针对 64B 缓存行传输进行了优化;固定大小实现低延迟

存储标准

基于 PCIe 的闪存 (NVMe)

基于 CXL 接口的 SSD 和 DRAM,适用于众多新型内存/存储应用

数据路径

32b – 512b
1024b

原生 512b
1024b

实现

仅 PCIe

可支持 PCIe 的 CXL 控制器

设备中不需要 Home agent

应用

非一致数据移动应用、大型 DMA 块传输、传统存储控制器;NVMe

线性存储:字节可寻址的(而不是块或扇区)SSD 后续产品;计算型内存

生态系统

庞大且成熟,最高达到 PCIe 5.0

到目前为止,应用并不广泛;CXL 在 2022 年至 2023 年期间有望加速发展

 

表 2:PCIe 和 CXL 适用于存储应用的特性


订阅 新思科技 IP 技术公告

包括深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、即将举行的网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

CXL 在新兴 HPC 应用内存可组合性和分解方面的优势

计算结果表明,CXL 2.0 引入的内存池理论上可至少支持 1.28 拍字节 (PB) 的 CXL 附加内存,如果在 CXL 3.0 中引入多级切换和其他功能,甚至可支持更高的内存容量。这为解决大规模计算问题提供了新思路,使多个主机可以一边处理大量问题,一边同时访问整个数据集。例如,假设系统可以一次性处理整个问题,而不是将问题分解成更小的部分,那么通过访问 1 拍字节的内存,就可以创建全新的模型并对其编码,以此来处理复杂的问题(例如,模拟气候变化)。

CXL 3.0 中引入的高级结构功能是基于前几代及其传统树基架构的一次转变。新架构支持多达 4,096 个节点,每个节点都能够通过基于端口的路由 (PBR) 机制与另一个节点相互通信。节点可以包括 CPU 主机、CXL 加速器(无论是否包含内存)、PCIe 设备或全局结构连接内存 (GFAM) 设备。GFAM 设备是一种 3 型设备,可有效地充当共享内存池,其 I/O 空间属于一个主机或结构管理器。配置后,CXL 结构中的其他主机和设备可以直接访问 GFAM 设备的池式内存。GFAM 设备带来了很多新的可能性,可以根据特定的负载需求构建由计算和内存元件组成的系统。例如,通过访问 1 太字节或 1 拍字节的内存,可以创建全新的模型来应对像绘制人类基因组图谱一样复杂的挑战。

表 3 显示了有助于在内存和存储应用推广 CXL 的一些关键特性。

 

特性

何时引入

一致性和低延迟

在 CXL 1.0/1.1 中引入

切换

在 CXL 2.0 中引入,作为 CXL.mem 的单级切换

在 CXL 3.0 中扩展为多级切换,适用于所有协议

内存池和共享

在 CXL 2.0 中引入了内存池,支持 MLD

在 CXL 3.0 中增加了共享功能

结构

在 CXL 3.0 中引入

 

表 3:适用于存储应用的关键 CXL 特性


一直以来,只有几种方法可以为加速器或其他 SoC 增加内存。最常见的方法是添加额外 DDR 内存通道来支持更多标准 DDR 内存模块。另一种可行的方法是,将内存与 SoC 集成在同一个封装内。借助 CXL,可以将内存放在非常类似于 PCIe 总线的东西上(CXL 使用 PCIe PHY 和电气元件)。这让系统能够使用带有标准 CXL 接口的卡来支持更多的内存模块,而无需额外 DDR 通道。图 1 举例说明了如何大幅增加 SoC 可访问的内存 — 从内存量 (GB) 和内存类型(RAM 或持久内存)两方面来说明。通过使用这种方法,内存开始变得类似于资源池,可由多个主机通过切换功能进行访问;切换功能在 CXL 2.0 中首次引入,并在 CXL 3.0 中得到显著扩展。

图 1:CXL 通过单一接口实现介质独立,例如 DDR3/4/5、LPDDR 3/4/5、持久内存/存储

从图 1 中可以看出,CXL 可以解决阻碍多系统访问可扩展内存池开发的问题——它取消了专有互连,因此任何需要的 CPU、GPU 或张量处理单元 (TPU) 可以访问基于标准的 CXL 接口设计的额外内存。CXL 最终将允许连接到大量的内存模块,包括 SSD、DDR DRAM 和新兴的持久内存。CXL 具有低延迟、一致性、内存池和共享等功能,这使其成为一种可行的技术,让系统架构师可以创建大型的易失性和持久内存池,这些内存将会扩展到多个基础架构池,成为真正的共享资源。

