DevSecOps

什么是 DevSecOps?

DevSecOps 是应用安全 (AppSec) 领域一个相对较新的术语,通过在 DevOps 活动中扩大开发和运营团队之间的紧密协作,将安全团队也包括进来,从而在软件开发生命周期 (SDLC) 的早期引入安全。这就要求改变开发、安全、测试、运营等核心职能团队的文化、流程和工具。基本上,DevSecOps 意味着安全成为共同的责任,而参与 SDLC 的每个人都有责任在 DevOps CI/CD 工作流中构建安全。[1]

随着发布速度和频率不断增加,传统的应用安全团队已经无法跟上发布的步伐,以确保每个发布都是安全的。

为解决这个问题,组织需要在整个 SDLC 中持续构建安全性,以便 DevOps 团队能够快速、高质量地交付安全的应用。越早地将安全性引入到工作流中,就能越早地识别和补救安全弱点和漏洞。这一概念属于“左移”范畴,将安全测试转移给开发人员,使他们能够几乎实时地修复代码中的安全问题,而不是像在传统开发环境中那样,一直等到 SDLC 结束。

通过 DevSecOps,组织可以将安全性无缝集成到其现有的持续集成和持续交付 (CI/CD) 实践中。DevSecOps 涵盖从规划和设计到编码、构建、测试和发布的整个 SDLC,提供实时连续的反馈循环和见解。

什么是 DevSecOps? | Synopsys

什么是 DevOps?

DevOps 是一种理念,包括组织文化、流程,以及技术和工具三大支柱,旨在帮助开发和 IT 运营团队协同合作,以比传统软件开发流程更快、更敏捷、更迭代的方式构建、测试和发布软件。

根据《DevOps 手册》,“按照 DevOps 理念,开发人员可以收到有关其工作的快速、持续反馈,这使他们能够快速、独立地实现、集成和验证其代码,并将代码部署到生产环境中。”[2]

简而言之,DevOps 旨在消除两个传统上相互独立的团队(开发和运营)之间的障碍。在 DevOps 模型中,开发和运营团队在整个软件应用生命周期内(从开发和测试到部署再到运营)一直保持合作。

DevOps 对比 DevSecOps

几乎所有现代软件组织现在都使用基于敏捷的 SDLC 来加速其软件版本(包括更新和修复)的开发和交付。DevOps 和 DevSecOps 等开发方法将敏捷框架用于不同用途。DevOps 关注的是应用交付的速度,而 DevSecOps 通过尽可能快地交付尽可能安全的应用来提高速度和安全性。DevSecOps 的目标是促进安全代码库的快速开发。[3]

根据 DevSecOps 的理念,组织应将安全集成到 DevOps 生命周期的各个部分,包括启动、设计、构建、测试、发布、支持、维护等。在 DevSecOps 中,安全是 DevOps 价值链中每个人的共同责任。DevSecOps 涉及开发、发布管理(或运营)和安全团队之间持续、灵活的协作。简而言之,DevSecOps 可帮助您保持速度,同时不影响安全性。

DevSecOps 有何重要性?

归根结底,DevSecOps 之所以重要,是因为它可以更早地、有意识地将安全性融入 SDLC 中。[4] 如果开发组织从一开始就将安全性考虑在代码中,那么在漏洞进入生产环境之前或发布之后发现并修复它们会更容易,成本也更低。多种行业的组织均可实施 DevSecOps,打破开发、安全和运营之间的界限,从而更快地发布更安全的软件:

  • 汽车:在满足 MISRAAUTOSAR 等软件合规标准的同时,缩短较长的周期时间
  • 医疗保健:根据 HIPAA 等法规,在保证敏感患者资料的隐私和安全的同时,实现数字化转型
  • 金融、零售和电子商务:帮助修复 OWASP Top 10 Web 应用安全风险,并保持数据隐私和安全符合 PCI DSS 针对消费者、零售商、金融业务等实体之间交易的支付卡标准。
  • 嵌入式、联网、专用、消费类和 IoT 设备:编写安全代码,以尽量减少 CWE Top 25 最危险软件错误的发生

将 SAST 集成到 DevSecOps 管道只需 5 步

立即观看

您需要哪些应用安全工具来实施 DevSecOps?

