Educational Programs 

2009 Annual Educational Award of RA President in IT sphere 

In 2009, the committee selected 23 deserving students from the State Engineering University of Armenia (SEUA), Yerevan State University (YSU), the Engineering College of the American University of Armenia (AUA), the Russian-Armenian (Slavonic) State University (RAU) and the European Regional Educational Academy. Seven students were also chosen from eligible high schools, including the A. Shahinyan Physics-Math Special School, Quant College, Anania Shirakatsi College, SEUA Affiliated High School, Photon College from Gyumri, and Evrika College of Vanadzor. The Presidential IT Awards Committee screened 110 nominees: 50 students from five universities and 60 pupils from six schools.

The committee expanded the list of nomination categories with a new category, “The best Diaspora Student.” Along with certificates, winners received special Presidential Educational Trophies symbolizing the IT industry. Following the awards ceremony, the winners attended a special meeting with the President of the Republic of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan in the Presidential House.

President Sargsyan awarded Rich Goldman, CEO of Synopsys Armenia CJSC, vice president of corporate marketing and strategic alliances at Synopsys, and co- director of the Board of the Annual Presidential Educational Awards, with a special award for his inspiration and diligence in establishing the President’s award for Best IT Students.

“I am honored and humbled to receive this award from President Sargsyan,” said Goldman. “The real heroes of this program are the 121 brilliant students who have been recognized for their achievements over the first five years of these Presidential IT Awards, and represent Armenia’s bright high tech future. The Presidential IT Awards have become an important tradition in Armenian education, and we are pleased to celebrate our fifth anniversary honoring outstanding IT students for their many and diverse achievements. We continue to strengthen the awards with last year’s addition of the Winners Club and this year’s new award for best Diaspora student. We value the continued support of President Sargsyan, who is instrumental in continuing this tradition in Armenian educational and technical excellence.”

A number of categories and financial awards, financed by Synopsys Armenia closed joint stock company (CJSC), have been established for the winners:

  1. Grand Prix (1200$/360000 AMD)
  2. Best Ph.D. Student (I category-1000$/367000AMD, II category- 750$/275000 AMD)
  3. Best Master Student (I category-750$/275000AMD, II category-500$/183500 AMD)
  4. Best Bachelor Student (I category-500$/183500AMD, II category-400$/146800 AMD)
  5. Best Diaspora Student (I category-750$/275000AMD, II category-500$/183500 AMD)
  6. Best Female Student (500$/183500 AMD)
  7. Best High School Student (100$/36700 AMD)

“I am sure that these winners will constitute Armenia’s future scientific and economic elite,” said Hovik Musayelyan, president of the Annual Presidential Educational Awards Committee, and executive director of Synopsys Armenia SJCS. “I am proud that by recognizing our future leaders our Committee has made a modest contribution in Armenia’s future.”

“I’m honored to have been nominated and to be one of the winners in this inspiring group,” said Vartan Maral Gnuni, the 2nd category winner amongst the “Best Diaspora Student” nominees. “Receiving this award of the President of Armenia obligates me to do my best for the bright future of of my Motherland Armenia.”

Awarding ceremony took place on Sep 29, 2009.

PDF Winners of the 5th Annual Educational Award of RA President in IT sphere 2009
PDF Board & Committee Members