图 1 所示方法的另一个优点是, SoC 的 CXL 引脚不必专用于内存的,而是可用于连接任何具有 CXL 接口的设备,包括额外的 CXL 交换机、GFAM 设备或芯片间互连。

2022 年闪存峰会传达的一个明确信号是,CXL 是用于汇集和共享联网内存设备的新兴领先架构,主要用于 DRAM 和 NAND 闪存设备。很多大型 SSD 公司正在推出或考虑推出具备 CXL 接口的基于闪存的 SSD,还有些公司在讨论如何打造以 CXL 作为高速内存接口的内存控制器或其他内存产品。参见图 1。

CXL 现已收购了 Z 世代和 OpenCAPI,进一步扩大和增加了 CXL 可以处理的应用的范围和类型。

图 2:CXL 可在多个主机之间实现精细的内存分配(汇集)和共享


CXL 在内存分解和可组合性方面的优势

CXL 有很多优势,而其中两个优势特别值得一提:内存分解和可组合性。内存分解是指能够将内存扩展到各种设备,同时仍允许多个服务器进行共享和保持一致性,使得内存不再聚合并专用于单个设备或服务器。可组合性是指能够根据需要将分解后的内存分配给特定 CPU 或 TPU,结果是可大幅提高内存利用率。提高内存利用率可使当前系统实现关键改进,根据微软的测量数据以及题为《MICROSOFT AZURE BLAZES THE DISAGGREGATED MEMORY TRAIL WITH ZNUMA》的 The Next Platform 文章所述,当前系统的实际内存利用率可能仅为 40% 左右,大多数虚拟机 (VM) 的内存使用量不足虚拟机监控程序分配的内存量的一半。

借助具有切换功能的 CXL 2.0 和 CXL 3.0,主机可以从形成池的一个或多个设备访问内存。值得注意的是,在这种汇集配置中,主机之间只共享资源本身,而不共享内存内容:内存的每个区域只能属于单个一致域。内存共享(CXL 3.0 规范新增了此功能)实际上允许多个主机之间共享资源池中的单个内存区域。图 2 举例显示了单一系统中的内存池和内存共享。

CXL 还可以实现计算型内存,这种内存设备可以直接对内存内容执行一些计算,而无需主机或加速器参与。

最终目标是实现 100% 分解和可组合性,届时,系统内的所有内存都可以由任何系统内的设备使用,并且可以用作资源池。

为了实现 100% 分解和可组合性这一目标,系统需要能够发现并枚举系统中的每个设备,包括服务器、加速器、内存扩展设备以及具有可共享内存的其他设备。这需要对全部设备(服务器、内存池、加速器和存储设备)进行机架级设备发现和识别,无论是已经组成的还是尚未分配的。这只能使用 PCIe 和 CXL 功能来实现,因为以太网和 Infiniband 等架构不支持精细的发现、分解和组合。

动态创建能够满足不同工作负载要求的灵活硬件配置,这一方法通常被称为可组合式离散基础架构 (CDI),可以使用 CXL 现已支持的低延迟架构来实现。此功能可以有效地允许配置整个机架并使其具有类似于服务器的作用。


总结

CXL 正在迅速成为在多个设备和主机之间一致地管理和共享大量内存的首选接口。它实现了真正的异构可组合式离散架构,这种架构的支持范围并不仅局限于内存。CXL 3.0 规范扩展了以前版本的 CXL,使每通道带宽翻倍,达到 64 GT/s,而延迟并无增加,而且还增加了多级切换、高效对等通信和内存共享等功能。

为了简化和加速采用最新的 CXL 协议,Synopsys 提供了完整的 CXL IP 解决方案,其中包含带 IDE 安全模块、PHY 和验证 IP 的控制器,为 AI、机器学习和高性能计算(包括存储应用)提供安全、低延迟、高带宽的互连。

我们的 CXL IP 解决方案基于经过硅验证的 Synopsys PCIe IP,可降低设备和主机应用的集成风险,并帮助设计人员实现 CXL 3.0 为适用于数据密集型应用的 SoC 带来的优势。作为很早就开始参与 CXL 相关工作的贡献者,Synopsys 可以快人一步获悉最新的规范,使我们的工程师能够提供更成熟的解决方案。Synopsys 已经向多个客户交付了支持 IDE 的 CXL 2.0 和 3.0 解决方案,包括适用于下一代 SSD 和高级内存应用的解决方案,这些解决方案在客户产品中经过硅验证,并在硬件中证实与第三方具有互操作性。

新思科技 IP 技术公告

深度技术文章、白皮书、视频、网络研讨会、产品公告等等。

继续阅读

CXL 2.0 and 3.0 for Storage and Memory Applications | Synopsys

For many years, memory and storage have been clearly distinct things. Memory is a short-term place to hold data while a nearby CPU or accelerator processed that data. It is effectively working memory placed near the elements needing the data while providing rapid access with very low latency. The typical examples include SRAM/DRAM in its various forms of DDR, LPDDR and more recently, HBM. These memory devices, in addition to providing rapid access to data with low latency, also share the characteristics of being volatile devices that need to remain powered on to retain the data.