要实施 DevSecOps,组织应考虑在其 CI/CD 流程中集成各种应用安全测试 (AST) 工具。以下是一些常用的 AST 工具:

  • 静态应用安全测试 (SAST)
  • 软件组件分析 (SCA)
  • 交互式应用安全测试 (IAST)
  • 动态分析测试 (DAST)

SAST

SAST 工具扫描专有代码或自定义代码,查找编码错误和设计缺陷,避免产生可利用的弱点。SAST 工具主要用于 SDLC 的编码、构建和开发阶段。Coverity 就是一种这样的 SAST 工具。

SCA

Black Duck 等 SCA 工具可扫描源代码和二进制文件,以识别开源和第三方组件中的已知漏洞。它们还可提供对安全和许可证风险的洞见,以加快确定优先级和开展补救工作。此外,它们还可无缝集成到 CI/CD 流程中,从构建集成直至生产前的发布,持续检测新的开源漏洞。

IAST

IAST 工具在手动或自动功能测试期间在后台工作,分析 Web 应用的运行时行为。例如,Seeker IAST 工具使用插装来观察应用请求/响应交互、行为和数据流。它可检测运行时漏洞并自动重现和测试结果,为开发人员提供详细洞见,内容具体到发生漏洞的代码行。这可让开发人员将时间和精力集中在解决关键漏洞上。

DAST

DAST 是一种自动黑盒测试技术,它模仿黑客与您的 Web 应用或 API 交互的方式。它通过网络连接和检查应用的客户端渲染来测试应用,就像渗透测试工具一样。[5] DAST 工具不需要访问您的源代码或自定义来扫描堆栈。它们与您的网站交互,从而以较低的误报率发现漏洞。例如,Tinfoil Security DAST 工具可识别 Web 应用和 API 上的漏洞,包括移动后端服务器、IoT 设备和任何 RESTful 或 GraphQL API 等 Web 连接设备。[6]

 

[1] https://www.csoonline.com/article/3245748/what-is-devsecops-developing-more-secure-applications.html

[2] https://itrevolution.com/book/the-devops-handbook/

[3] https://blogs.cornell.edu/react/devops-vs-devsecops-what-is-the-difference/

[4] https://enterprisersproject.com/article/2018/1/why-devsecops-matters-it-leaders

[5] https://jaxenter.com/dast-devops-166973.html

[6] https://www.channele2e.com/investors/exits/synopsys-buys-tinfoil-security/

DevSecOps

What is DevSecOps?

DevSecOps, a relatively new term in the application security (AppSec) space, is about introducing security earlier in the software development life cycle (SDLC) by expanding the close collaboration between development and operations teams in the DevOps movement to include security teams as well. It requires a change in culture, process, and tools across the core functional teams comprising development, security, testing, and operations. Basically, DevSecOps means that security is a shared responsibility, and everyone involved in the SDLC has a role to play in building security into the DevOps CI/CD workflow.[1]

As the speed and frequency of releases increase, traditional application security teams cannot keep up with the pace of releases to ensure each release is secure.

To address this, organizations need to build in security continuously across the SDLC so that DevOps teams can deliver secure applications with speed and quality. The earlier you can introduce security into the workflow, the sooner you can identify and remedy security weaknesses and vulnerabilities. This concept is part of “shifting left,” which moves security testing toward developers, enabling them to fix security issues in their code in near real time rather than waiting until the end of the SDLC, where security was bolted on in traditional development environments.

Through DevSecOps, organizations can integrate security seamlessly into their existing continuous integration and continuous delivery (CI/CD) practice. DevSecOps spans the entire SDLC from planning and design to coding, building, testing, and release, with real-time continuous feedback loops and insights.

What is DevSecOps? | Synopsys

What is DevOps?

DevOps is an ideology comprising three pillars—organizational culture, process, and technology and tools—to help development and IT operations teams work collaboratively to build, test, and release software in a faster, more agile, and more iterative manner than traditional software development processes.

According to The DevOps Handbook, “In the DevOps ideal, developers receive fast, constant feedback on their work, which enables them to quickly and independently implement, integrate, and validate their code, and have the code deployed into the production environment.”[2]

In simple terms, DevOps is about removing the barriers between two traditionally siloed teams, development and operations. In a DevOps model, development and operations teams work together across the entire software application life cycle, from development and testing through deployment to operations.

