软件供应链安全及其工作原理 | Synopsys
目录

定义

为了了解软件供应链安全,首先需要定义软件供应链本身。软件供应链是在整个软件开发生命周期 (SDLC) 中涉及应用程序或以任何方式在其开发中发挥作用的任何事和物。软件供应链安全是保护软件创建和部署中所涉及的组件、活动和实践的行为。其包括第三方和私有代码、部署方法和基础设施、接口和协议以及开发人员实践和开发工具。组织负责执行这些安全活动,并向消费者提供其安全工作的证明。

软件供应链攻击为何呈上升趋势?

为了应对软件开发组织采取更多步骤来保护其应用程序的安全,攻击者不得不使自己的方法更有“创意”。代码重用和云原生方法的急剧而持续的增长,为他们提供了额外的角度来发动与他们意向目标稍微偏离的攻击。仅仅利用一个弱点就为威胁行动者打开了通往供应链的大门,他们能窃取敏感数据、植入恶意软件并控制系统——最近我们看到了很多这样的例子。

鉴于安全漏洞不断增加,拜登总统发布了一项行政命令,指示多个联邦组织的负责人围绕他们使用和操作的软件制定额外的安全指南。该命令旨在增强美国的网络安全状况,促使在全国范围内重新审查远远超出联邦层面规定的组织安全实践。


保护供应链的六大考虑因素

了解如何识别软件供应链中的弱点,以及解决这些弱点所需的工具和实践。

下载解决方案指南

软件供应链攻击示例

Solar Winds 是一家美国大型 IT 公司,近期成为供应链的受害者。一位前实习生的信息安全实践经验不足,暴露了一个关键的内部密码 (solarwinds123)。密码被泄露后,可疑的俄罗斯黑客便能访问 SolarWinds 用来对其旗舰产品之一 Orion 的更新进行组装的系统。从这里开始,攻击者将恶意代码插入原本合法的软件更新中,让它们能监控和识别 Orion 编译中涉及的运行进程,并替换源文件以包含 SUNBURST 恶意软件。估计有 18,000 名客户部署了 Orion 更新,SUNBURST 将信息发回给攻击者,这些信息被用来识别其它恶意软件、扩大的访问范围和进行间谍活动的目标。攻击的预期目标和受害者与入口点之间存在一定角度的偏离,这一事实使其成为现代软件供应链攻击的常见示例。


如何降低供应链安全风险?

您可以采取关键的供应链安全实践和方法来降低供应链安全风险。

  • 评估所用代码的安全性和可信度
  • 确保开发人员始终编写安全的私有代码
  • 安全地构建和部署代码
  • 强化应用程序使用的数据传输方法
  • 持续测试和监控部署的应用程序以应对威胁
  • 为消费者提供 SBOM

Cheat Sheet: Your Recipe for an Actionable SBOM
Recommendations you should consider when finetuning your SBOM efforts


Synopsys 如何提供帮助?

Synopsys Black Duck® 软件组件分析 (SCA) 帮助团队管理在应用和容器中使用开源和第三方代码所带来的安全、质量和许可证合规性风险。Black Duck 提供应用程序所基于的开源依赖关系的深度信息,为您提供软件物料清单 (SBOM),其准确详述了代码内容、代码来源以及任何相关的安全或许可证风险。最重要的是,SCA 工具可以持续提供这些信息,确保您在毫秒必争的情形下可掌握开源风险的最新情况。

Coverity® 是一款快速、准确且高度可扩展的静态应用程序安全测试 (SAST) 解决方案,可帮助开发和安全团队在软件开发生命周期 (SDLC) 的早期解决安全和质量缺陷,跟踪和管理整个应用组合的风险,并确保符合安全和编码标准。Coverity 使您能够无缝地保护私有代码,并确保“基础设施即代码”的安全性,从而使您的私有代码不会成为软件供应链中的薄弱环节。

Synopsys Web Scanner提供快速、简单的动态应用安全测试 (DAST),针对开发人员需求进行了优化。Synopsys Web Scanner 通过无 UI 浏览器拦截和分析 JavaScript 以及 AJAX 请求,系统地测试 Web 应用程序的所有接入点,甚至如同新创建的表单,且填充数据。它检查 OWASP Top 10 Web 应用程序安全风险以及其它已知的安全弱点和漏洞,对如何消除检测到的问题,提供分步指导说明。监控应用程序行为是确保您免受潜在供应链威胁的重要方式。