Storage, on the other hand, is long-term memory that is non-volatile and is retained even when devices are powered off, and their access times and latency are much greater than traditional memory devices. The typical examples include Hard Disk Drives (HDDs) and Solid State Drives (SSDs). Table 1 compares some of the characteristics of memory and storage.

 

Memory

Storage

Examples

DDR, LPDDR, HBM

SSD, HDD

Proximity to CPU

Near or embedded

Farther

Access time

Fast, low latency

Slower, higher latency

Permanence

Volatile, requires power

Persistent, no power required

Capacity

Limited by physical constraints

Not inherently limited

Data access size

Byte

Blocks: pages or sectors (kBytes)

Interface to CPU

Various JEDEC DDR standards

PCIe with NVMe, other (SATA, SAS)

 

Table 1: Characteristics of memory versus storage 

 

Years ago, before the advent of SSDs, the differences between memory and storage were simple and stark. Memory meant random access memory (RAM), and storage meant magnetic media (disk drives or magnetic tape). Because of the physical differences between the two, memory and storage have another difference not shown in Table 1. Memory can be read or written a byte at a time, while storage, largely due to its rotating disk structure, has a minimum storage unit of a sector (typically 512 bytes for HDDs). As SSDs replaced HDDs, due to nature of the SSD design, even though they were not rotating magnetic media, they were still not able to be read or written a byte at a time like RAM.

SSDs store data in a matrix of electrical cells organized into rows called pages where the data is stored. Pages are grouped together to form blocks. SSDs can only write to empty pages within a block. The net result is that SSDs read data a page at a time, and they can write at the page level only if surrounding cells are empty, otherwise an entire block must be erased before a page can be written. Reading or writing a page can translate to 16kB of data, so these devices are not good for cache-like applications where small amounts of data must be frequently accessed while working on a problem.

With new types of persistent memory like Intel’s Optane Technology and others offering non-volatility and reduced access times approaching DRAM, the line between memory and storage is beginning to blur, and this is opening up interesting possibilities.


PCIe vs CXL for Memory/Storage

PCI Express (PCIe) implementations are expandable and hierarchical with embedded switches or switch chips allowing one root port to interface with multiple endpoints, such as multiple storage devices (as well as other endpoints like Ethernet cards and display drivers). However, limitations of these implementations are seen in large systems with isolated memory pools that require heterogeneous computing where the processor and accelerator share the same data and memory space in a single 64-bit address space. The lack of a cache coherency mechanism  makes memory performance for these applications inefficient and latency less than acceptable when compared to alternative implementations using CXL. 

While PCIe typically transfers a large block of data through a direct memory access (DMA) mechanism using load-store semantics (load = read, store = write), CXL uses a dedicated CXL.mem protocol for short data exchanges and extremely low latency.

While the introduction of PCIe 6.0.1 at 64GT/s helps increase the bandwidth available for storage applications with minimal or no increase in latency, the lack of coherency still limits PCIe applications like traditional SSDs, which are block storage devices. For these storage applications, NVMe, which uses PCIe as the transport interface, has become the dominant SSD technology. Next-generation SSDs, with CXL interfaces instead of PCIe, are currently being developed.

Table 2 shows a summary of some of the important characteristics for storage applications for PCIe versus CXL. This article highlights CXL’s main characteristics for high-performance computing storage applications. 

