二进制代码和二进制分析

什么是二进制代码和二进制分析?

二进制代码是计算机可以直接解析的编程数据的基本形式。它由一串 0 和 1 组成,以结构化方式排列,可被大型计算机程序中读取和执行。它是一个多阶段编译过程的产物,把用高级语言(例如 C 或 Java)编写的源代码转换为特定处理器架构计算机可执行程序的机器代码。从某种意义上讲,它是从人类可读源代码转换而成的计算机直接语言。

二进制分析是一种代码审查,它查看由二进制代码组成的文件并评估其内容和结构,所有这些都不需要访问源代码。

二进制分析如何工作?

有些二进制分析工具的运作方式与包管理检查工具类似,后者大致读取文件的“目录”,了解其中所含内容。这种基本分析在某些情况下是足够的,但高级二进制分析工具可以对数据类型、流量和控制路径建模,而不需要反向工程。

使用此模型,高级二进制分析工具可以更深入地识别软件组件并检测其安全缺陷模式。这些发现可用于编写安全和使用报告,并提供关于如何解决代码中问题的建议。

二进制分析 | Synopsys

为什么二进制分析重要?

很多时候不能访问源代码进行分析。例如,一些公司购买固件来集成到其产品的硬件中,而此类固件为二进制格式。另一个例子是软件公司利用第三方代码和库(例如框架、容器、GUI 和数据库)来增强其专有代码,而这些库通常不包含源代码。无论是哪种情况,这些二进制文件的用户仍然有必要了解其内在。

二进制分析解决方案帮助组织能够在没有供应商参与的情况下检查二进制代码,识别开源组件、安全漏洞、许可证义务以及可能导致数据泄露的其他敏感信息。

Synopsys 如何提供帮助?

Synopsys Black Duck® 是一款自动化软件组件分析 (SCA) 工具,帮助组织了解软件的组成,以便他们做出更好的购买决策,并管理操作复杂系统和软件的操作风险,无论是否可以查看源代码。Black Duck 二进制分析在编译的软件中识别开源组件,提供开源组件 BOM 以及与这些组件相关的漏洞和许可证信息。

Black Duck 还识别编译器开关、移动权限以及其他形式可能暴露敏感信息的信息泄露问题。此外,Black Duck 不仅仅只是检测这些问题;安全建议还为识别的每个漏洞提供详细的通知,为用户提供正确理解、确定优先级和修复问题所需的信息。

组织还可以利用 Synopsys 的全套静态应用安全测试 (SAST) 解决方案,以及静态分析专业服务,帮助组织在不访问源代码的情况下发现应用中的漏洞。由于基于二进制分析的静态测试解决方案依赖于建模的数据类型、数据和控制路径,因此对结果进行人工检查可以帮助提高此类二进制分析的有效性。这有助于在评估过程中消除噪音和误报,从而更容易发现漏洞并获得可行的修复建议。

Binary Code and Binary Analysis

What is binary code and binary analysis?

Binary code is the fundamental form of the programming data that is directly interpreted by a computer. It’s composed of a string of 0s and 1s, and ordered and structured in a way that can be read and executed as part of a larger computer program. It’s a product of a multistage compilation process that translates source code written in a high-level language, such as C or Java, into machine code specific to the processor architecture on which the computer program is executed. In a sense, it’s the direct language of the computer translated from human-readable source code.

Binary analysis is a type of code review that looks at files composed of binary code and assesses their content and structure, all without the need for access to source code. 

How does binary analysis work?

Some binary analysis tools work in a manner similar to package manager inspectors, which basically read a file’s “table of contents” to find out what’s inside. This basic analysis may suffice in some cases, but advanced binary analysis tools can model data types, flows, and control paths, without the need to reverse-engineer. 

Using this model, advanced binary analysis tools can look deeper to identify known software components and detect security flaw patterns. These discoveries can then be used to compile security and usage reports, along with advice on how to address any issues in the code. 

Binary Analysis | Synopsys

Why is binary analysis important?

Source code isn't always available for analysis. For example, some companies purchase firmware to integrate with the hardware in their products, and the firmware is in binary format. Another example is software companies that leverage third-party code and libraries, such as frameworks, containers, GUIs, and databases, to augment their proprietary code, and these libraries often contain no source code. Whatever the case may be, it’s still important that the consumers of these binary files understand what’s inside them.

Binary analysis solutions enable organizations to inspect binary code without any involvement from the vendor, to identify open source components, security vulnerabilities, license obligations, and additional sensitive information that could lead to a breach.

How can Synopsys help?

Synopsys Black Duck® is an automated software composition analysis (SCA) tool that enables organizations to gain visibility into the composition of software, so they can make better buying decisions and manage the ongoing risk of operating complex systems and software, regardless of source code access. Black Duck Binary Analysis identifies open source components in compiled software to provide an open source Bill of Materials and a list of any vulnerabilities and licenses related to those components.

Black Duck also recognizes compiler switches, mobile permissions, and other forms of information leakage that could potentially expose sensitive information. Furthermore, Black Duck goes beyond simply detecting these issues; hand-crafted security advisories provide detailed notifications for each vulnerability identified, giving users the information needed to properly understand, prioritize, and remediate the problem.

Organizations can also leverage Synopsys’ comprehensive set of static application security testing (SAST) solutions, as well as static analysis professional services that can help organizations find vulnerabilities in their applications without access to source code. Since static testing solutions based on binary analysis rely on modeled datatypes, data, and control paths, manual inspection of the findings can help improve the efficacy of such binary analysis. This helps eliminate noise and false positives during the assessment, making it easier to discover vulnerabilities and get actionable remediation guidance.