软件供应链安全信息图表 | Synopsys

继续阅读

解决方案
软件组件分析
博客
降低供应链中的开源软件风险
解决方案
动态应用安全测试 (DAST) Web 扫描器
博客
开源软件审计的执行方式
博客
管理供应链风险的有效软件安全活动
博客
软件供应链安全最佳实践

Table of contents

Definition

To understand software supply chain security, it is necessary to first define the software supply chain itself. The software supply chain is anything and everything that touches an application or plays a role, in any way, in its development throughout the entire software development life cycle (SDLC). Software supply chain security is the act of securing the components, activities, and practices involved in the creation and deployment of software. That includes third-party and proprietary code, deployment methods and infrastructure, interfaces and protocols, and developer practices and development tools. Organizations are responsible for performing these security activities, and for providing proof of their security efforts to consumers.

Why are software supply chain attacks trending?

In response to software development organizations taking more steps to secure their applications, attackers have had to get more creative in their own methods. The sharp and continuous rise of code reuse and cloud-native approaches have provided them with additional angles to mount attacks several degrees of separation away from their intended targets. Exploiting just one weakness opens the door for a threat actor traverse down the supply chain where they can steal sensitive data, plant malware, and take control of systems – something we’ve seen plenty of examples of in recent times.

In light of the uptick in security breaches, President Biden issued an executive order directing the heads of several federal organizations to create additional security guidelines surrounding the software they consume and operate. Aimed at bolstering the U.S.’s cybersecurity profile, this order has prompted a nationwide re-examination of organizational security practices that stretches well beyond those specified at the federal level. 


What is an example of a software supply chain attack?

Solar Winds, a major U.S. IT firm, fell victim to a supply chain recently. Weak information security practices by a former intern exposed a critical internal password (solarwinds123). Once the password was compromised, suspected Russian hackers were able to access a system that SolarWinds used to assemble updates to Orion, one of its flagship products. From here, the attackers inserted malicious code into an otherwise legitimate software update, allowing them to monitor and identify running processes that were involved in the compilation of Orion, and replace source files to include SUNBURST malware. Orion updates were deployed to an estimated 18,000 customers, and SUNBURST sent information back to the attackers that was used to identify targets of additional malware, broadened access, and spying. The fact that the intended targets and victims of the attack were several degrees of separation away from the entry point, makes this a popular example of a modern software supply chain attack. 


Six Considerations for Securing Your Supply Chain

Learn how to identify the weak points in your software supply chain, and what tools and practices are necessary to address them.

Download the solution guide

How can you reduce supply chain security risks?

There are key supply chain security practices and approaches you can take to lessen your supply chain security risk.

  • Assess the security and trustworthiness of the code that you consume
  • Ensure developers are keeping writing secure proprietary code
  • Securely build and deploy code
  • Harden data transfer methods used by applications
  • Continuously test and monitor deployed applications for threats
  • Provide consumers with an SBOM

How can Synopsys help?

Synopsys Black Duck® software composition analysis (SCA) helps teams manage the security, quality, and license compliance risks that come from the use of open source and third-party code in applications and containers. With powerful insight into the open source dependencies your applications are built on, Black Duck provides you with a software Bill of Materials (SBOM) that details exactly what is in your code, its origin, and any associated security or license risks. Most importantly, an SCA tool can provide this information on a continuous basis, making sure you have the most up-to-date picture of open source risk when minutes make a difference.       

Coverity® is a fast, accurate, and highly scalable static application security testing (SAST) solution that helps development and security teams address security and quality defects early in the software development life cycle (SDLC), track and manage risks across the application portfolio, and ensure compliance with security and coding standards. Coverity enables you to seamlessly secure your proprietary code and guarantee infrastructure-as-code security so that your proprietary code isn’t the weak link in the software supply chain.

Synopsys Web Scanner delivers fast and easy dynamic application security testing (DAST), optimized for developer needs. Synopsys Web Scanner systematically tests all the access points of your web applications through a headless browser to intercept and analyze JavaScript and AJAX requests, even as newly created forms are populated. It checks for the OWASP Top 10 web application security risks as well as other known security weaknesses and vulnerabilities, providing step-by-step instructions on how to eliminate any detected issues. Monitoring application behavior is a critically important way to ensure you are protecting yourself from potential supply chain threats. 


Software Supply Chain Security Infographic | Synopsys

Continue reading

Solution
Software Composition Analysis
Blog
Reduce open source software risks in your supply chain
Solution
DAST Web Scanner
Blog
How an open source software audit works
Blog
Effective software security activities for managing supply chain risks
Blog
Software supply chain security best practices