 

Feature

PCI Express

CXL

Max bandwidth

32GT/s x16 for PCIe 5.0

64GT/s x16 for PCIe 6.0

32GT/s x16 for CXL 2.0

64GT/s x16 for CXL 3.0

Coherency

None

Supported; Host-managed

Latency

100’s of ns

10’s of ns

Cacheability

PCIe address space typically
NON-cacheable

CXL address space cacheable by definition

Switching

Chips and embedded

Embedded in CXL 2.0 and 3.0
Future chips may expected

Topologies

Host to Device, Switched

Host to device, switched, fabrics

Memory Access

DMA typically

Dedicated CXL.mem

Transfer sizes

PCIe optimized for larger data payloads; Traditional block storage (512B, 1KB, 2KB, 4KB); lower overhead for non-cached data

CXL optimized for 64B cacheline transfers; Fixed size offers low latency

Storage standards

PCIe-based Flash memory (NVMe)

Emerging SSD and DRAM with CXL interface, promising for many new types of memory/storage applications

Datapath

32b – 512b
1024b

Natively 512b
1024b

Implementation

PCIe only

CXL controller with support to PCIe

No Home agent needed in devices

Applications

Non coherent data movement applications, large DMA block transfers, traditional storage controllers; NVMe

Linear storage: Byte-addressable (vs block or sector) SSD successors; Computational memory

Ecosystem

Massive and well established up to PCIe 5.0

Limited adoption so far; CXL expected to accelerate through 2022 and 2023

 

Table 2: Characteristics of PCIe versus CXL for storage applications


Subscribe to the Synopsys IP Technical Bulletin

Includes in-depth technical articles, white papers, videos, upcoming webinars, product announcements and more.

Advantages of CXL for Emerging HPC Applications Memory Composability and Disaggregation

Memory pooling introduced by CXL 2.0 has been calculated to theoretically enable support for CXL attached memory of at least 1.28 petabyte (PB), and with multi-level switching and other features introduced in CXL 3.0, it could be even higher. This opens the door for new approaches to solving large computation problems, in which multiple hosts can work on massive problems while accessing the entire dataset simultaneously. As an example, with access to a petabyte of memory, whole new models can be created and coded to work on complex problems, like modeling climate change, with an assumption that the system can handle the entire problem all at once, rather than breaking the problem down into smaller pieces. 

Advanced fabric capabilities introduced in CXL 3.0 are a shift from previous generations and their traditional tree-based architectures. The new fabric supports up to 4,096 nodes, each able to communicate with one another via a port-based routing (PBR) mechanism. A node can encompass a CPU host, a CXL accelerator (memory included or not), a PCIe device, or a Global Fabric Attached Memory (GFAM) device. A GFAM device is a Type 3 device that effectively acts as a shared pool of memory whose I/O space is owned either by a single Host or a Fabric Manager. After configuration other Hosts and devices on the CXL Fabric can directly access the pooled memory of the GFAM device. The GFAM device allows an array of new possibilities in building systems made up of compute and memory elements that are arranged to satisfy the needs of specific workloads. For example, with access to a terabyte or a petabyte of memory, it’s possible to create whole new models to tackle complex challenges such as mapping the human genome. 

Table 3 shows some of the key feature that are driving the adoption of CXL for memory and storage applications.

 

Feature

When Introduced

Coherency and Low latency

Introduced in CXL 1.0/1.1

Switching

Introduced in CXL 2.0 as single level switching for CXL.mem

Expanded to multi-level switching for all protocols in CXL 3.0

Memory pooling & sharing

Pooling introduced in CXL 2.0 w/MLD support

Sharing added in CXL 3.0

Fabrics

Introduced in CXL 3.0

 

Table 3: Key CXL characteristics for storage applications 


Traditionally, there have been only a couple of options to attach additional memory to accelerators or other SoCs. The most common method is to add additional DDR memory channels supporting more standard DDR memory modules. The only other viable option was to integrate memory together with the SoC within the same package. With CXL it becomes possible to put memory onto something that is very much like the PCIe bus (CXL uses PCIe PHYs and electricals). This enables a system to support more memory modules using a card with a standard CXL interface without the need for additional DDR channels. Figure 1 shows an example of how this can vastly increase the memory accessible to the SoC, both in amount (GB) and it type (RAM or persistent memory). Using this approach, memory begins to look like a pooled resource and can be accessible to multiple hosts via switching, which was first introduced in CXL 2.0 and vastly expanded in CXL 3.0.

Figure 1: CXL enables media independence with a single interface such as DDR3/4/5, LPDDR 3/4/5, Persistent Memory/Storage

As can be seen in Figure 1, CXL can solve a problem that has blocked the development of expandable pools of memory accessible to multiple systems—it does away with proprietary interconnects, so that any CPU, GPU or tensor processing unit (TPU) that needs access to additional memory can be designed with an industry-standard CXL interface. CXL will eventually permit connection to a vast array of memory modules, including SSDs, DDR DRAM, and emerging persistent memories. The combination of CXL’s low latency, coherency and memory pooling and sharing capabilities make it a viable technology for allowing system architects to create large pools of both volatile and persistent memory that extend into multiple infrastructure pools, becoming a true shared resource.

