Educational Programs 

2008 Annual Educational Award of RA President in IT sphere 

In 2008, the committee selected 20 deserving students from the State Engineering University of Armenia (SEUA), Yerevan State University (YSU), the Engineering College of the American University of Armenia (AUA), and the Russian-Armenian (Slavonic) State University (RAU). Nine students were also chosen from eligible high schools, including the A. Shahinyan Physics-Math Special School, Quant College, Anania Shirakatsi College, Photon College from Gyumri, and Evrika College of Vanadzor. The Presidential IT Awards Committee screened 134 nominees: 83 students from four universities and 51 pupils from six schools.

“It is an honor to continue the tradition of the Presidential IT Awards with President Serj Sargsyan,” said Rich Goldman, co director of the Board of the Annual Presidential Educational Awards, vice president of Corporate Marketing and Strategic Alliances at Synopsys, and chief executive officer of Synopsys Armenia CJSC. “The awards are becoming an enduring testament to Armenia’s growing prowess in engineering.”

This year, the committee expanded the list of nominations with a new category, “Grand Prix.” Along with certificates, financial awards and an Apple iPod Shuffle, winners received special Presidential Educational Trophies symbolizing the IT industry. Following the awards ceremony, the winners had a special meeting with the President of the Republic of Armenia Serj Sargsyan.

A number of categories and financial awards, financed by Synopsys Armenia closed joint stock company (CJSC), have been established for the winners:

  1. Grand Prix (1200$/360000 AMD)
  2. Best PhD Student (Icategory-1000$/300000AMD, II category- 750$/225000 AMD)
  3. Best Master Student (Icategory-750$/225000AMD, II category-500$/150000 AMD)
  4. Best Bachelor Student (Icategory-500$/150000AMD, II category-400$/120000 AMD)
  5. Best Female Student (500$/150000 AMD)
  6. Best High School Student (100$/30000 AMD)

“The development of the IT industry in Armenia is very important,” said Ara Vardanyan, co-director of the Board of the Annual Presidential Educational Awards, and acting executive director of the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund. “By promoting their achievements we can help motivate and encourage our youth to work harder and acquire more knowledge. I’m confident that the winners of these awards are going to play key roles in tomorrow’s Armenian IT sphere.”

“The intellectual level of award participants this year has increased significantly,” said Hovik Musayelyan, president of the Annual Presidential Educational Awards Committee, and executive director of Synopsys Armenia SJCS. “These young people will help lead our workforce and are expected to make a serious contribution to Armenia’s future.”

“I’m honored to have been nominated and to be one of the winners in this inspiring group,” said Ani Harutyunyan, the 1st category winner amongst the “Best Bachelor Student” nominees. “Receiving this award at the beginning of my career obligates me to do my best for the bright future of Armenia.”

Awarding ceremony took place on Sep 30, 2008.

PDF Winners of the Annual Educational Award of RA President in IT sphere 2008
PDF Board & Committee Members