DevOps versus DevSecOps

Virtually all modern software organizations now use an agile-based SDLC to accelerate the development and delivery of their software releases, including updates and fixes. Development methodologies such as DevOps and DevSecOps use the agile framework for different purposes. DevOps focuses on the speed of app delivery, while DevSecOps augments speed with security by delivering apps that are as secure as possible as quickly as possible. The goal of DevSecOps is to promote the fast development of a secure codebase.[3]

According to DevSecOps philosophy, organizations should integrate security into every part of the DevOps life cycle, including inception, design, build, test, release, support, maintenance, and beyond. In DevSecOps, security is the shared responsibility of everyone in the DevOps value chain. DevSecOps involves ongoing, flexible collaboration between development, release management (or operations), and security teams. In short, DevSecOps helps you maintain velocity without compromising security.

Why is DevSecOps important?

Ultimately, DevSecOps is important because it bakes security into the SDLC earlier and on purpose.[4] When development organizations code with security in mind from the outset, it’s easier and less costly to catch and fix vulnerabilities before they go too far into production or after release. Organizations in multiple industries can implement DevSecOps to break down silos between development, security, and operations so they can release more secure software faster:

  • Automotive: to reduce lengthy cycle times while still meeting software compliance standards such as MISRA and AUTOSAR
  • Healthcare: to enable digital transformation efforts while maintaining the privacy and security of sensitive patient data per regulations such as HIPAA
  • Financial, retail, and e-commerce: to help fix the OWASP Top 10 Web Application Security Risks and maintain data privacy and security compliance with PCI DSS payment card standards for transactions among consumers, retailers, financial services, etc.
  • Embedded, networked, dedicated, consumer, and IoT devices: to write secure code that minimizes the occurrence of the CWE Top 25 Most Dangerous Software Errors

5 Steps to Integrate SAST Into the DevSecOps Pipeline

Watch Now

Which application security tools do you need to implement DevSecOps?

To implement DevSecOps, organizations should consider a variety of application security testing (AST) tools to integrate into their CI/CD process. Some commonly used AST tools follow:

  • Static application security testing (SAST)
  • Software composition analysis (SCA)
  • Interactive application security testing (IAST)
  • Dynamic application security testing (DAST)

SAST

SAST tools scan proprietary code, or custom code, for coding errors and design flaws that could lead to exploitable weaknesses. SAST tools are used primarily during the code, build, and development phases of the SDLC. Coverity is one such SAST tool.

SCA

SCA tools such as Black Duck scan source code and binaries to identify known vulnerabilities in open source and third-party components. They also provide insight into security and license risks to accelerate prioritization and remediation efforts. In addition, they can be integrated seamlessly into a CI/CD process to continuously detect new open source vulnerabilities, from build integration to pre-production release.

IAST

IAST tools, working in the background during manual or automated functional tests, analyze web application runtime behavior. For example, the Seeker IAST tool uses instrumentation to observe application request/response interactions, behavior, and dataflow. It detects runtime vulnerabilities and automatically replays and tests the findings, providing detailed insights to developers down to the line of code where they occur. This enables developers to focus their time and effort on critical vulnerabilities.

DAST

DAST is an automated black box testing technology that mimics how a hacker would interact with your web application or API. It tests applications over a network connection and by examining the client-side rendering of the application, much like a pen tester would.[5] DAST tools do not require access to your source code or customization to scan your stack. They interact with your website and find vulnerabilities with a low rate of false positives. For example, Tinfoil Security DAST tools identify vulnerabilities on web applications and APIs, including web-connected devices such as mobile back-end servers, IoT devices, and any RESTful or GraphQL APIs.[6]

 

[1] https://www.csoonline.com/article/3245748/what-is-devsecops-developing-more-secure-applications.html

[2] https://itrevolution.com/book/the-devops-handbook/

[3] https://blogs.cornell.edu/react/devops-vs-devsecops-what-is-the-difference/

[4] https://enterprisersproject.com/article/2018/1/why-devsecops-matters-it-leaders

[5] https://jaxenter.com/dast-devops-166973.html

[6] https://www.channele2e.com/investors/exits/synopsys-buys-tinfoil-security/