Another advantage of the approach shown in Figure 1 is that the SoC pins devoted to CXL interfaces do not have to be dedicated to memory interfaces—they can be used to connect anything with a CXL interface, including additional CXL switches, GFAM devices, or chip-to-chip interconnects. 

At the 2022 Flash Memory Summit it was clear that CXL is emerging as the leading architecture for pooling and sharing connected memory devices targeting both DRAM and NAND flash devices. Many large SSD companies are either introducing or talking about plans for flash-based SSDs with a CXL interface, and others are discussing their memory controllers or other memory products that are featuring CXL as the high-speed interface to memory. See Figure 1.

CXL has now acquired the assets of Gen Z and OpenCAPI, further enhancing the scope and types of applications that CXL can handle. 

Figure 2: CXL enables fine grained memory allocation (pooling) and sharing among multiple Hosts


CXL for Memory Disaggregation and Composability

The advantages of CXL are many, but two in particular are worth highlighting: memory disaggregation and composability. Memory disaggregation refers to the capability of spreading memory around to various devices while still allowing sharing and coherency by multiple servers, such that memory is no longer aggregated and devoted to a single device or server. Composability refers to the capability to allocate the disaggregated memory to particular CPUs, TPUs, as needed, with a result that memory utilization can be increased substantially. This enhanced utilization offers a critical improvement over current systems, where actual memory utilization in real systems, as measure by Microsoft and highlighted in The Next Platform article, MICROSOFT AZURE BLAZES THE DISAGGREGATED MEMORY TRAIL WITH ZNUMA, can be on the order of only 40% with most Virtual Machines (VMs) utilizing less than half of the memory allocated to them by their hypervisor.  

With CXL 2.0 and CXL 3.0 which include switching, a host can access memory from one or more devices that form a pool. It’s important to note that in this kind of pooled configuration, only the resources themselves and not the contents of the memory are shared among the hosts: each region of memory can only belong to a single coherency domain. Memory sharing, which has been added to the CXL 3.0 specification, actually allows individual memory regions within pooled resources to be shared between multiple hosts. Figure 2 shows and example illustrating memory pooling and memory sharing within a single system.

CXL can also enable computational memory, where attached memory devices can carry out some computation directly on the memory contents without the involvement of a Host or accelerator.  

The ultimate goal is 100% disaggregation and composability, in which all memory attached to a system can be utilized by any attached device and is all available as a pooled resource. 

To achieve this goal of 100% disaggregation and composability, a system needs to be able to discover and enumerate every device within the system, including servers, accelerators, memory expansion device, and other devices with shareable memory. This requires rack-level device discovery and identification of 100% of the devices (servers, memory pools, accelerators, and storage devices), whether already composed or as yet unassigned. This can only be accomplished using the PCIe and CXL capabilities, since fabrics like Ethernet and Infiniband can’t support fine grained discovery, disaggregation and composition. 

The approach to dynamically create flexible hardware configurations capable of meeting different workload requirements is often referred to as Composable Disaggregated Infrastructure (CDI), and it becomes possible using the low latency fabrics now enabled by CXL. This capability can effectively permit an entire rack to be configured and act like a server.


Summary

CXL is rapidly becoming the interface of choice for managing and sharing large amounts of memory coherently among multiple Devices and Hosts. It is enabling a true heterogeneous composable and disaggregated architecture supporting more than just memory. The CXL 3.0 spec expands on previous versions of CXL, doubling the per-lane bandwidth to 64 GT/s with no added latency, while adding multi-level switching, efficient peer-to-peer communications, and memory sharing.

To ease and accelerate adoption of the latest CXL protocol, Synopsys offers a complete CXL IP solution, encompassing controller with IDE Security Module, PHY, and verification IP to deliver secure, low-latency, high-bandwidth interconnection for AI, machine learning, and high-performance computing, including storage, applications. 

Built on silicon-proven Synopsys PCIe IP, our CXL IP solution lowers integration risks for device and host applications and helps designers achieve the benefits that CXL 3.0 brings to SoCs for data-intensive applications. As an early CXL contributor, Synopsys had early access to the latest specification, enabling our engineers to deliver a more mature solution. Already, Synopsys has delivered CXL 2.0 and 3.0 solutions with IDE support to several customers, including for next generation SSD and advanced memory applications with proven silicon in customer products and successful third-party interoperability demonstrated in hardware. 

Continue Reading